We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Damn near perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sejala on Mission Beach
Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

Just coming to the end of our third annual holiday in Mission Beach staying at Sejala Beach Huts right on the beach front.
This place is amazing, secluded, private and only a short walk down the beach for restaurants cages etc.
A truly great place to relax and recharge.
The self contained huts have all you need to totally get away from it all

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stribo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 47 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2010

We stayed for 10 nights at Sejala in September, and it was a wonderful relaxing holiday. Weather was great, although it rained everynight, (loud with the tin roof) but days were good. The Beaches hut was just perfect, very clean, lots of privacy, comfortable bed and pillows, great position on the beach front, and everything in the kitchenette we needed. Also, just far enough away from the village restaurants/shops to ensure we had our own little piece of beach each day, but close enough to be able to walk along the beach front for lunch and dinner each day. Great value for money, we will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LJW154973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

The Sejala Beach Huts on Mission Beach are lovely and very well situated. They are tastefully decorated, comfortable, clean and spacious (for two people). There are lots of nice touches (e.g., L'Occitance toiletries, deck with hammock, wonderful linens, flat screen TV with DVD player, etc), and the basics are excellent (e.g., fantastic shower, super comfortable bed, great ventilation, etc.). [If you just can't live without internet service, though, bring your smart phone and Telstra's 3G should suffice, as there is no Wi-Fi.]
The service was top-flight and personable. The "Beaches" hut faces Mission Beach and is separated from the beach proper by about twenty metres of low density rainforest foliage, allowing a sweet view of the beach and the Coral Sea from the hut's deck: most tranqulizing. The location is very quiet and as non-commercialized as can be.
The one slight quirk of sorts - and it is quite minor and which we were made well aware of prior to making our reservation, so this wasn't a surprise - was the bathroom, where there is a large louvered awning that covers a large window to the gorgeous rainforest foliage that engulfs the Beaches Hut. This awning opens and closes to the outside and allows one to shower while looking into the foliage: a very nice, relaxing experience. By itself that would be perfect if there was a way to better prevent insects from inviting themselves into the bathroom, as the awning leaves a 3-4 cm open gap even when it is "closed" (and much larger when open), and there is no screening to prevent insects from entering. Notably, this was not a problem for us during our two day stay, but, given the location and the odds of such events, I reckon there may be a few bugs joining some occupants from time to time.
Even so, we weren't in the least bit troubled by insects and our stay at the Sejala Beach Huts (the "Beaches" hut) couldn't have been nicer.
We cannot wait to return and stay longer next time. For a relaxing, comfortable and first rate beachside accommodation, Sejala is a great choice.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PCdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

I went here with the love of my life for a week and we had the most fantastic time. I know a large portion of it was simply being together, but truly, the accomodation could not have been better. Amazing quality for such a great price! I literally spent days looking for a place that was quiet and yet provided beach access without huge crowds or a busy atmosphere, and Sejala was the PERFECT hideaway. The only thing we could hear was the sound of waves from our hut, and occassionally the sounds of the geckos/birds/other wildlife (not overwhelming) outside. The town nearby is just about a 10 minute walk away and my hon and I went to a local diner there around three times during our trip since the staff was so friendly and the food was delicious (Bernie's). Weather was just my style, nice and sunny/hot without making me want to run for the aircon, and the beach was absolutely a pleasure. It felt like time had stopped for us in such a calm, stunning locale. We didn't want to do anything other than walk on the beach, cuddle in bed, and admire the scenery. In fact, if you're looking to get away from work this is the place - you can't even get cell reception! (The phone in the hut works fine though!) The hut itself was well kept and extremely cozy and comfortable. Just the right size and attractively styled. The cleaning staff came by right on time for freshening up while we were out and left everything in lovely condition. Not to mention the owners - great service and very easy to get ahold of, just grab the phone any time of day and they were either there to help or got back to us in a very timely manner.

My boyfriend proposed here and we would love to go back someday - in fact, we've already talked about arranging another trip in the future. Well worth every penny.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kembriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

Beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and very well equiped beach-hut. Complimentary L'Occitane toiletries, fresh aussie coffee and tea.

The one tiny, tiny down-side for me was seeing a couple of massive spiders (not dangerous, as I looked them up in one of the nature books that were provided) in the greenery outside the hut. Luckily there was also a bright green tree frog asleep on the leaf next to them. The frog must have eaten them as neither was there the following morning!

There were no bars/restaurants/sun-beds on the beach when we were there (off season).
I would recommend stocking up on drinks and ice lollies to keep in your fridge/freezer. It will take you 30 seconds to walk back from the beach to the hut. There are also 2 little deck-chairs that you can carry out to the beach.

The Mission Beach area was quieter than anticipated but this hut was without doubt one of the most lovely places that I have ever stayed.

I would book Sejala if you are the sort of person who normally stays in small boutique hotels and are looking for something a little different. Don't stay here if you like big resort-style hotels with golf-courses and spas.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VGTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2009

The Sejala "Waves" cabin was so beautiful and just broadcast 'Romance'! - a special place to have honeymoon. The beach was 15 metres away - such a pleasure to be able to hear the waves first thing in the morning; to hear the surf as you sat on the verandah with a cool drink nearby; and to share the experieince with a loved one. The surrounding environment gave a feeling of total seclusion; yet all facilities were available within 5 minutes walk.
People spend thousands of dollars a night to experience an environment like this - we were so fortunate to be able to a experience such a romantic location at a fraction of the cost.
To us, the Seja Beach Units were a wonderful start to a lifetime together.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beardy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2009

Imagine a nice sunny, clean beach with nice palm trees....yes? Ok, well that beach was only 25m away from our cabin, and it looked fantastic. Pitty I am not too much of a beach person to thorougly enjoy it, but the location was superb. The cleanliness of the cabin was unremarkable and there were books and games, even dvd's to keep us entertained. What we missed was any staff, the cabin was left open for us(in a note it said that the reason was that the staff did not want to disturb us), but I am the kind of person who likes a chat about what is going on in Mission Beach, to find out about a couple of good restaurants, and this was impossible, since the rentalagency was a few streets away and closed whenever we got there. If you can do without staff then this is more the place for you. Overall, we were satisfied and wished we did not have to leave early the next day, but we did and that may be clouding my judgement. I would recommend Sejala Beach huts.

PS: The entire night we could hear all kinds of animals and insects crawling around our cabin, but we did not think that was a disadvantage
PS2: We stayed in the beachhut called Waves.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Willem_ter_Haar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mission Beach hotels
3.5 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
1.1 mi away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#2 of 22 in Mission Beach
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Wongalinga Beachfront Apartments
Wongalinga Beachfront Apartments
#5 of 5 in Wongaling Beach
35 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mission Beach Shores
Mission Beach Shores
#2 of 5 in Wongaling Beach
61 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mission Beach Resort
Mission Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Mission Beach
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sejala on Mission Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sejala on Mission Beach

Address: 26 Pacific Parade, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Mission Beach
Price Range: $213 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury boutique absolute beachfront accommodation for singles and couples with room for a third person or child - overnight or extended stays. Small dogs by arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sejala on Mission Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sejala Beach Huts Mission

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing