We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with amazing views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mission Beach
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here recently for a couple of nights. The location is the real winner here. Views to die for is you are in an upper level room.
Couldn't fault the staff, always friendly and smiling.
The only disappointment (and it was only a small one) is that the rooms (2nd level anyway) were a little dated and are in need of a revamp.
We loved Mission Beach.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndiAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (800)
There are newer reviews for Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

530 - 536 of 800 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here for one night and wish it had been more. The management upgraded us to a room with a sea view and balcony complete with a day couch. The room was spacious and clean and the view was straight from a postcard. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food at the restaurant was excellent. This is definitely a place to relax and unwind.
John and Morag Kerr.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed here for 3 days. Our hosts were very welcoming and happy to help us. The breakfast, served as room service, was fantastic. It is moments away from the beach. The restaurant serve great food, with Korean options to choose from. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MackaysMotel, Owner at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Thank you for your input, we have a good response from our guests that our meals are good value for money.
You must start your journey with a good breakfast, and our breakfast is a good on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We travelled Australia in a camper but wanted to stay in a nice resort for a few days and Castaways did not disappoint. We got a really good deal and stayed in a family room which has a separate bedroom for kids if you have any. The seaview was breathtaking. The room was spacious and clean. The breakfast is very good (if you want anything with eggs or coffee specialties, you will have to pay extra, the continental was fine for us) as is the lunch / dinner menu. There was free Wifi in the Lobby. The only negatives are that the hotel is not exactly brandnew and that shows in some places. Also the cleaning personnel removed half a large pizza from our room although we had not in any way indicated that we wanted to throw it away. I complained at the reception but nothing happened.

In total I can definately recomment Castaways.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigBumix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We recently had our wedding at Castaways Resort & Spa. We spent almost $15k and stayed for a week. Jess the wedding coordinator was amazing, very easy to talk to and understood our every request. The Head Chef Karl was very accommodating especially for some of our dietary requirements with guests. The food was amazing, the most popular being the lime and chili banana leaf wrapped fish, also the pumpkin salad.
We remember Castaways from many years ago, and the improvements with both decor and service are very impressive, especially considering it has only 2 years ago survived cyclone yasi.
The staff are so friendly and helpful and we and many of our friends and family love the place.
Highly, highly recommend it :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterm507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Big birthday celebration gone totally wrong. Uncooked prawns, bland bruschetta, cold steak, burnt paella, chocolate fondants with no chocolate inside. And a nice big bill to pay for inedible meals . Only positive, the waitresses very nice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank missiongirl_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We found our room to be comfortable and clean with an amazing view. The full moon helped a lot. The food was great fresh and plenty of it.
Thank you for a lovely night.
Breakfast was great both of us enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mission Beach hotels
2.6 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
157 reviews
1.0 mi away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#2 of 23 in Mission Beach
265 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mission Beach Resort
Mission Beach Resort
#5 of 11 in Mission Beach
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Mission Reef Resort
Mission Reef Resort
#3 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
116 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dunk Island View Caravan Park
Dunk Island View Caravan Park
#1 of 5 in Wongaling Beach
139 reviews
4.6 mi away
Beachcomber Coconut Holiday Park
Beachcomber Coconut Holiday Park
#3 of 23 in Mission Beach
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach

Address: 2 Pacific Pde, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mission Beach
Price Range: $89 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castaways Resort & Spa offers a wide range of accommodation, with 48 luxury beachfront rooms and self-contained apartments, a private beachside villa and 18 lush rainforest rooms, spread over two centrally-located properties. All rooms located within our beachfront property other than the hotel rooms, feature a private balcony or garden patio with stunning views out to the Coral Sea and Dunk Island. Our beachfront hotel rooms feature a full length windows with views of the beautiful beachfront. All rooms located within our rainforest property are surrounded by our lush rainforest gardens, providing wonderful serenity and privacy. All guests have access to all of our facilities, including our 25m lap pool, beachfront leisure pool, rainforest lagoon pool, gym, laundry, Drift Day Spa and Bibesia Restaurant and Cocktail Bar, which is open 7 days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Wifi is free and accessible throughout the resort and all parking is off-the-road and complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach Hotel Mission Beach
Castaways Resort And Spa Mission Beach
Castaways Hotel On Mission Beach
Castaways Resort On Mission Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing