We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Sanctuary Retreat(Bingil Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
King Reef Resort(Kurrimine Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kurrimine Beach Motel(Kurrimine Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bedarra Island Resort(Bedarra Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Black Marlin Motel(Innisfail)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (873)
Filter reviews
873 results
Traveler rating
303
299
138
81
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
303
299
138
81
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscastaways resortcontinental breakfastthe main hotelpalm treesthe ground floorcoral seabeachfront locationfantastic locationbar and restaurantday bedprawnsstinger netbedroom apartmentport douglasfamily roomthe great barrier reefstayed here for one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
631 - 636 of 873 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The only negative was, we had no hot water the first night. After ringing about the issue several times I requested to be moved and we were upgraded to a 2br apartment, which was definitely much better. The room we were initially in had a superb view, but it was a tad tired, especially the bathroom, so check what room you are booking. The pool area, restaurant area and the bar have been refurbished and are very modern, sleak and classy. Be careful though the timber decking around this area when wet is very slippery. Some kids took a slide. I found most of the staff friendly. Gemma on reception is definitely a "Gem" she is very helpful and knowledgeable on things to do. The view really is 5 star. The breakfast was included and was only continental, but there was more than cereal and toast. There was a sandwich press that you could do toasted sandwiches in and my son loved the muffins, cakes and danishes and there was also fresh fruit, not your typical continental breakfast. Yes the coffee was instant, but you could purchase other coffees and cooked breakfast if that's your thing. Aside from the original hot water issue, which didn't really phase us too much, we had the best holiday. Was so nice, sitting on the deck chairs reading a book, sipping on a drink and looking at the view. You can see Dunk Island from the resort, which we visited. Dunk Island resort is still very much how it was after the cyclone hit, so is worth a look. Castaway is a very laid back resort within easy walk of many restaurants, the beach and swimming area. I really enjoyed my stay and would highly recommend the resort to others. The restaurant is pricey, but what we had was quality and the beds were very comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iamsuey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at Mckays Mission Beach for 2 nights.
The location was excellent. Only 2 minutes to beautiful beach and 5 minutes to main shopping are. We had 2 dinners, 2 breakfasts and 1 lunch at Pavilion restaurant and food was absolutely beautiful!
The prices were reasonable and the potion was just right.
We had a little problem with Wifi connection and Alan was very helpful to solve the problem.
We definitely recommend this motel for nice relaxing holidays.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neko1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan L, Owner at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Our guests are given good old fashion service when required, we have a great following with the local residents of Mission Beach and our guests alike, they all love our little restaurant,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed here with my partner for a 4 day break and found it a great place to stay. The meals at dinner were fantastic and while a little expensive it was what you would expect from a hotel restaurant.

The location is what makes this place, right on the beach and fantastic views!

The rooms are a bit dated and could defninitely do with a refurb, the pool and bar area appear to have been recently done and if they can continue this style to the rooms they will be onto a winner.

Room Tip: Top Floor for the view
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krich85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at the Castaways Resort in late September 2012. We found the room to be quite modern, seemed well maintained and clean. The bed was very comfy and the bathroom was spacey enough. With the staff it was a bit of a hit and miss depending on what mood they were on. The biggest highlight to our stay there was the view from the room and the easy beach access. The low point however was being on the ground floor directly in front of the pool. During the day and the next morning it was impossible to relax due to kids running around and screaming directly in front of our room. If you have the option to have your breakfast included or not in your stay, please give it a miss. Not worth your money and they only offer instant coffee. Would i recommend it? I would but only provided you were guaranteed a room on the upper floors.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the upper floors.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eco8812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Spent a few days with the family at this lovely boutique resort after New Year in a two bedroom appartment. Clean, good service and friendly staff. First day we had lunch and diner in the resort restaurant and the food was superb! Simple dishes, but tasty and well prepared. Breakfast is simple, but can be upgraded with hot dishes if you favour a big breakfast. Pool is small, but the beach makes up for it. Stunning views and great for a nice long walk along a white sandy beach. Great place for kids too or if you want to relax for a few days! Didn't have time to visit the spa ;-)

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank Fdeluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews