We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting tropical wines”

Shannonvale Tropical Fruit Winery
Ranked #3 of 15 things to do in Mossman
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: We make award winning wines from Tropical Fruit and no this does not mean they are sweet and sticky. They range from very dry wines to ports and they are all commercial standard. The wines are single-fruit wines, not blends. All the fruits we use have big flavours and we grow them in the organic way and in our own orchard. The flavours of the fruits are retained in the wine.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting tropical wines”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

An interesting place to visit on the way from Palm Cove to moss man gorge. Personal attention and interesting info on this family vineyard that produces tropical wines. We took home a few bottles of the lychee. The ginger was also a favorite. Other favors include mango, passion fruit, chocolate and others. Small fee for tasting deducted from wine purchase.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank janc3426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywoodall, Owner at Shannonvale Tropical Fruit Winery, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Hi folks, we are happy you enjoyed our wines. Just goes to show you don't need grapes to make a good wine. Cheers, Tony and Trudie Woodall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    32
    4
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great wine, Lovely host”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We had a great time here while staying in Port Douglas. The tasting took about one hour, with the host explaining all the wines, their ingredients, origins and manufacture. They suggested how we might use the wines. We had a lovely time and bought three fruit ports to take home.

Helpful?
Thank whisky_doctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywoodall, Owner at Shannonvale Tropical Fruit Winery, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thanks for your review. We are very careful about getting it right. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
“Well worth visiting”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We spent a lovely hour or so here - tasting a great range of wines and ports and learning a lot about how they were made. It's a lovely location, very pleasant hosts and the wines were mostly really delicious. A great 'local' treat - perfect to take home!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank FrequentFlyer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywoodall, Owner at Shannonvale Tropical Fruit Winery, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are in our retirement and find we now have the patience and the time to go for quality rather than quantity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Try something different!”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Wow! We had a great time trying the list of wines and ports at the Shannonvale Tropical Fruit Winery.
Altogether we tried 14 different wines and ports, varying from dry to medium sweet, none of which were sickly sweet, they were all lovely and the lady serving them was very nice and informative.
It cost $5 each for a tasting, which is really good, but if you buy something, then you don't pay for the tasting, how good is that!
If your staying at Port Douglas, its only about a 15-20 minute trip towards Mossman, depends how often you stop to take photos!
Our favourites were the Lychee Port, Ginger Port, Orange Port and Mango wine! You can also buy them all on-line.
A little tip, make sure someone else drives as we felt a little tipsy after 14 tasters! Myself and my mother-in-law like wine, so we did the tasting, while hubby did the driving. :-)

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank carrob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywoodall, Owner at Shannonvale Tropical Fruit Winery, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Hi Carrob1, your review is much appreciated. We are very happy you enjoyed our wines. Tripadvisor is a wonderful way of achieving the best advertising of all. Word of mouth. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Worth a visit if in Mosman”
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We enjoyed our short visit to this winery, The owners/makers were very well informed and enthusiastic about their produce. Interesting range of wines and flavours.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank teamadelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shannonvale Tropical Fruit Winery also viewed

Mossman, Daintree Region
Mossman, Daintree Region
 
Daintree Region, Queensland
Mossman, Daintree Region
 

Been to Shannonvale Tropical Fruit Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing