We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and under whelmed!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mission Beach
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Overpriced and under whelmed!!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We called castaways and informed them there were 4 adults and one baby so needed 2 bedrooms, we were told this was available and we booked.
When we arrived we were so disappointed, the supposed 2 bedroom family room was nothing more then a bed in the front room and another separate bedroom. Which clearly was not what we were told. The rooms smelt of mildew the only positive was the views.
When we went down to reception to complain about the room not being as we was told, we were informed, that there was a wedding and all the rooms were full so nothing they could do.

So we went back to our room disappointed.

Next morning we had breakfast, and was told there was at least a 40 minute wait as there was a wedding!!! Surely they know they have a wedding and should therefore cater for this by having extra staff ensuring their other guests do not suffer, this was not the case.

Would not recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatieRocko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmelie J, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear "Overpriced and under whelmed!!"

I am really sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations during your visit. We strive to make all our guests feel welcomed and well taken care of and I can only apologize that we did not manage to do so in your case.

I do hope that we will get a second chance to show you that we do have a lovely resort with great staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    267
    118
    67
    46
See reviews for
166
415
32
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way north. We wish we could have stayed longer. Our room was large, well equipped and very comfortable. We were able to walk out of the motel through the garden, down the road about 300 metres and get to a very pleasant, smallish area of restaurants and bars right by the beach. However we didn't need to eat here because the restaurant at the motel is excellent. We had a wonderful and interesting meal at a fair price. Barbara, the owner along with her partner Alan, is very pleasant - we didn't meet Alan. We really liked Mission Beach and this motel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonRugbyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MackaysMotel, Owner at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
We both thank you for your comments, we strive to give good old fashion services to all of our guests.
Our small dining room serves great food at a fair price, even the Locals enjoy our service and our two deck areas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed only 2 nights at Castaways, as they were fully booked over the June long weekend, and were very pleased with the resort. We were on the 3rd floor at the end so it was quiet which was great since we had 2 kids (4 and 1). However, the room was quite tired in places, I believe other rooms had been fully renovated. But .. the view was just lovely and we couldn't complain on that account. The beds were comfy, just wish you could open the balcony doors at night and hear the sea! The pool was cold ... we were there in June and had some average weather, and the continental breakfast ok. Dinner however was lovely.

Staff were absolutely fabulous so thanks to them. Yes, we would stay there again, but hope for better weather next time. Kids loved the beach though, even in overcast and light rain... well enjoyed.

Room Tip: just a room with a view :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabyandUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmelie J, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear "Lovely quite place - great resort"

Thank you so much for writing a review here on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate it and take on-board the comments we get.
It is always great to hear such nice and positive comments about our staff. I will make sure to tell them all.
In regards to our rooms, you are correct. We have done a full refurbishment on the majority of our rooms however still have a few to go. Plans are in place to get the remaining rooms done so we are all looking forward to a fully refurbished resort in the not too distant future.
Come back to visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The staff are very friendly and helpful, we had a great time sitting by the pool walking the beach and enjoying the restaurant and cosy little bar. The room was ok, nothing flash but did its job and clean - mind you we didn't have to fork out a fortune either so we were happy. Not that we spent much time in there anyway.
Would be more than happy to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmelie J, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear "Great staff, lovely restaurant."

First I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a feedback comment about us here on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate it!
I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here at the resort and Mission Beach.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed the same time last year and enjoyed our stay. Happy to find it was as good as before. Great food and nice gardens. Good place for a stopover when heading north. Staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cynno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MackaysMotel, Owner at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
It is always a pleasure to see our returning guests, we treat them like family.
Thank you for your response, see you soon....................
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I was looking forward to a girl's weekend away....was utterly saddened by the dated room and lack of attention to detail. Reported appliances not working not replaced. Staff confused about how room billing works and then charged for meals after leaving the resort. I won't be back and management needs to sort this out.....not good when u paying such a premium.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank crawjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Staff were very friendly. Stayed there for one night whilst in mission beach for a wedding so was perfectly located to the wedding venue. Had difficulties with shower (not working correctly) and toilet (toilet lid broken) which staff were very apologetic about and rectified immediately.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bessiegirl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MackaysMotel, Owner at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
You are welcome to stay again if you decide to come back for a Holiday.
Thank you for your response, and the shower is working like it should be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mission Beach hotels
3.4 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
154 reviews
1.0 mi away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#3 of 23 in Mission Beach
257 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mission Beach Resort
Mission Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Mission Beach
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Mission Reef Resort
Mission Reef Resort
#3 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
113 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dunk Island View Caravan Park
Dunk Island View Caravan Park
#1 of 5 in Wongaling Beach
130 reviews
4.6 mi away
Beachcomber Coconut Holiday Park
Beachcomber Coconut Holiday Park
#2 of 23 in Mission Beach
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach

Property: Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
Address: 2 Pacific Pde, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mission Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castaways Resort & Spa offers a wide range of accommodation, with 48 luxury beachfront rooms and self-contained apartments, a private beachside villa and 18 lush rainforest rooms, spread over two centrally-located properties. All rooms located within our beachfront property other than the hotel rooms, feature a private balcony or garden patio with stunning views out to the Coral Sea and Dunk Island. Our beachfront hotel rooms feature a full length windows with views of the beautiful beachfront. All rooms located within our rainforest property are surrounded by our lush rainforest gardens, providing wonderful serenity and privacy. All guests have access to all of our facilities, including our 25m lap pool, beachfront leisure pool, rainforest lagoon pool, gym, laundry, Drift Day Spa and Bibesia Restaurant and Cocktail Bar, which is open 7 days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Wifi is free and accessible throughout the resort and all parking is off-the-road and complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaways Resort And Spa Mission Beach
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach Hotel Mission Beach
Castaways Hotel On Mission Beach
Castaways Resort On Mission Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing