We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs immediate renovation, insult to Rydges name” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mission Beach
Neutral Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Needs immediate renovation, insult to Rydges name”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2008

I didn't realize when I booked on the Rydges website that this is not a true Rydges hotel. I have certain expectations from staying in numerous Rydges hotels. This hotel has a nice modern looking lobby but that's it. The rooms are depressingly dark and old. It looks like an old run-down motel rather than hotel grade. For what you pay it is extremely poor value.

There is no internet access - I'm told it is in the process of being added.

I would not stay here again ... enough said.

  • Liked — Close to beach
  • Disliked — Old, rooms are extremely simple, depressingly dark, needs renovation
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TimeToGoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawaysMB, Assistant Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review, May 19, 2008
Thank you for taking the time to provide me with feedback from your recent visit to Castaways Resort and Mission Beach.
I was disappointed to read that you felt that Castaways Resort has not been at our usual standard and your concerns in regards to the resort .

Since assuming management of Castaways last year we have been working to improve the property with view to making it a Rydges hotel in near future. As a result I am sure
you will agree the public areas of the Resort are looking great with the majority of the cosmetic work now being completed.

We are aware of the concerns you raised in relation to the general standards of the guest rooms, and I am pleased to advise that the next step of the refurbishment of the property is now underway with all rooms receiving a new coat of paint, full review of all furniture and fittings, new flat screen TV’s and a brand new bed product.

I hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Marc Fletcher
Assistant Manager
Castaways Resort on Mission Beach – managed by Rydges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    253
    114
    65
    44
See reviews for
155
396
32
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2008

We booked Castaweays at Mission for a couple of nights on our way from Townsville to Cairns.
We had stayed there before mainly due to its unrivalled position right on the beach, and proximity to the Mission Beach village.
The hotel was cleaner and brighter than we remembered. The manager is now Rydges, and you can definately see the improvement in the service and general cleanliness. We ate at the new restaurant which was really teriffic.
I used the wireless internet, my son played the Play-station and my wife read a book around the pool - all for less than $200 a night.
The manager told me that the rooms (which are a little tired) will all be upgraded by June this year - no doubt the price will go up as well!! I say go now while its cheap!!

Jason. (Townsville - QLD)

  • Liked — Position, services and value
  • Disliked — Bed furnishings!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank globetrotter049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawaysMB, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review, February 28, 2008
Thank you for taking sharing your recent experience at our Resort with fellow travellers!.

I was of course delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent visit. The Resort is certainly looking fantastic and it's lovely to read that the all the changes and the fantastic job the team do here is adding to the overall experience.

We are all very excited about the continuing improvements to our Resort and certainly look forward to welcoming you back and sharing them with you in the future.

Kind Regards

Darren Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2008

We had never planned to spend a holiday at Mission Beach, more of a luxurious overnight stop in an idyllic setting.

We had actually booked with a Booking Agent website, and on our arrival the staff could not actually find our pre-paid booking.

We were then told that our booked room; a "Resort Room" would be unavailable, and we appreciated the "upgrade" to a One Bedroom Apartment.

The first impressions of the apartment was that it was little dated, and was in need of some maintenance and aesthetical improvements.

The bathroom was spacious and excellently laid out, however there was paint peeling from the ceiling and marks and chips in the bath-tub.

The balcony had superb views over the beach and a slight view of Dunk Island. On the other hand the screen of the door was damaged and we were unable to open the door of the balcony without inviting large insects inside.

The Bed was clean and comfy however the bedside lighting and main light was faulty.

Due to the upgrade, we decided to take advantage of the facilities and cooked our own meals inside the apartment. The utensils, and equipment was ideal. The only criticism is that maybe the Main Meal plates were rather small.

There were cobwebs in clear and noticable positions at the side of the refridgerator, and considering that the apartment had "Just been cleaned" as we were told at reception, the standards were not as high as we would have liked.

We know all about insects and their habitats, as we live in Cairns.

As with insects, we are also familiar with the climate and it's effects. There was a thunderstorm in the mid-afternoon and our rooms were left without power for about an hour, we can understand that this was no fault of the hotels.

On the other hand, the phone lines from the rooms had been affected in this storm and so calls could be made to the hotel and not to the rooms. We felt isolated that we had to travel in the car to a payphone, to contact family and friends.

A member of staff from the Hotel had told a relative that the issue would be fixed within an hour, however as we checked out at 10am the following morning there was still no telephone service. In addition, this outage affected the Hotel's Wireless Internet Service so we had no lines of communication.

Washing up liquid and cleaning cloths were supplied. On cleaning the units, it became apparent that a rather unpleasant smell was coming from somewhere. On further inspection it appeared that the Washing Up liquid was the source. It is hard to say how washing-up liquid can emit a smell rather like stagnant water.

On check out, we took this bottle to reception, and we were told that the cleaner would be told. No apology was offered and we left unhappy at the experience.

We left with the impression that Castways was a fine hotel, but is in need of serious upgrade and maintenance to match the superb setting it has. The cleaning standards are by no means the worst we have encountered, but not the best either.

Had we booked for longer than one night, we would not have thought twice about requesting to be be moved or even checking out.

We will return to Mission Beach, unfortunately not to Castaways.

  • Liked — Excellent pool and a beautiful location.
  • Disliked — The room's lack of cleanliness and standards.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank nodgersboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawaysMB, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review, February 28, 2008
Thank you for taking the time to provide me with feedback from your recent visit to Castaways Resort and Mission Beach.
I was disappointed to read that our customer service had not been at our usual standard and that some of the concerns you raised were not dealt with in a more courteous, professional and timely manner.

Since assuming management of Castaways last year we have been working to improve the property with view to making it a Rydges hotel in near future. As a result I am sure
you will agree the public areas of the Resort are looking great with the majority of the cosmetic work now being completed.

We aware of the concerns you raised in relation to the painting and general
maintenance of the guest rooms, and I am pleased to advise that the next step of the refurbishment of the property is now underway with all rooms receiving a new coat of paint, full review of all furniture and fittings, new flat screen TV’s and a brand new bed product.

I hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Darren Pike
General Manager
Castaways Resort on Mission Beach – managed by Rydges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Getxo, EUSKADI
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2007

We stayed threenights at the hotel. The hotel is very nice and we experienced a very nice stay becouseit is located right on the beach.
We stayed on the ground level. the room had all we needed even a nice kitchenette so it was grate for us.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eusko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawaysMB, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review, December 28, 2007
It's always pleasing to learn of our guests enjoying their time with us and their experience at Mission Beach, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Castaways next time you visit.

Kind Regards

Darren Pike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
117 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2007

Arrived at this wonderful beach on a hot and sunny day. Castaways in situated right on the beach you really couldn't get much closer unless you were in the water. The resort itself was clean and tidy but very outdated. We didn't eat there so I cant comment on the food but we did have a few drinks which were rather costly. The best thing I found was the staff were very friendly and helpful and once again the location of the beach was just the best and what a beach it was indeed.

  • Liked — The views from the balcony
  • Disliked — the outdate rooms
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawaysMB, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review, December 16, 2007
We are truly blessed with a very special part of the world at Mission Beach, and I am glad you enjoyed your visit. On top of the great location I was pleased to read your comments about the fantastic team we also have here at the resort who certainly will go out of their way to make your visit a memorable one. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Castaways Resort and I look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit.

Kind Regards

Darren Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2007

We stayed just one night at Castaways at Mission Beach. - we flew into Cairns and worked our way down the coast ending up 5 nights later at Mackay. Not being City people we thought we'd give Cairns a miss, we have spent time there in the past, so headed south soon after arriving from NZ.
Castaways is in a prime location right on Mission Beach. We just opted for the standard hotel room as we thought that's all we needed for 1 night. Though the hotel is starting to show its age a little, it was clean tidy and perfectly adequate, a lovely outlook from out deck. This is an excellent place to stay if you want a really relaxed holiday. Mission Beach is not touristy, more of a sleepy oceanside village. There is not alot to do right in Mission Beach, but quite a few days trips are available out to the reef, Dunk Island etc.

The beach was lovely, though not there long we still managed to get a swim in both the sea and the pool. Castaways pool is right in front of the hotel, and is in the shade later in the day, but that is not always a bad thing if you've been in the sun all day.

We ate out for dinner, dinning at Oceania Bar & Grill. and had a fabulous meal, one of the best during our 12 night holiday. I had a stunning prawn and pasta dish.
We had breakfast in the hotel, choosing the continental buffett, which was a good selection and more than anyone really needs for breakfast.

Yes I would definately stay here again if returning to Mission Beach.

  • Liked — The location
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RobCre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawaysMB, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review, December 16, 2007
Dear Rob,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Castaways and Mission Beach, I was pleased to read it was a positive one and I thought I would take the opportunity to let you know about some of the exciting improvements that have been made to the property since your last visit. All the public areas of the resort including the lobby, restaurant and bar have received a face lift with a fresh coat of paint and new furnishings and the place is looking fantastic. We also have some fantastic new pool lounges where guests can now relax in comfort whilst enjoying cocktails from the new bar area or just relaxing and enjoying the vista out to the Coral Sea. We will be continuing to make improvements to the resort into the New Year and I look forward to the opportunity to sharing these with you on your next visit to Mission Beach
Kind Regards

Darren Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
66 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2007

We made reservations at this hotel, but i somehow got confused and we showed up 2 days early. The check-in person was most kind in letting us have a room, even though it was still "high season". All the staff could not have been nicer and trying to please.
The location is right at the beach, within walking distance of many restaurants and cafes. We highly recommend this place.

  • Liked — Location and great staff
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank glasskate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawaysMB, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review, December 16, 2007
Thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback from your recent visit. I was glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and hope to have the opporunity to welcome you back to Castaways Should you be travelling to Mission Beach in the future.

Kind Regards

Darren Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mission Beach hotels
3.4 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
1.0 mi away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#1 of 25 in Mission Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mission Beach Resort
Mission Beach Resort
#6 of 11 in Mission Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Boutique Bungalows
Boutique Bungalows
#1 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sealords
Sealords
#4 of 11 in Mission Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
4.3 mi away
Apollo Jewel Beachfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach

Property: Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
Address: 2 Pacific Parade, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mission Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castaways Resort & Spa offers a wide range of accommodation, with 48 luxury beachfront rooms and self-contained apartments, a private beachside villa and 18 lush rainforest rooms, spread over two centrally-located properties. All rooms located within our beachfront property other than the hotel rooms, feature a private balcony or garden patio with stunning views out to the Coral Sea and Dunk Island. Our beachfront hotel rooms feature a full length windows with views of the beautiful beachfront. All rooms located within our rainforest property are surrounded by our lush rainforest gardens, providing wonderful serenity and privacy. All guests have access to all of our facilities, including our 25m lap pool, beachfront leisure pool, rainforest lagoon pool, gym, laundry, Drift Day Spa and Bibesia Restaurant and Cocktail Bar, which is open 7 days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Wifi is free and accessible throughout the resort and all parking is off-the-road and complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaways Resort And Spa Mission Beach
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach Hotel Mission Beach
Castaways Hotel On Mission Beach
Castaways Resort On Mission Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing