We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cracking place to stay”
Review of Licuala Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Licuala Lodge
Ranked #3 of 11 Mission Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2007

A lovely place to stay. Mick and Sue really know how to look after their guests and yes, the beer is free! The rooms are kept spotless by Sue, the linen and towels top drawer. There is something for everyone here, wildlife, cheap wine, use of the BBQ, relax by the jungle pool, a lovely garden, rain forest walks which Mick will very kindly follow you in his car, pick you up and drop you off at the beginning so you arrive tired at the treks end but where your car is, or you can just sit on the verandah,relax and watch the casowaries go by. All facilities are within a 5 minute drive of the lodge plus trips to the Barrier Reef, white water rafting etc are ready available at Mission Beach. Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed: January 2007
1  Thank tonyandanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 282 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2007

This is a great B&B with lovely hosts, Mick and Sue, and superb wildlife.
The rooms are very clean and tidy. The pool is lovely to relax in after a hard day out and about and the gardens are beautiful.
Cold beer and soft drinks are freely available and the 'Full Monty' breakfast is a challenge for anybody.
The cassowary visits regularly and there are lots of other interesting wildlife about.
Overall an excellent place to stay and great value.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dazfez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2006

When we first found Licuala Lodge on tripadvisor we wondered how it was possible for any B & B to constantly get such positive reviews. It wasn't based on:

Sue and Mick's relaxed informal approach
The spacious rooms, bright, clean and airey
The unusual and attractive design of the Lodge
The attractive landscaped grounds
The swimming pool
The shaded parking area
The large guest lounge, with kitchen

It was based on all of the above. These characteristics alone would have been enough to earn a top rating. However, the icing on the cake was the wildlife. The Lodge is bounded by rainforest, out of which will quietly walk a cassowary. We had been hoping we would spot one throughout our travels around Northern Queensland, but we had to come to Mission Beach, and Licuala Lodge to realise this. It was an absolute thrill to be standing within feet of a cassowary, and it will remain a treasured memory of our visit.

We also had the pleasure of seeing the tiny Sun Bird on Sue and Mick's verandah, attentively sitting on its eggs.

Mission Beach gave the opportunity to be active or relaxed, and your hosts are able to advise on the walks, trips and visits to suit.

Overall The Lodge is a very relaxing place to stay. Thanks Sue and Mick

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Going-grey-nomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2006

We travelled four weeks around Australia and Licuala Lodge was by far our favorite accomodation. Sue and Mick are the most welcoming hosts we ever met, the place the most pleasant one (nearly cosier than home) with its beautiful garden and its original jungle pool, the breakfast the most gorgeous one we had with delicious homemade pancakes. Children really enjoyed the stay too, even though the youngest one was a little bit scared by casowaries !
The only thing we regretted is spending only two nights there. Licuala Lodge is undoubtedly great value for money and is a Must when traveling through Queensland. Don’t miss it.
And don’t be sceptical about so eulogistic words : we just wrote what we really felt.
Cathie, Jules, Hugo and Richard

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SaintGelyDuFesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2006

What a great place! We took a chance and booked over the internet from the UK. OK, the promise of free beer and soft drinks helped sell it to me and the boys (9 & 6), but our expectations were exceeded in every department. Lovely traditional rooms, great breakfasts, friendly hosts (more booze!), fabulous pool, visiting Cassowaries, flitting Ulysses butterflies and a variety of birdlife all two minutes drive from laid back Mission Beach. Wish we'd stayed longer! I, L, C & L from Clapham.

Stayed: October 2006
Thank Clapham2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2006

This was a great place to stay and relax. The hosts were wonderful people and displayed great hospitality and accommodation. The cassowary encounter for me was a memory that I will never forget. I was walking up to the kitchen door to be oddly encountered by a bird. Granted I was paying no attention to anything else until I met this bird that was my size. The creatures are absolutely amazing and beautiful. If you want the opportunity to see these creatures up close without going to the zoo, this B & B offers that.

Mission beach is a quaint place a short walk away. I had no transportation, so they allowed me to use the bike and go into town. The coast bike ride was beautiful as most of Australia's East Coast is. They have an absolutely beautiful pool.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank StacyRapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2006

Reviewer: TW from UK

You don't have to be bird watchers to appreciate the B&B accommodation offered by Mick & Sue at Licuala Lodge but it is certainly a reliable place to see Cassowary - at least it was in mid September, 2006. There were 3 individual birds there on several occasions during the two days we were there. The accommodation itself is first rate & the breakfasts legendary. Pool & grounds are superbly maintained. Your hosts will surely do everything possible to make your stay as they did for us. Probably the best place we stayed in Australia during the whole of our 7 weeks trip Sept-Oct 2006.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJ&JJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mission Beach hotels
4.4 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
162 reviews
1.6 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
3.1 mi away
Sealords
Sealords
#5 of 11 in Mission Beach
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Driftwood Bed & Breakfast
Driftwood Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 11 in Mission Beach
111 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mission Beach Resort
Mission Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Mission Beach
351 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mission Reef Resort
Mission Reef Resort
#3 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Licuala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Licuala Lodge

Address: 11 Mission Cir, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mission Beach
Price Range: $93 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Licuala Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Queenslander timber home in world heritage rainforest just 1.5 kms from the beach. Guest accommodation, separate to the main house, overlooks award winning lush tropical gardens. Large swimming pool with waterfall feature. Price includes a wonderful breakfast. The magnificent (and sadly endangered) Cassowary is a daily visitor to the Lodge. Free Wi-Fi, full kitchen facilities, BBQ, laundry and guest lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Licuala Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Licuala Hotel Mission Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing