We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic place to stay”
Review of Silky Oaks Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Silky Oaks Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mossman
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We had two nights here. Our first disappointment was to find that the milk in the fridge had expired two days previously. Then we we had no hot water, which meant we had to use another villa for showering. We were looking forward to soaking in the huge spa bath. Then the fan in our room stuck on high sped only due to a broken switch. Small things, but for the high price you pay to stay here, you would expect none of this to occur. However the food is superb, and service unsurpassed. The setting is perfect for a romantic getaway in the rainforest. Just check the room out first.. Out room had white ants .

Room Tip: Any of them are great, but check everything before you unpack
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leslie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (960)
There are newer reviews for Silky Oaks Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

544 - 550 of 960 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

The wow factor for this accommodation is definitely its location. Even the drive to the lodge from Mossman is beautiful, passing the sugar cane fields with the rainforest looming ahead. You know you're in for something special! When I arrived, it's like entering a different world, with lush forest, fresh air, and a clear river just adjacent to the accommodation. What's more, although this is a luxury accommodation, the whole staff are warm and helpful. They made you immediately feel welcome.

The treehouse lodge is comfortable without being overly large. The hammock on the balcony is a nice touch, and so is the spa tub (although it took forever to fill up, and the jets are not strong enough). There's no TV in the room (which is good, as it would be sad to stay here to watch TV), but there's a Bose CD player (I think they should upgrade this to an iPod dock).

In any case, you should not spend too much time in the room, as there are lots of activities for people to participate - some of them free (yoga, guided walk in the rainforest). The hotel has a swimming pool which looks nice, but I chose to swim in the river, which was very refreshing and croc-free. A little bit upstream there's a "beach billabong", where if you bring your goggles, sometimes you can spot turtles and fish underwater. There's also a small waterfall here that's like a natural spa massage jet (better than the one in the room!).

The lodge has two hiking tracks at the back (both involve significant walk and can be treacherous when wet). The Fig Tree Rapids track is the more rewarding one, I think. It ends at another great swimming spot, and along the way you see a lot of native plants (bring a map from reception). Once you've spent enough energy doing all these, you can have a relaxing spa and/or a nice dinner at the restaurant.
All in all, I had a marvellous stay here and would definitely go back if I have another opportunity!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SpiceNSpruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Silky Oaks was wonderful. We enjoyed a very relaxed few days, our tree house overlooking the river was beautiful, lovely facilities. All the staff were really nice especially to our son. The food was excellent and everything really well thought out, even down to the laundry room extremely useful when travelling.
Highly recommend, loved the peace sitting alone by billabong with fish and butterflies!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelanieOV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

If I could give Silky Oaks 10 stars, I would! Set in one of Australia's most beautiful locations, it's impossible not to relax from the moment you arrive. The rooms are hidden amongst the trees and it's the attention to detail that make them special. Relaxing music, local tea (complete with massive teacups!), huge spa bath, a hammock to chill out in while you listen to the sounds of the rainforest, comfortable beds and everything you could possibly need has been thought of here.

The meals are beautiful and the service is excellent. Staff are friendly and knowledgeable about the area and you get the feeling they genuinely enjoy working here. I was part of a large group but nothing was too much trouble. Whether we were swimming in the billabong (complete with turtles and platypus, but no crocodiles), joining a fun yoga class or enjoying relaxed conversations in the lounge area, this was the perfect place to shake off city stresses.

On our last morning we did a guided rainforest walk with Voyages Indigenous Tourism in the pouring rain - definately the best way to experience a rainforest! Unfortunately the heavy rain led to a hasty exit to avoid the risk of getting stuck, as the only road in would soon be underwater. None of us would have minded an extra night there but the Silky Oaks staff did a brilliant job putting together a delicious quick lunch as we prepared for a hasty exit.

In the rush to leave I accidentally left some belongings behind which were found and posted to me the next day. Again, nothing was too much trouble.

If you're looking for somewhere to relax, recharge the batteries and enjoy a unique rainforest experience, Silky Oaks is a 'must do'.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carocamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

A private treehouse in the rainforest by the billabong. A world class restaurant. Lovely service (thanks Stacey, especially). Impeccable grounds. No complaints. Just a hankering to go back. Thank you.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeChat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This resort has got to be one of the best in the country. If your looking for a quiet and relaxing break, then this place ticks all the right boxes. The open 'treehouse' restaurant and bar are just so beautiful and the food and service is amazing. The rooms are just superb with stunning views of the rain dorset and the spa is a must! We will be back!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

My wife and I were completely blown away by Silk Oaks during our honeymoon stay in January 2013. The setting is amazing - you are tucked right on the edge of the Daintree rain forest. The location allows you to enjoy several challenging and interesting hiking trails, as well as a secluded beach billabong and swimming/boating river right next to the main building.

The staff and the food deserve special mention - both went above and beyond our expectations. Everyone was friendly and helpful and genuinely interested in making our stay as pleasant as possible. Breakfast each morning was delicious weather you ordered a hot breakfast or ate from the buffet. The lunch and dinner menus had some of my favorite dishes all trip. Try the Tasmanian Salmon if you get the opportunity.

I can't recommend Silk Oaks enough. Our stay was amazing, and I wish it could have gone on longer. Five stars.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mossman
14.4 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
557 reviews
8.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
3.9 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#6 of 42 in Port Douglas
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
973 reviews
13.9 mi away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
8.0 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#12 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silky Oaks Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silky Oaks Lodge

Address: Finlayvale Road, Mossman, Queensland 4873, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Mossman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mossman
Price Range: $342 - $690 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Silky Oaks Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silky Oaks Lodge & Spa is the ultimate destination from which to explore Far North Queensland. This luxury eco lodge consists of elegant spacious lounges and living areas adjoining the stunningly located open sided Tree House restaurant which overlooks the surrounding rainforest and river. Spectacularly located in the Mossman Gorge region adjoining the Daintree National Park offering complete privacy and isolation yet only 20 minutes from Port Douglas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Silky Oaks Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silky Oaks Hotel Mossman
Silky Oaks Lodge Mossman, Australia - Daintree Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing