We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely quiet place - great resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mission Beach
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed only 2 nights at Castaways, as they were fully booked over the June long weekend, and were very pleased with the resort. We were on the 3rd floor at the end so it was quiet which was great since we had 2 kids (4 and 1). However, the room was quite tired in places, I believe other rooms had been fully renovated. But .. the view was just lovely and we couldn't complain on that account. The beds were comfy, just wish you could open the balcony doors at night and hear the sea! The pool was cold ... we were there in June and had some average weather, and the continental breakfast ok. Dinner however was lovely.

Staff were absolutely fabulous so thanks to them. Yes, we would stay there again, but hope for better weather next time. Kids loved the beach though, even in overcast and light rain... well enjoyed.

Room Tip: just a room with a view :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BabyandUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmelie J, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear "Lovely quite place - great resort"

Thank you so much for writing a review here on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate it and take on-board the comments we get.
It is always great to hear such nice and positive comments about our staff. I will make sure to tell them all.
In regards to our rooms, you are correct. We have done a full refurbishment on the majority of our rooms however still have a few to go. Plans are in place to get the remaining rooms done so we are all looking forward to a fully refurbished resort in the not too distant future.
Come back to visit us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (860)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

577 - 583 of 860 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

The staff are very friendly and helpful, we had a great time sitting by the pool walking the beach and enjoying the restaurant and cosy little bar. The room was ok, nothing flash but did its job and clean - mind you we didn't have to fork out a fortune either so we were happy. Not that we spent much time in there anyway.
Would be more than happy to return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmelie J, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear "Great staff, lovely restaurant."

First I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a feedback comment about us here on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate it!
I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here at the resort and Mission Beach.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed the same time last year and enjoyed our stay. Happy to find it was as good as before. Great food and nice gardens. Good place for a stopover when heading north. Staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cynno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MackaysMotel, Owner at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

It is always a pleasure to see our returning guests, we treat them like family.
Thank you for your response, see you soon....................

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I was looking forward to a girl's weekend away....was utterly saddened by the dated room and lack of attention to detail. Reported appliances not working not replaced. Staff confused about how room billing works and then charged for meals after leaving the resort. I won't be back and management needs to sort this out.....not good when u paying such a premium.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank crawjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Staff were very friendly. Stayed there for one night whilst in mission beach for a wedding so was perfectly located to the wedding venue. Had difficulties with shower (not working correctly) and toilet (toilet lid broken) which staff were very apologetic about and rectified immediately.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bessiegirl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MackaysMotel, Owner at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

You are welcome to stay again if you decide to come back for a Holiday.
Thank you for your response, and the shower is working like it should be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is long but needs to be told. My partner and I booked this hotel for a 3 day break back in march to stay in June after my cancer treatment had stopped. The rate we were quoted was $100 a night (Wotif) and as we were staying 3 nights they would upgrade us to a deluxe room. That was really nice we thought. But that was the end of that. When we received our confirmation it said deluxe room and single bed as requested for $125 a night. When we questioned it, Barbara told me that no one there would have done such a deal and she would look in to it. Did not hear back. We couldn't afford the extra $$ so we phoned the next day and cancelled.
In June they took $375.19c out of our credit card. I phoned and spoke to Barbara who recalled the cancellation said she would refund it. They are now refusing to pay the full refund because no email confirming. This has been reported to the ACCC

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Jackie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MackaysMotel, Owner at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

The booking in question was not cancelled either via phone nor email, we did how ever refund one nights stay, and then offered the person a room if they wanted to rebook at a later stage,
.
Our Cancelation Policy is very clear, we could not relet the room on the weekend as the booking was not cancelled, and therefore the cost was deducted as per our policy.
We have tried to reach an amicable solution with the lady in question, but we cannot reach a solution as the game plane changes each time we speak to the Lady in question.

Email as sent to Chris Brookhouse.

Dear Chris,

We have paid an extra $62.50 plus the $125 already refunded, that is half the bill as requested by you now the (total $187.50).


Sorry.....................

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I recently stayed for one night in a family room which consisted of one bedroom with two king singles and a queen in the main room with tv. I was on the ground floor and your private patio enclosed with pool fence opens out to magnificent pool area. The room although perfect for sleeping is not roomy. The views to beach are stunning as is the resort in general with a well appointed dinning area and delicious continental breakfast which was included in room rate. My only negative was that the sliding window in the kids bedroom was broken and had been taped together. We also had a light out in bathroom which after two calls to reception was fixed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelmuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mission Beach hotels
3.4 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
162 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mission Beach Resort
Mission Beach Resort
#3 of 11 in Mission Beach
402 reviews
1 mi away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#3 of 22 in Mission Beach
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Boutique Bungalows
Boutique Bungalows
#1 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
376 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mission Reef Resort
Mission Reef Resort
#3 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
120 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sealords
Sealords
#5 of 11 in Mission Beach
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach

Address: 2 Pacific Pde, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mission Beach
Price Range: $77 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castaways Resort & Spa offers a wide range of accommodation, with 48 luxury beachfront rooms and self-contained apartments, a private beachside villa and 18 lush rainforest rooms, spread over two centrally-located properties. All rooms located within our beachfront property other than the hotel rooms, feature a private balcony or garden patio with stunning views out to the Coral Sea and Dunk Island. Our beachfront hotel rooms feature a full length windows with views of the beautiful beachfront. All rooms located within our rainforest property are surrounded by our lush rainforest gardens, providing wonderful serenity and privacy. All guests have access to all of our facilities, including our 25m lap pool, beachfront leisure pool, rainforest lagoon pool, gym, laundry, Drift Day Spa and Bibesia Restaurant and Cocktail Bar, which is open 7 days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Wifi is free and accessible throughout the resort and all parking is off-the-road and complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaways Resort And Spa Mission Beach
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach Hotel Mission Beach
Castaways Hotel On Mission Beach
Castaways Resort On Mission Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing