We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mission Beach
Melbourne
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

My partner and I purchased a Scoopon deal for 3 nights. What a treat this was!! We had a ground room which had private access (110 I think) to the pool then you walked about 30 steps and hit the beach. It truly was magnificent... The staff were wonderful and extremely friendly. In our package was a one hour facial which I had and my partner had a one hour massage. Again the staff were wonderful and extremely friendly (I think her name was Meagan). Food was a little hit and miss but still good We had a preprepared picnic hamper on the beach which just had everything... It truly was wonderful. We have been to more 5 star places but the best thing was just the general feeling of the place it wasn't pretentious or sterile but relaxing and genuinely calming. We even consider having our wedding there. If I was to complain about anything was on the weekend afternoons there were a huge amount of children in the pool and running around making lots of noise. But given where our room was there wasn't much we could do. This was not the fault of the hotel more the parent not keeping an eye on them.
All and all a great place and if we get the opportunity we would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are great but know that if there are a lot of kids staying it can be quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dare2burbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    254
    114
    65
    44
See reviews for
155
397
32
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Recently stayed overnight with my wife for a quick getaway.

Straight to the facts:
- every single staff member with the exception of front desk (who were dull but certainly not rude) were very friendly, had manners, and seemed to enjoy working there
- the coral sea room was great. Room was clean, bright, had a great view of the ocean. I wouldn't expect anything that wasn't in the room already. There was no mini bar but who cares I'd rather drink at the bar anyway. The bed was very comfortable and fittings were modern and clean. At the end of the day yes there are nicer, more well set up rooms out there but for this price level I think it was great. Our room was above the restaurant but we weren't kept awake by any noise.
- there was a longish wait for dinner, but the bar manager compensated with complimentary drinks which may not excuse the lateness but certainly counts for something, considering I've had late meals before and received squat by way of apologies. Food was great though and the atmosphere very nice. Their breakfast menu is excellent with great variety of choices, more I'd say than most other resorts we've stayed in.
- mission beach itself is a beautiful spot, with a stinger net right by the front of the resort so you can get right in. If you want nightclubs etc then you're clearly in the wrong place (go to airlie or something) as it's a small town.
- beautiful resort, beautiful staff, would go back for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redbanchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a few nights with these guys. From the minute we walked in all the staff we very helpful, knowledgable and friendly!

Only a 5 minute walk to the beach, restaurants & bars etc.

Both my girlfriend and I would highly recommend the place to anyone visiting Mission Beach.

Recommend checking out Murray Falls if you have a car!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seamus_h87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan L, Owner at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments, nice to see someone who enjoys good old fashion service with a smile.
Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

The resort was very good and the restaurant food exceptional, although choice limited. For those who don't eat fish, there is little choice. Mission beach is beautiful but if you're traveling solo - there is nothing to do here. Rooms were clean with great views.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Brad E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We thought it was a good idea to break up the long drive between Airlie Beach and Port Douglas with a one night stay in Mission Beach. Wrong. We should have kept driving.

The 'resort' was more of a dated 70s style 2 star motel with some slap dash renovations that didn't conceal the cracks, age, grime and dirt of the door frames, skirting boards, bathroom and bed.

All I wanted to do on arrival was shower and sleep but couldn't bring myself to do either. The bathroom was dirty and the sheets felt grimy. The small fridge needed a clean and the room was dark, depressing and dank.

The pool looked filthy and the beach was a disappointment, dark, choppy, not safe to swim in, nothing like what we saw on our drive at other parts of the coast. The town of Mission Beach itself was tiny, there was nothing of interest to see or do.

We had paid for breakfast and were hoping to eat something before we left but my husband didn't bother looking at the breakfast bar, he went straight to the car. I dared to have a look, naively thinking it wasn't possible to ruin a simple continental breakfast, but left after I saw the poor selection of squashed, disfigured, cheap quality sliced bread and food that looked like it had been sitting there for hours even though it was only 7am.

Wouldn't return, and it was the lowest point of our 3 week trip. I'm sure there are worse hotels out there and for that reason I have refrained from giving it a rating of 1, however my rating of 2 is very generous in the circumstances, and I felt that the advertisements for the place are misleading, it is not a resort in any sense of the word, but more of a cheap motel, nothing like the paradise its photos represent - very disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Markerina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Reading through other reviews for this hotel , there seems to be some wide variation in people's opinions , so I will present my experience as accurately as possible . We stayed here for our honeymoon , ex tropical cyclone Oswald arrived the same evening as us . Check in was quite satisfactory and the receptionist was friendly and helpful . The room was clean and had a spa , which we enjoyed . The was plenty of cooking / kitchen utensils , although the only thing we used was the jug . The 1st night we left the windows open the enjoy the warm tropical breeze but as there were no flyscreens , we awoke about 4am to a chorus of buzzing mosquitos , of which I terminated 19 before going back to sleep . The restaurant was a tad pricey but the food quality and presentation was very good , wine had the usual restaurant mark up levels . A pleasant surprise was when the restaurant waitress delivered a complimentary desert to our room as a thankyou for us chosing to have our honeymoon there . Breakfast was ok , but there was no fruit to put on the cereal , a hot breakfast was available for an extra $10 and seemed a good option . The view ( when it wasn't howling rain ) was stunning , with a view over Dunk island . On 2 occasions we ordered affogato with Tia Maria from the menu as desert but were told there was no Tia Maria , another time I ordered Lamb Cutlets but was told there was no lamb , but to be fair , this was the off season ( apparently some people , unlike me , dislike intense humidity and heat ) so they were probably keeping food supplies to a modest level . I found all the staff to be friendly and helpful and there is a laid back feel to the whole resort . The cocktail list is limited to sweet ' female orientated ' cocktails and most of the staff ( except Eric ) had no idea how to make the usual stuff like a long island Ice Tea , Rum Punch , Singapore Sling , Mai Tai etc . One $19 cocktail had so much Grenadine as to be almost undrinkable ( but I drank it anyway ) . My wife asserted that some of the photos were quite different to what the resort actually looked like , especially the pool photos appeared to have been taken with an ultra wide angle lens . The hotel could do with a bit of refurbishment here and there and is still showing some damage from Cyclone Yasi . One outstanding experience that capped off our stay was when the management were made aware that we had no way to get back to Cairns , due to the Greyhounds terminating at Townsville and no rental cars available , they arranged to have a staff member drive us back to Cairns ( a 4 hour round trip ) for what I considered a very modest fee . Overall , quite happy with Castaways , a bit of a spruce here and there , and a good Cocktail mixer would improve the rating another notch .

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a Spa room , ignore nasty rumours about FNQ being too hot in the summer .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

We have visited Mission Beach many times in fact we are moving there later this year. We have stayed in different motels mostly Castaways and decided to try Mackays last December. We stayed 7 nights, room was clean & comfortable with a nice view close to the beach.
The restaurant is excellent a great Menu, good food & reasonable prices. Gardens and pool are beautiful with a freindly relaxed atmoshphere.Very good value so glad we stayed there.
Thank You for making our stay so enjoyable, we will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan L, Owner at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for your response, it helps to deliver to our guests, good food and good old fashion service.
See you all soon

Cheers..............
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mission Beach hotels
3.4 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
1.0 mi away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#2 of 25 in Mission Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mission Beach Resort
Mission Beach Resort
#6 of 11 in Mission Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Boutique Bungalows
Boutique Bungalows
#1 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sealords
Sealords
#4 of 11 in Mission Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
4.3 mi away
Apollo Jewel Beachfront Apartments
Apollo Jewel Beachfront Apartmen...
#11 of 25 in Mission Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach

Property: Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
Address: 2 Pacific Parade, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mission Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castaways Resort & Spa offers a wide range of accommodation, with 48 luxury beachfront rooms and self-contained apartments, a private beachside villa and 18 lush rainforest rooms, spread over two centrally-located properties. All rooms located within our beachfront property other than the hotel rooms, feature a private balcony or garden patio with stunning views out to the Coral Sea and Dunk Island. Our beachfront hotel rooms feature a full length windows with views of the beautiful beachfront. All rooms located within our rainforest property are surrounded by our lush rainforest gardens, providing wonderful serenity and privacy. All guests have access to all of our facilities, including our 25m lap pool, beachfront leisure pool, rainforest lagoon pool, gym, laundry, Drift Day Spa and Bibesia Restaurant and Cocktail Bar, which is open 7 days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Wifi is free and accessible throughout the resort and all parking is off-the-road and complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaways Resort And Spa Mission Beach
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach Hotel Mission Beach
Castaways Hotel On Mission Beach
Castaways Resort On Mission Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing