We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top notch”
Review of Licuala Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Licuala Lodge
Ranked #3 of 11 Mission Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“top notch”
Reviewed July 26, 2011

we stayed in the king suite - was great to have the private lounge as we were a little jet lagged and it gave us a bit more privacy , breakfast was great and more than we could ask for. Mick and Sue were very friendly and willing to chat and recommend trips, ideas and restaurants. The cyclone has done a lot of damage in this area but the people are wonderful and it is well worth the visit. The beaches are still beautiful and there is lots to see, including the cassowary which visited with a mate while we were there. We also enjoyed the free beer and wine on the deck in the evening. Hope the tea cosies are coming along Sue!

Room Tip: loved the king suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wantt2bethere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    30
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
146
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2011

A little shangri-la .Mick and Sue are the perfect hosts and this in spite of them only recovering from the cyclone damage.
Excellent rooms and facilities-swimming pool included. Great lounge, kitchen and barbeque facilities and free drinks. Yummy breakfasts and choice.
We felt truly at home and only wish we could have stayed longer than 2 days.
Hope to return and greet Mick and Sue again. And the cassowary!

Room Tip: Any 1 of those in separate house
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2011

Our stay here was amazing. Although it rained, this didn't spoil anything. Mick and Sue were charming and the rooms, residents kitchen etc. were all fantastic. The garden and pool are gorgeous, due to Mick's constant hard work, and the Cassowary visit each day is a wonderful added bonus. We didn't know where to eat the night we arrived but Mick soon sorted us out and off we went with Sue and Mick in a minibus preceeded by a glass of wine on their balcony. We could have stayed much longer it was so relaxing, and every need catered for. Sues breakfast included everything (more than we could eat). They surely know how to run a successful B & B and deserve to be full all the time and we couldn't recommend them too highly.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grantravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orpington kent
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

We stopped here for three nights having driven down from Cairns = a three hour trip during which we hit a pothole, resulting in a flat tyre and damaged back tyre -not the best start to this bit of our Australian adventure!
Nonetheless, Mick and Sue made us welcome, showed us the fridge of help yourself beers and soft drinks and up to our rooms on the verandah. Charlie the cassowary appeared straight away and made regular appearances throughout our stay -we also were visited by a wallaby, and kept company with an extremely large spider who fortunately was not going to leave the giant web she had spun. The gardens were stunning filled with tropical palms and trees and there is a small but delightful pool to cool off in. We would have welcomed airconditioning in the room as the overhead fan and bedside fan just didn't cool the room sufficiently and also would have liked a simple slatted blind across our door to create privacy rather than the heavy curtains, but this did not spoil our time here.
Mick and Sue arranged the booking to the Great Barrier Reef which was one of the best things I've ever done and also allowed me to make endless calls to Qantas to rearrange our flights home. They were very helpful with all our "problems" we brought with us!
A great place for a short tropical break, especially if you want to visit the Reef.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scase92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2010

I had a great experience here. It was the first b&b that I've ever stayed at and was plesantly surprized. There are only 4 rooms here so it is very quiet. You can hear foot steps when people are walking around. The grounds are beautiful and scenic. I got to take pictures with one of the cassowearies that live there. They have a game room with free beer and soda.

I'm used to having a tv in my room so that was a bit of an adjustment. There is no a/c. I was there in early spring and it was a bit warm and humid but not too bad. It is about a 3 mile drive to the beach and restaurants.

Mic and Sue are really nice. The breakfast is awesome. I had the pancakes and they were the best ever! They are really helpful when it comes to booking activties. Mic booked a diving trip and a rafting trip for me and I had a great time. You have to do the rafting-best part of the trip in this area!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hockeygirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2010

We stayed one night, free beer, used the BBQ, local supermarket five minutes down the road.
Breakfast was excellent.

We saw a juvenile Cassowary on the evening we arrived and then two adults turned up while we were having breakfast. How cool is that !

Larry the lizard also strolled by to watch TV !

Lovelly well kept gardens and pool, rooms clean and tidy,

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh UK
Level Contributor
196 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Mick and Sue are lovely and go out of their way to make your stay as much like home as possible. The rooms are en-suite and the bed was comfortable. Ear plugs were a must for me as you are surrounded by rain forest and at night the bugs, frogs and other creepy crawlies get very loud.
Washing facilities for clothes are available and there are also cooking facilities and a large lounge to dine and relax in. There is also ALOT of information, brochures etc in the lounge for local attractions and things to do and see.
The breakfast is great, and if you're lucky you may even see a wild cassowary wandering through the garden.
The only slightly negative thing is the lack of air-con in the bedroom, just a ceiling fan. It was warm!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GemsNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mission Beach hotels
4.6 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
1.6 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
0.6 mi away
Boutique Bungalows
Boutique Bungalows
#1 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#2 of 23 in Mission Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
1.0 mi away
Driftwood Bed & Breakfast
Driftwood Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 11 in Mission Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sealords
Sealords
#4 of 11 in Mission Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Licuala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Licuala Lodge

Property: Licuala Lodge
Address: 11 Mission Cir, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mission Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Licuala Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Queenslander timber home in world heritage rainforest just 1.5 kms from the beach. Guest accommodation, separate to the main house, overlooks award winning lush tropical gardens. Large swimming pool with waterfall feature. Price includes a wonderful breakfast. The magnificent (and sadly endangered) Cassowary is a daily visitor to the Lodge. Free Wi-Fi, full kitchen facilities, BBQ, laundry and guest lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Licuala Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Licuala Hotel Mission Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing