We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Taihoa Holiday Units
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice spot”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The unit had everything you needed and was a good size, clean and attractively furnished.It is in a great spot opposite the beach with a pool and barbeque area. The owners live upstairs and were friendly and informative. The only downside was that because the units are very close together it can be noisy if your neighbours use the outside area especially late at night which unfortunately was the case for us.

Room Tip: The unit for 3 people does not face the beach and is quite dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey C, Owner at Taihoa Holiday Units, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear terobbo,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Taihoa Holiday Units, we appreciate your feedback. We were pleased to read that you found your unit well-equipped and enjoyed the positioning of Taihoa Holiday Units directly across from the beach.
We apologise for noisy neighbours but unfortunately at times this does occur - on this occasion it was a group of 5 (accommodated in two units - Units 1 & 4) that had just returned from a wedding. As you mentioned in your review, we do live onsite and as soon as we heard the guests, we asked them to move inside to reduce the noise for our other guests - they happily obliged, and the next morning were quite apologetic.
We hope you will consider another stay at Taihoa Holiday Units in the future.
Kindest regards,
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
68
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

This is a great place for a few days total relaxation! An easy drive from Cairns but a million miles from the stress of work...Taihoa Holiday Units are really clean, comfortable and well appointed! When it's 'beach' weather, the beach is just across a very quiet road, and when the weather is not so great for the beach there are plenty of places within driving distance to explore and enjoy. Hosts, Tracey and James, are friendly and welcoming with a wealth of information of the local attractions and eateries.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bronte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2013

4 spacious units with and well appointed kitchens easily accommodated ten adult members of our family for a fantastic reunion. We had family bar-b-ques in the spacious pool area which overlooks the ocean and the islands. Though too cool for some of us to swim at this time of year, our southern based relatives relished the water - both the ocean and the swimming pool! Suited to the active and the lazy, there are opportunities to walk, ride, fish, kayak and explore the rain forest - or just sit and read and enjoy the company of others. And at the end of the day retire to very comfortable beds and let the ocean lull you off to sleep. In a word - perfect. We are planning to return.

Room Tip: Front rooms have amazing views and the back room is largest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShellyB62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The world
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at Taihoa for 3 nights and liked it so much we went back for another night on our return to Cairns. This is a small but beautifully formed small complex directly opposite the ocean at South Mission Beach. At night we were lulled into a deep sleep by the sounds of the ocean!

The apartment was simple but had everything we needed. A large bedroom cum sitting room, a lovely bathroom with walk in shower and an adequate kitchen with a table to eat at. There was also a table and chairs outside the apartment so that you can sit, drink in hand and watch the ocean.
Lots of thoughtful extras such as a free laundry, free DVD's and beach towels.
If you're looking for a quiet spot then this is the one for you! You can walk for miles on the beautiful beach and outside the stinger season, swim opposite the apartment. There's also a small but nice pool in the complex.
There are bars and restaurants and a supermarket a short drive away.

We didn't meet the owners but the relief manager, Robin and his wife made us feel very welcome.

Highly recommended so why not 5 stars? No Wi Fi!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean facing room, number 2 was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magsnmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Phew where do you start with reviewing this place. Our unit was superbly equipped and spotlessly clean. The unit is sited a matter of yards from a beautiful beach which on all 3 days we were there we effectively had to ourselves.
A rapid breakfast (largish supermarket only a couple of miles away) and then it was crash out on the beach time !! Views to the nearby islands were spectactually good.The nearness of the unit allowed for drinks and easy lunch to be self administered in minutes thus maximising the chilling out time ( bring your ipad / kindle / ipod or some good books and forget the strains of modern hectic life). Tracey and hubbie couldn't do enough for you. Provision of beach chairs, body board and even bikes (hadn't ridden a bike for years !!) and helmets all done by them totally free with a view of simply adding to your pleasure.

South Mission has minimal shops etc but heck if you're looking to just relax its absolute heaven !! Plenty enough of restaurants close by ( we loved the casualness with good reasonably price food of Scotties - about 15 mins away in the car).

Watch out for the wildlife at night when driving so unless you want a Roo on your bonnet drive slowly (like the chilled day !!!) and just take your time.

Doubt you'll ever find any accommodation as good and as close to the beach as this unless you get a beach hut. Location superb and quite simply was the bees knees. Totally enjoyed ourselves and after days of relaxing and a nice evening meal slept like a king ( the wife slept like a queen !!).

If you're looking for somewhere in this area then this is it !!! Look no further and simply savour the anticipation of the great time you're going to have !!

Room Tip: They're all good but ask for a front one overlooking the pool (rules that mean not noisy and onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We traveled as two couples and rented two individual units. We spent a night before and then a couple of extra nights a week later after 5 days hiking The Thorsborne Trail and 3 days kayaking around the islands. The units are spacious, clean and modern. The bathrooms have a big shower and feel light and fresh. The bed is huge and comfy - nice bedding. Huge TV if you feel the need - I'd recommend listening to the waves instead. Small kitchen if you prefer to make your own food and not visit the local restaurants. It's in a convenient location if you are going kayaking with Coral sea Kayak company as their home office is based in the same street. Taihoa is a lovely friendly family business. Tracey kindly stored various items of luggage inbetween our adventures. The washing machines and dryers were very efficient. We hired mountain bikes and cycled the 10km length of the beach and back - pretty flat and easy. We will return to Taihoa when visiting the area again. I would have liked an extra one of those fluffy towels to use - long hair!! I guess I should have asked as nothing seemed to be any trouble. Thanks again Tracey and family :)

Room Tip: The rooms on the beach side are next to the pool too. Lovely to lie in bed and here the waves. Just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustraliaLizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This is a slice of paradise................a big one!!! From the moment we arrived we were overwhelmed with the beauty and serenity of this beautiful place. The unit was absolutely amazing and could not fault it. Everything we needed was there at our fingertips. What a beautiful place, the pool outside your door and across the road the sea and gorgeous beach with palm and coconut trees. I just wish we could have stayed longer. We have a special thanks to both Tracey and Jack for being such caring people, we had a family bereavement during our stay and they went our of their way to assist us with contacting a family member. I know it was the best place we have stayed at during our holiday and if we ever come back to Cairns we will certainly be lining up to come back to Mission Beach. Such friendly and warm hosts, our grateful thanks. Sally & Dave Walk.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walks_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbtlc2010, Owner at Taihoa Holiday Units, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank-you Sally & Dave for taking the time to provide a review for Taihoa Holiday Units on Trip Advisor. It was lovely to meet you both while you were staying at Taihoa Holiday Units, and I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us while you were in Mission Beach. I was sorry that while you were on holiday that you also had the challenge of a family bereavement but I'm pleased the we were able to support you during that time. I do hope we see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mission Beach hotels
8.6 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
154 reviews
5.3 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
6.3 mi away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#3 of 23 in Mission Beach
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Beachcomber Coconut Holiday Park
Beachcomber Coconut Holiday Park
#1 of 23 in Mission Beach
136 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mission Beach Resort
Mission Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Mission Beach
251 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mission Beach Shores
Mission Beach Shores
#2 of 5 in Wongaling Beach
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taihoa Holiday Units? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taihoa Holiday Units

Property: Taihoa Holiday Units
Address: 24 Kennedy Esp, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Mission Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Taihoa Holiday Units 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taihoa Holiday Units is an adults only beachfront property on beautiful South Mission Beach with views across the Coral Sea to Dunk, Bedarra & the Family Group Islands. Fully air-conditioned with ceiling fans, each unit comfortably sleeps two people on either king sized or single beds. Separated from the your living area by timber sliders a fully equipped kitchenette has all you'll need for preparing breakfast, lunch or a BBQ alongside the large in-ground salt water swimming pool. To maintain the peace and tranquillity of your holiday experience, we are a child-free property - all guests must be 18yrs or older. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Taihoa Holiday Units reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing