We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We shall return!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Taihoa Holiday Units
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We really enjoyed our eight days at Taihoa. We found the unit to be exactly what we wanted - well designed, comfortable and very functional for a holiday. The location is just perfect - right on a quiet, beautiful beach. We called it "own beach"! Most evenings we shared the beach with just a couple of people and their dogs. Lovely! We loved having wine and cheese at the front of our unit, watching the advent of dusk. Each day, we did one of the nearby rainforest walks and enjoyed those too. We had no need to drive any distance. Hosts, Tracey and James, have the perfect balance of being friendly and helpful, without being in any way intrusive. We shall return!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 100 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

The unit had everything you needed and was a good size, clean and attractively furnished.It is in a great spot opposite the beach with a pool and barbeque area. The owners live upstairs and were friendly and informative. The only downside was that because the units are very close together it can be noisy if your neighbours use the outside area especially late at night which unfortunately was the case for us.

Room Tip: The unit for 3 people does not face the beach and is quite dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey C, Owner at Taihoa Holiday Units, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear terobbo,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Taihoa Holiday Units, we appreciate your feedback. We were pleased to read that you found your unit well-equipped and enjoyed the positioning of Taihoa Holiday Units directly across from the beach.
We apologise for noisy neighbours but unfortunately at times this does occur - on this occasion it was a group of 5 (accommodated in two units - Units 1 & 4) that had just returned from a wedding. As you mentioned in your review, we do live onsite and as soon as we heard the guests, we asked them to move inside to reduce the noise for our other guests - they happily obliged, and the next morning were quite apologetic.
We hope you will consider another stay at Taihoa Holiday Units in the future.
Kindest regards,
Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is a great place for a few days total relaxation! An easy drive from Cairns but a million miles from the stress of work...Taihoa Holiday Units are really clean, comfortable and well appointed! When it's 'beach' weather, the beach is just across a very quiet road, and when the weather is not so great for the beach there are plenty of places within driving distance to explore and enjoy. Hosts, Tracey and James, are friendly and welcoming with a wealth of information of the local attractions and eateries.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Bronte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

4 spacious units with and well appointed kitchens easily accommodated ten adult members of our family for a fantastic reunion. We had family bar-b-ques in the spacious pool area which overlooks the ocean and the islands. Though too cool for some of us to swim at this time of year, our southern based relatives relished the water - both the ocean and the swimming pool! Suited to the active and the lazy, there are opportunities to walk, ride, fish, kayak and explore the rain forest - or just sit and read and enjoy the company of others. And at the end of the day retire to very comfortable beds and let the ocean lull you off to sleep. In a word - perfect. We are planning to return.

Room Tip: Front rooms have amazing views and the back room is largest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShellyB62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at Taihoa for 3 nights and liked it so much we went back for another night on our return to Cairns. This is a small but beautifully formed small complex directly opposite the ocean at South Mission Beach. At night we were lulled into a deep sleep by the sounds of the ocean!

The apartment was simple but had everything we needed. A large bedroom cum sitting room, a lovely bathroom with walk in shower and an adequate kitchen with a table to eat at. There was also a table and chairs outside the apartment so that you can sit, drink in hand and watch the ocean.
Lots of thoughtful extras such as a free laundry, free DVD's and beach towels.
If you're looking for a quiet spot then this is the one for you! You can walk for miles on the beautiful beach and outside the stinger season, swim opposite the apartment. There's also a small but nice pool in the complex.
There are bars and restaurants and a supermarket a short drive away.

We didn't meet the owners but the relief manager, Robin and his wife made us feel very welcome.

Highly recommended so why not 5 stars? No Wi Fi!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean facing room, number 2 was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magsnmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Phew where do you start with reviewing this place. Our unit was superbly equipped and spotlessly clean. The unit is sited a matter of yards from a beautiful beach which on all 3 days we were there we effectively had to ourselves.
A rapid breakfast (largish supermarket only a couple of miles away) and then it was crash out on the beach time !! Views to the nearby islands were spectactually good.The nearness of the unit allowed for drinks and easy lunch to be self administered in minutes thus maximising the chilling out time ( bring your ipad / kindle / ipod or some good books and forget the strains of modern hectic life). Tracey and hubbie couldn't do enough for you. Provision of beach chairs, body board and even bikes (hadn't ridden a bike for years !!) and helmets all done by them totally free with a view of simply adding to your pleasure.

South Mission has minimal shops etc but heck if you're looking to just relax its absolute heaven !! Plenty enough of restaurants close by ( we loved the casualness with good reasonably price food of Scotties - about 15 mins away in the car).

Watch out for the wildlife at night when driving so unless you want a Roo on your bonnet drive slowly (like the chilled day !!!) and just take your time.

Doubt you'll ever find any accommodation as good and as close to the beach as this unless you get a beach hut. Location superb and quite simply was the bees knees. Totally enjoyed ourselves and after days of relaxing and a nice evening meal slept like a king ( the wife slept like a queen !!).

If you're looking for somewhere in this area then this is it !!! Look no further and simply savour the anticipation of the great time you're going to have !!

Room Tip: They're all good but ask for a front one overlooking the pool (rules that mean not noisy and onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We traveled as two couples and rented two individual units. We spent a night before and then a couple of extra nights a week later after 5 days hiking The Thorsborne Trail and 3 days kayaking around the islands. The units are spacious, clean and modern. The bathrooms have a big shower and feel light and fresh. The bed is huge and comfy - nice bedding. Huge TV if you feel the need - I'd recommend listening to the waves instead. Small kitchen if you prefer to make your own food and not visit the local restaurants. It's in a convenient location if you are going kayaking with Coral sea Kayak company as their home office is based in the same street. Taihoa is a lovely friendly family business. Tracey kindly stored various items of luggage inbetween our adventures. The washing machines and dryers were very efficient. We hired mountain bikes and cycled the 10km length of the beach and back - pretty flat and easy. We will return to Taihoa when visiting the area again. I would have liked an extra one of those fluffy towels to use - long hair!! I guess I should have asked as nothing seemed to be any trouble. Thanks again Tracey and family :)

Room Tip: The rooms on the beach side are next to the pool too. Lovely to lie in bed and here the waves. Just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AustraliaLizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mission Beach hotels
8.5 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
160 reviews
5.3 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
6.3 mi away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#2 of 22 in Mission Beach
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Beachcomber Coconut Holiday Park
Beachcomber Coconut Holiday Park
#4 of 22 in Mission Beach
151 reviews
1.0 mi away
Apollo Jewel Beachfront Apartments
Apollo Jewel Beachfront Apartmen...
#11 of 22 in Mission Beach
44 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mission Beach Resort
Mission Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Mission Beach
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taihoa Holiday Units? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taihoa Holiday Units

Address: 24 Kennedy Esplanade, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Mission Beach
Price Range: $125 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Taihoa Holiday Units 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taihoa Holiday Units is an Adults Only beachfront property on beautiful South Mission Beach with views across the Coral Sea to Dunk, Bedarra & the Family Group Islands. With a Maximum of 10 Adults in only 4 Units Peace and Quiet is assured. Fully air-conditioned with ceiling fans, each unit comfortably sleeps two people on either king sized or single beds. Separated from the your living area by timber sliders a fully equipped kitchenette has all you'll need for preparing breakfast, lunch or a BBQ alongside the large in-ground salt water swimming pool. To maintain the peace and tranquillity of your holiday experience, we are a child-free property - all guests must be 18yrs or older. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Taihoa Holiday Units reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing