We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World's Best B&B”
Review of Licuala Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Licuala Lodge
Ranked #3 of 11 Mission Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
berkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“World's Best B&B”
Reviewed February 3, 2007

Mick and Sue are the perfect hosts. Nicest place we stayed in all of Australia, including many 5 star hotels.

  • Liked — hosts, home cooking, setting.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank groinweeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    30
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
148
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2007

Great place, MIck and Sue are perfect hosts. They made us feel welcome from the start and we had the best Christmas ever. Mission Beach is a great place to unwind and Licuala Lodge is the icing on the cake. Why stay anywhere else?

  • Liked — Relaxing
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilippaM25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2007

A lovely place to stay. Mick and Sue really know how to look after their guests and yes, the beer is free! The rooms are kept spotless by Sue, the linen and towels top drawer. There is something for everyone here, wildlife, cheap wine, use of the BBQ, relax by the jungle pool, a lovely garden, rain forest walks which Mick will very kindly follow you in his car, pick you up and drop you off at the beginning so you arrive tired at the treks end but where your car is, or you can just sit on the verandah,relax and watch the casowaries go by. All facilities are within a 5 minute drive of the lodge plus trips to the Barrier Reef, white water rafting etc are ready available at Mission Beach. Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyandanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Neots, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2007

This is a great B&B with lovely hosts, Mick and Sue, and superb wildlife.
The rooms are very clean and tidy. The pool is lovely to relax in after a hard day out and about and the gardens are beautiful.
Cold beer and soft drinks are freely available and the 'Full Monty' breakfast is a challenge for anybody.
The cassowary visits regularly and there are lots of other interesting wildlife about.
Overall an excellent place to stay and great value.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dazfez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2006

When we first found Licuala Lodge on tripadvisor we wondered how it was possible for any B & B to constantly get such positive reviews. It wasn't based on:

Sue and Mick's relaxed informal approach
The spacious rooms, bright, clean and airey
The unusual and attractive design of the Lodge
The attractive landscaped grounds
The swimming pool
The shaded parking area
The large guest lounge, with kitchen

It was based on all of the above. These characteristics alone would have been enough to earn a top rating. However, the icing on the cake was the wildlife. The Lodge is bounded by rainforest, out of which will quietly walk a cassowary. We had been hoping we would spot one throughout our travels around Northern Queensland, but we had to come to Mission Beach, and Licuala Lodge to realise this. It was an absolute thrill to be standing within feet of a cassowary, and it will remain a treasured memory of our visit.

We also had the pleasure of seeing the tiny Sun Bird on Sue and Mick's verandah, attentively sitting on its eggs.

Mission Beach gave the opportunity to be active or relaxed, and your hosts are able to advise on the walks, trips and visits to suit.

Overall The Lodge is a very relaxing place to stay. Thanks Sue and Mick

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Going-grey-nomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2006

We travelled four weeks around Australia and Licuala Lodge was by far our favorite accomodation. Sue and Mick are the most welcoming hosts we ever met, the place the most pleasant one (nearly cosier than home) with its beautiful garden and its original jungle pool, the breakfast the most gorgeous one we had with delicious homemade pancakes. Children really enjoyed the stay too, even though the youngest one was a little bit scared by casowaries !
The only thing we regretted is spending only two nights there. Licuala Lodge is undoubtedly great value for money and is a Must when traveling through Queensland. Don’t miss it.
And don’t be sceptical about so eulogistic words : we just wrote what we really felt.
Cathie, Jules, Hugo and Richard

  • Liked — Sue and Mick's friendliness
  • Disliked — Too short stay, ha ha !
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SaintGelyDuFesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clapham, England
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2006

What a great place! We took a chance and booked over the internet from the UK. OK, the promise of free beer and soft drinks helped sell it to me and the boys (9 & 6), but our expectations were exceeded in every department. Lovely traditional rooms, great breakfasts, friendly hosts (more booze!), fabulous pool, visiting Cassowaries, flitting Ulysses butterflies and a variety of birdlife all two minutes drive from laid back Mission Beach. Wish we'd stayed longer! I, L, C & L from Clapham.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
Thank Clapham2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mission Beach hotels
4.6 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
151 reviews
1.6 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
2.6 mi away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#3 of 23 in Mission Beach
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Driftwood Bed & Breakfast
Driftwood Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 11 in Mission Beach
96 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boutique Bungalows
Boutique Bungalows
#1 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
365 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sealords
Sealords
#4 of 11 in Mission Beach
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Licuala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Licuala Lodge

Property: Licuala Lodge
Address: 11 Mission Cir, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mission Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Licuala Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Queenslander timber home in world heritage rainforest just 1.5 kms from the beach. Guest accommodation, separate to the main house, overlooks award winning lush tropical gardens. Large swimming pool with waterfall feature. Price includes a wonderful breakfast. The magnificent (and sadly endangered) Cassowary is a daily visitor to the Lodge. Free Wi-Fi, full kitchen facilities, BBQ, laundry and guest lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Licuala Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Licuala Hotel Mission Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing