We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Anniversary Stay”
Review of Silky Oaks Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Silky Oaks Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mossman
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Amazing Anniversary Stay”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We recently celebrated our 10 year wedding anniversary at the gorgeous Silky Oaks lodge. It was stunning! Beautiful place to stay. The location really is incredible and swimming in the Mossman River with turtles was awesome! The pool was also bliss, and the spa treatments heaven! The dinner overlooking the rainforest at night was spectacular! We will definately be back again, soon! Thank you Silky Oaks for an amazing stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STRR08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    697
    152
    47
    17
    9
See reviews for
103
642
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springvale, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

Best place to stay for relaxation. Rainforest surrounds, with the Mossman River next to it and billabong swimming holes, can't get any better than that.
The deluxe treehouse bathroom is fantastic and the hammock on the deck.
Loved waking up to rainforest sounds, 20/10 rating cus 10/10 not enough!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jorge Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Neslted on the Banks of the Mossman River on the foothills of the Daintree National Park lies the most picture perfect location for the most perfect resort my New Wife and I have ever experienced. Swimming in river or lodge pool (lagoon style), bush walks, conoeing, bike riding, tennis, gym, reading, fine dining, and relaxing. This place truly has it all yet some how makes you feel like your the only one there. The entire resort perfectly woven in with the best natural habitat the region has to offer. Our cabin with lounge, hemic, spa, and views of the river made it difficult to do anything at all.

They made our day perfect. The package deals considers all. Every effort made to blow my us aways as they arranged all for our wedding:
- hair make up for bride
- spa resort for groom to prepare with friendly bar staff to settle nerves while he awaits
- ceromony by the river (leaves blown, table set, and music at hand)
- staircase down the bank lined with flame torches
- photographer, celebrant, and planner provided
- evening complete with private candle lit dinner
- planned to perfection and every detail considered
- on arrival we were spoiled to a massage spa treatment and following our wedding a day at the reef

But of all things the service, attention to detail, fine dinning in the most beautiful setting made this experience the best few days we have yet to have.

Room Tip: Must go the Billabong Suite!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have come to QLD to visit family all the way from Broome. It is a rather long way and while we were over here we wanted to have a rain forest experience. We could not have picked a better place. It has met all expectations. We chose a package that include breakfast, 3 course dinner, 2 hours in the day spa, picnic lunch, cultural tour at mossman George and champagne and canapés.
The food was faultless. Delicious! The chef and kitchen staff clearly love their job. It shows in the plates that were bought out. We rolled to our rooms every night. Full and content.
The room we stayed in 'MAGIC' has def given us a rainforest experience. My husband is a cabinet maker and commented daily on the workmanship put into the place. Air-conditioner worked beautifully for a cool night sleep. We also opened the room up while it rained early morning and listened to the forest and river running. The river the place is located on is nothing but breath taking!!! We went for a swim a snorkel and a paddle in the canoe. Couldn't fault any of the equipment.
I floated out for the day spa each time I went. The staff were very professional!
The cultural tour is a must. We feel very welcomed in this beautiful country. It was very well organised and informative.
I even had a crack at yoga that is on offer. Lots of fun and felt that I was in safe hands.
We both feel the staff have bent over backwards for us nothing was to hard. Thanks heaps for giving us our rain forest experience.
Can't wait to come and visit again.
The only thing that is and issue is we have to leave.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MeganGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Awesome location. Meals are at least 1-2 Chef Hats. Healing Waters Spa is one of the best by a long shot. The management and staff are passionate about their resort and it shows. There is nothing too difficult or a bother. There was one occasion in 3 days where dinner was somewhat slow despite not being too busy. Visit the Mossman Gorge for a great swim in crystal clear pure water and take the Dreamtime Walk with the local elders.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCJM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

I didn't stay at the lodge but had lunch there with my partner and friends. After such disappointing food and service in Port Douglas, this place was such a refreshing change. Set amongst the trees and overlooking the river, it was instant relaxation and tranquility. The staff were friendly and great and the food was amazing. Great, fresh seafood and lovely wine to go with it. The prices are fairly reasonable given the quality of the meals. High recommend if you are out that way.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank box83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallbrook, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

My husband and I visited Silky Oaks for a return trip as I was there 22 years ago. This romantic and magical spot has changed little except for being updated and glamorized. There is now a marvelous spa and we had massages and facials. What bliss. Our cabin overlooked the river and we enjoyed sitting on our private deck and listening to the stream pass by or the rain pound down. The dining room is completely open to the trees which gives one this sense of eating your meals in an elegant tree house. The staff took great pains to accommodate our needs, even driving me to the doctor in Port Douglas and back to get a prescription filled. They spend their days addressing guest requests and needs graciously.

Wish I were still there.

Room Tip: Rooms on the river may be a little smaller but you can't beat the location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mossman
14.4 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
529 reviews
8.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
3.9 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#8 of 43 in Port Douglas
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 43 in Port Douglas
942 reviews
13.9 mi away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
9.3 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silky Oaks Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silky Oaks Lodge

Property: Silky Oaks Lodge
Address: Finlayvale Road, Mossman, Queensland 4873, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Mossman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mossman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Silky Oaks Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silky Oaks Lodge & Spa is the ultimate destination from which to explore Far North Queensland. This luxury eco lodge consists of elegant spacious lounges and living areas adjoining the stunningly located open sided Tree House restaurant which overlooks the surrounding rainforest and river. Spectacularly located in the Mossman Gorge region adjoining the Daintree National Park offering complete privacy and isolation yet only 20 minutes from Port Douglas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Silky Oaks Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silky Oaks Hotel Mossman
Silky Oaks Lodge Mossman, Australia - Daintree Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing