We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hamburgers bar none!”

Dunk Island View Cafe
Ranked #17 of 44 Restaurants in Mission Beach
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Mission Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best Hamburgers bar none!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Yep, everyone states that, but in this case (and the first time I have recommended a Burger bar) it's true.
The park was almost demolished by Cyclone Yasi, and has been rebuilt to a wonderful standard.
Whilst it's a caravan park, it does have a small quick serve kitchen, which sells the above.
I'm not sure what exactly it is, but they are the best I've had in a long long time. Maybe it's the toasted buns, maybe it's the super fresh ingredients, maybe it's the sauces or just maybe it's the smile you receive.
Whatever it is, it works. Great value, great food and great service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Medici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    16
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Burgers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Best burgers we have ever had,toasted buns,grated fresh beet root,fresh crunchy lettuce,meat patty very tasty&moist yum! Service with a smile,cafe very clean.will definitely eat here again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wongaling Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic fish and chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Best fish and chips I have had for a long time. Cooked in healthy rice bran oil which is always fresh. The flathead fillets are excellent and at a very reasonable price. Look forward to trying the rest on the menu soon.The service is excellent and a welcoming smile is also nice to see when ordering your meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Les_douglas_fc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best $10 lunch ever, yummo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Service and wait times were impeccable. Well done. Everything was excellent. If we'd been there longer, certainly would have gone again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 148suzieq62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedarra Island, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Fish and Chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

The chips are out of this world. The secret I believe is they are cooked in rice grain oil. So flavoursome! Not only do they serve fish chips, they also have a wide variety of other takeaway food. Their coffee and freshly baked cakes are available on most days and are also are very good. I would highly recommend you drop in for a coffee and cake, and you must try their delicious fish and chips.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bedarra_Beach_House
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dunk Island View Cafe also viewed

Wongaling Beach, Mission Beach
Bingil Bay, Mission Beach
 
Mission Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Dunk Island View Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing