We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been a LOT better”
Review of Treehouse Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mission Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Treehouse Hostel
Reviewed August 5, 2010

My husband and I stayed for one night at Treehouse in August, 2010. We had read the brochure beforehand and were really looking forward to a short stay there. However, that was very shortlived. When we arrived there was no parking space available for our car initially. The bus to take us back to Mission Beach, run by the hostel was $2 per person each way, so we elected to drive back to the town for our tea. We found the showers and bathroom facilities worked OK but were dirty and some were in need of repair. There was no sign of the library and international newspapers mentioned in the brochure, only a bookshelf full of old and tatty books. The room is one of the only ones we've stayed in that had absolutely no storage space at all. We have stayed at a number of hostels throughout Qld and this is the worst by far. No sign of breakfast in the morning (free one advertised in the brochure) so we left early and had it at Mission Beach. I would no recommend this hostel to friends and we won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TwoAdventruers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreehouseYHA, Front Office Manager at Treehouse Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2010

I was sorry to read your review of your recent stay with us. On the night of your stay we were very busy and our modest carpark was a little crowded. I personally tried to help you with this matter and moved one of our vehicles so that you could have a space.

The shuttle bus is subsidised by the Treehouse which enables all of our guests to travel to Mission Beach for the greatly reduced price of $2 per person each way. This has always worked well for our guests.

With regards to breakfast, we have not provided this for 4 years, We do however sell breakfast food from reception which is open from 7:30am. As for your room, we can not offer storage due to lack of space. All of our double rooms however come with extra large beds for comfort and are the cheapest in Mission Beach.

I hope you enjoy the remainder of your stay in Australia.

Treehouse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 26 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2010

It's the best Backpacker i did in Australia !
Near the Jungle, but a little bit far from Mission Beach (even if there some Bus, a car is a big help). A nice swimming pool and nice weather :)
I wish i could stay longer ... TY to the Team :)

Antoine (Fr)

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ac-Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2010

I arrived here in Sep 09 for a couple of nights and ended up staying for a lot longer. The hostel is situated in Bingil Bay which is a 10 minute drive out of Mission Beach however there is a Beach Shuttle Bus that can take you around the area for $2, it runs every day so you can always get out and about if you wish. This place is an actual treehouse and the vibe is relaxed and chilled out, there is no television but that wasn't a priority for me.
The hostel was clean and I spent many a happy hour reading in one of the hammocks or lazing by the pool. There are bugs, I saw a Hercules moth whilst I was there which is the largest in the world!! There are mosquitos and marsh flies too so bring some repellent but that is a small inconvenience for such a unique place, the best hostel so far....

Management and staff were friendly as was the resident cat and dog.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trip_so_far
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2010

this hostel is a nice place. nice and quiet location, quite clean and i would def stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2009

We arrived here late-ish one evening with the intention of camping. We'd been left very vague instructions as to who to find when we arrived and finally started pitching the tent on their 'camp ground' at about 10pm. Our tent normally goes up in about 5mins, however, the ground was so hard that we couldn't get the pegs in properly. I'm still not sure how it stayed up that night!

The hostel is also in the middle of no where which we didn't realise until we arrived. Luckily, we had a car so made it to our white water rafting pick up location the next morning. Not sure how transport works if you're car-less however.

As for facilities, the kitchen is well stocked, but is open to the wild so be prepared to have the odd dinner-plate sized spider watching as you cook your evening meal! As the hostel as a campsite, also be prepared for campervan loads of people to show up in one go and take over the kitchen.

The bathrooms are pretty rough. You have to hang your clothes up in the same cubicle as the shower, so be prepared for soggy clothes. The toilets also have a very funny smell about them. They looked clean, but I wasn't convinced.

The communal area is full of books, games and a radio and there are a few hammocks scattered about the pool area, which makes it very atmospheric. It's just a shame the rest of the hostel doesn't share the same ambience.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2008

lovely hostel with a really nice aptmosphere and great people! the owners are really helpful and the shuttle bus worked well. a great retreat in a beautiful place- yes there are bugs- but you are in the rainforest!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Hatty5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2008

I know the Treehouse for a long Time. My first Visit was in 2001.
I've been there for 3 times and stayed 2-Weeks in 2001, 2-Months in 2005 and another week in 2007. I't Changed alot! as you can reqad in other Tripadvisor descritpions, some love it, some not. during that time i know the treehouse, the owner changed and the management changed a couple of times. the last onwners Harry and Mandy do a fantastic job. since they ar on board, the treehouse isn't a mess at all! well if you do not like bugs, snakes, frogs, birds adn rainforest stay away. if you like to relax and have a good time (no stress in thinking about the next day or so ...) then you will love to stay at the treehouse.

so long, and i'll be back...

claudio (switzerland)

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Claudio78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mission Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jackaroo Treehouse Mission Beach
4.9 mi away
Boutique Bungalows
Boutique Bungalows
#1 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
5.7 mi away
Dunk Island View Caravan Park
Dunk Island View Caravan Park
#1 of 5 in Wongaling Beach
139 reviews
5.9 mi away
Mission Reef Resort
Mission Reef Resort
#3 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treehouse Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treehouse Hostel

Address: Frizelle Road, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Mission Beach
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing