We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Things to Know from Our Honeymoon at Silky Oaks (plus a bonus tip)”
Review of Silky Oaks Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Silky Oaks Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mossman
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“5 Things to Know from Our Honeymoon at Silky Oaks (plus a bonus tip)”
Reviewed July 22, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Silky Oaks for part of our honeymoon, and compared to other resorts we stayed at in the region, the price was well worth the experience. The individual tree houses were clean, with designer furniture, private balcony (+ hammock) and hot tub. Specific to Silky Oak's houses were screen doors and larger beds, something missing from other local resorts. A few important things to know:

(1) Privacy on the balcony was limited, the houses are rather close to each other and you will likely see your neighbors; however we did not have any problems. Similar to the resort we stayed at prior to Silky Oaks, you will not feel over-run by other guesses, even if the resort is 100% full.

(2) We saw several bad review of the food before going and expected the worse. Really, the food was great and the menu changes each day (again, unlike other resorts with static menus) so you rarely tire of selection. Lunch was unnecessary and I suggest replacing it with the afternoon tea package ($22-25 for tea and cakes). Breakfast was a flat fee for a large cold buffet and hot menu, was worth the cost given portions.

(3) All of Silky Oaks is located next to the Mossman River, you can pay more for a tree house near the river but it's totally NOT worth it. Though they claim to have a beach and swimming area, like the pool, are unusable because of temperature. Now this did not stop us from taking nature walks (you can sign up at the front desk, ask for Des as a guide - he's awesome). Also, we took a bike ride with the supplied bikes at the front desk...but be warned, they are in poor condition

(4) Like other resorts, the wifi access is poor but Silky Oaks has a nice lounge area to use the internet.

(5) We made appointments at the Spa for a massage and mud bath. It was very romantic, they provided clothes, tea and a friendly environment. The massage was good, but I would skip the mud bath (was basically muddy water). Worth an afternoon.

(BONUS TIP) Lastly, try negotiating a package directly with the resort. We called an were able to get our dinner included within the price...but you must call directly

I wish we had more time at Silky Oaks, recommend it for a week or so.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zenchief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    152
    47
    17
    9
See reviews for
102
637
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Our second time to Silky Oaks - the first 2 years ago. We loved it then even though it was a bit rundown. Now it has been revamped and freshened up, it is even better and I didnt think that possible. Gourmet food, extensive winelist, fantastic friendly service, total tranquility. Sitting in the restaurant eating dinner listening to the running water of the Mossman River is absolutely perfect. This place is worth every penny. If you want to get away and relax in peace and quiet and enjoy fabulous food and wine - then take the trip to Silky Oaks.

Room Tip: choose either river frontage or back a little bit in the bush either is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Genjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor Harbor, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Thankyou so much for the amazing rainforest experience, combined with the friendliest and most helpfull staff and owners. The accomodation is outstanding,and the river activities are unbelievable. We loved every moment and will be back.. and recommend it to everyone who wants to be totally relaxed and treated as family.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weeze5211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

We LOVED this place. So private, peaceful and had a classy yet unpretentious atmosphere.The staff were so helpful and friendly. It isn't just "one thing" that makes this place, it is all the little touches that add to its magic. We chose a river view room and the sound of the running water day and night was so soothing. The restaurant food was beautiful with breakfast, lunch and dinner. Always the freshest of food and great presentation and flavour.The view from the open restaurant was just lovely overlooking the river and right in the rainforest. Seperate bungalows allow for privacy, perfect for couples. You could be close to the main area or quite some distance away in the rainforest. Lovely walks were available or you could just laze on your balcony in the hammock. Lovely touches like chocolates on your pillow each night(and great pillows!!) and tea lights lit. The spa was wonderful, again the girls so helpful and friendly and it was a very relaxing enjoyable and classy spa area.Staying at Silky Oaks Lodge, is not just a holiday, it is an experience and we will return some day!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbugforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Had a great time here. Excellent and attentive staff- but not standoffish. Made to feel at home in a relaxed atmosphere. This is not a 5 star "business" hotel so don't expect a Business centre, Concierge, flashy bar or TV. It is however, a great, relaxing holiday destination in a magnificent environment. The position of the restaurant is superb with views over the river and forest. Food is very good although could be more creative.
Despite not made to accommodate children, we brought our 1 year baby and were made to feel very welcome. Toddlers however, would not fare well here with the elevated tree houses, boardwalks and pool area- hence children are not recommended by the hotel.
The spa is excellent. We both had treatments which we really enjoyed.
I think the negative reviews stem from a time before the change in ownership. I believe that this resort is now family owned and they appear to take pride in their operation and senior staff always appear to be present.
Would definitely recommend a stay here.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank teamadelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jklew4
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Wonderful romantic and peaceful getaway. Top notch service and amazing food. This place was fantastic. Would recommend to anyone on their honeymoon or looking for a relaxing escape into a rainforest paradise. The room was super clean and the staff went out of their way to make you feel at home.

Room Tip: Great place for a romantic getaway
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jklew4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Returned to Silky Oaks since the Melb Cup Weekend girls weekend away was so successful and wanted to share this wonderful place with my family. 20 yo son and 17yo daughter. It lived up to my hype, the tranquil setting, the five star restaurant, the massive rooms. The staff were very helpful for us to get the most out of our stay and the restaurant staff were great. We went on a daintree tour with the silky oaks which I didn't do last time and it was the best. We saw lots of wildlife and had a great lunch then came back to a magnificent afternoon tea.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beaconsfield000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mossman
14.4 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
523 reviews
8.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
3.9 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#8 of 43 in Port Douglas
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 43 in Port Douglas
930 reviews
13.9 mi away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
9.3 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silky Oaks Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silky Oaks Lodge

Property: Silky Oaks Lodge
Address: Finlayvale Road, Mossman, Queensland 4873, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Mossman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mossman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Silky Oaks Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silky Oaks Lodge & Spa is the ultimate destination from which to explore Far North Queensland. This luxury eco lodge consists of elegant spacious lounges and living areas adjoining the stunningly located open sided Tree House restaurant which overlooks the surrounding rainforest and river. Spectacularly located in the Mossman Gorge region adjoining the Daintree National Park offering complete privacy and isolation yet only 20 minutes from Port Douglas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Silky Oaks Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silky Oaks Hotel Mossman
Silky Oaks Lodge Mossman, Australia - Daintree Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing