We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hotel, a bit overpriced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mission Beach
Den Haag
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, a bit overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

The hotel was good, we had a pleasant stay there. However, one time our room was not cleaned very well (bed not made, bathroom floor not cleaned) and, in my opinion, payed a little bit too much for what we got at the hotel. The hotel is close by to a small number of restaurants and adjacent to the beach. Swimming pool is a bit small, but in October this is no issue. The breakfast tables that are located outdoors (with rain protection when needed) are excellent and makes breakfast nice.

Room Tip: Take a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaakBaak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmelie J, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear "Decent hotel, a bit overpriced"

Thank you for taking the time out to write your feedback here on Tripadvisor. We do appreciate and value all the feedback we get as it is a way for us to keep our standards up and constantly improve.
We hope to be able to welcome you back to us in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    254
    114
    65
    44
See reviews for
155
397
32
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydeny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

I ate & had drinks here on a few occasions due to location.
I found the food & service very average but with Sydney prices. Most of the bar staff had zero personalities & should be working in a bank. Thank god for Nicole who is so bubbly & welcoming she should be bar manager.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Stewarto72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmelie J, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear "Great location"

Thank you for your feedback and for being a returning customer to our resort. It is sad to hear the feedback about our staff as we normally get great comments about our staff and our service. Your feedback is important to us however and we do take all comments seriously.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirwan
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Keep driving through Cardwell & head to Mission Beach. From the minute I entered the reception to the day we left the service was of a high standard & the owners & staff were all helpful & friendly. We stayed in the garden room with the doors opening onto a lush tropical garden & the beautiful pool only metre's away. Towels were supplied for the pool so our bath towels were kept dry. Off the pool is the motel restaurant-we did not eat there but it had customers every night who complimented on the ambiance & quality of the food. The motel is one street back from the beach. For 3 of us the room was only $110 a night. The room was air conditioned, beds & linen clean & comfortable & tea/coffee in room. I admit the bathroom is a little dated but clean & functional. We had breakfast room service & the pancakes with fruit, maple syrup, ice-cream were to die for. Very reasonably priced & a generous serve. Car parking at back door though not under cover. Table & chairs outside across from garden. Not far to walk into town. Wi-fi was also avalable. I highly recommend this motel not only for the lovely environment but for the excellent standard of service & welcoming attitudes of the owners.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo-anne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MackaysMotel, Owner at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your time in rating our Motel.
It is a pleasure to see that you had a great stay, enjoyed our Motel and went away with a smile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We booked a family resort room and were very disappointed!!! The queen bed was in the lounge and the 2 singles were in a 'bedroom'. There was no 'lounge' to relax on and the balcony (which I specifically asked for) was approx 60cm wide !!!!!! No happy. Other than the room type the resort was nice. The view - amazing. Just be careful what you book and pay for.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank 800Tess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmelie J, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear "Beware of the room TYPE"

I am sorry to hear that our room did not meet your expectations. We offer a wide range of room types and always try our best to advise our guests as to which type will be most suitable for their particular traveling party. In this instance it seems as thought we did not convey this information properly.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the other parts of our resort and hope that we will be able to welcome you back again to a more suitable room type.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Close to beaches, clean and friendly staff. Great gardens and pool. Everything well thought out and well looked after. Recommended to us as good value, and definately was. Enjoy able meal in the restaurant

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zehcrec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MackaysMotel, Owner at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
We thank you for rating our Motel.
We strive to give service with value for money.
It is from reviews of our Motel, we gauge if we are doing it right
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This resort had been booked to attend a wedding. A family unit was booked for four adults and a baby (in cot) The unit contained a bedroom with two single beds and a double bed in the lounge room which had no chairs to sit on and a tiny verandah with two chairs. Where were you suppose to sit. Even the cheapest hotel has a lounge to sit on. No sympathy from reception and we had to book an extra room.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nerida B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmelie J, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear "Be aware of what you book"

I am sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations at your last visit. We offer a wide range of room types and always try our best to advise our guests as to which type will be most suitable for their particular traveling party.
I can only hope that we will get a second chance to show that we have a lovely resort with very dedicated and service minded staff.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Having not ever been to mission beach I wasn't expecting much to be honest but we stopped in there for 2 nights on the way home from cairns to mackay. We were greeted by the owners who were very welcoming.

The rooms , although slightly dated in appearance , we're clean as expected and the pool was as well .

We ate dinner at the restaurant on the premises and it was also a very good.

Would stay there again

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MackaysMotel, Owner at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We thank you for taking time to rate our Motel and services.
We wish to see you again soon.
The buildings are 12 years old, some rooms in the Deluxe wing are being refurbished, its just money we receive from our guests that help pay for the upkeep of the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mission Beach hotels
3.4 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
1.0 mi away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#2 of 25 in Mission Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mission Beach Resort
Mission Beach Resort
#6 of 11 in Mission Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Boutique Bungalows
Boutique Bungalows
#1 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sealords
Sealords
#4 of 11 in Mission Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
4.3 mi away
Apollo Jewel Beachfront Apartments
Apollo Jewel Beachfront Apartmen...
#11 of 25 in Mission Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach

Property: Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
Address: 2 Pacific Parade, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mission Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castaways Resort & Spa offers a wide range of accommodation, with 48 luxury beachfront rooms and self-contained apartments, a private beachside villa and 18 lush rainforest rooms, spread over two centrally-located properties. All rooms located within our beachfront property other than the hotel rooms, feature a private balcony or garden patio with stunning views out to the Coral Sea and Dunk Island. Our beachfront hotel rooms feature a full length windows with views of the beautiful beachfront. All rooms located within our rainforest property are surrounded by our lush rainforest gardens, providing wonderful serenity and privacy. All guests have access to all of our facilities, including our 25m lap pool, beachfront leisure pool, rainforest lagoon pool, gym, laundry, Drift Day Spa and Bibesia Restaurant and Cocktail Bar, which is open 7 days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Wifi is free and accessible throughout the resort and all parking is off-the-road and complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaways Resort And Spa Mission Beach
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach Hotel Mission Beach
Castaways Hotel On Mission Beach
Castaways Resort On Mission Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing