We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing atmosphere over the rainforest”
Review of Treehouse Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mission Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Treehouse Hostel
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing atmosphere over the rainforest”
Reviewed November 2, 2011

f you looking for a nice hostel with hammocks and a special atmosphere, with a view over the rainforest, a cassowary visiting weekly the garden, great pool, ideal to just relax or to do a nice bushwalk. They have a bus into Mission beach and pick up from the busstation. We loved this place because it is quite unique and finally you get something special instead of the normal backpacker style.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    12
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
8
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

I stayed a week but could have stayed longer. The place is just so relaxing and friendly, met some great people. It's a little bit out of mission beach but they have a free shuttle bus going a few times a day into town, they will also pick you up from the coach. The kitchen is well equip and the swimming pool is lovely. The showers don't always have hot water if you are the last in but its still Luke warm. The staff were great and we enjoyed having a few drinks down in the bar. They also have a resident cat and dog, who are also lovely but be prepared if you have allergies like I do :)

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littledonkey84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2010

It is the best Hostel I've ever been in my life, thanks to the owners that are so nice and above all thanks to the nature, in the middle of the rain forest, and the familiar atmosphere between the guys. So quite and nice... and in the morning little kangaroos come to visit you! Annalisa, Italy

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annaussie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

stayed here for 4 nights in november while travelling around australia for 2 months.after another 6 months and 8 countries this was one of the best spots i stayed at.sure no one runs around cleaning up after you and theres no tv a good thing but relaxing in a hammock with a beer and zero7 on my ipod with a swim in the pool right on edge of the rainforest is hard to beat.its a bit remote but the shuttle bus to the shops or beach works well.water taxi to dunk island is nice or parachute onto the beach if you get restless. the rainforest comes alive at daybreak with all manner of birds and animals calling across the rainforest.dorm i stayed in was ok but it wasnt full and the 2 toilet/shower rooms downstairs was ok but again it was not full.dont expect 5star pampering but do expect one of the top spots on queensland

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkn729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2010

My husband and I stayed for one night at Treehouse in August, 2010. We had read the brochure beforehand and were really looking forward to a short stay there. However, that was very shortlived. When we arrived there was no parking space available for our car initially. The bus to take us back to Mission Beach, run by the hostel was $2 per person each way, so we elected to drive back to the town for our tea. We found the showers and bathroom facilities worked OK but were dirty and some were in need of repair. There was no sign of the library and international newspapers mentioned in the brochure, only a bookshelf full of old and tatty books. The room is one of the only ones we've stayed in that had absolutely no storage space at all. We have stayed at a number of hostels throughout Qld and this is the worst by far. No sign of breakfast in the morning (free one advertised in the brochure) so we left early and had it at Mission Beach. I would no recommend this hostel to friends and we won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoAdventruers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreehouseYHA, Front Office Manager at Treehouse Hostel, responded to this review, August 6, 2010
I was sorry to read your review of your recent stay with us. On the night of your stay we were very busy and our modest carpark was a little crowded. I personally tried to help you with this matter and moved one of our vehicles so that you could have a space.

The shuttle bus is subsidised by the Treehouse which enables all of our guests to travel to Mission Beach for the greatly reduced price of $2 per person each way. This has always worked well for our guests.

With regards to breakfast, we have not provided this for 4 years, We do however sell breakfast food from reception which is open from 7:30am. As for your room, we can not offer storage due to lack of space. All of our double rooms however come with extra large beds for comfort and are the cheapest in Mission Beach.

I hope you enjoy the remainder of your stay in Australia.

Treehouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2010

It's the best Backpacker i did in Australia !
Near the Jungle, but a little bit far from Mission Beach (even if there some Bus, a car is a big help). A nice swimming pool and nice weather :)
I wish i could stay longer ... TY to the Team :)

Antoine (Fr)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ac-Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bebington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2010

I arrived here in Sep 09 for a couple of nights and ended up staying for a lot longer. The hostel is situated in Bingil Bay which is a 10 minute drive out of Mission Beach however there is a Beach Shuttle Bus that can take you around the area for $2, it runs every day so you can always get out and about if you wish. This place is an actual treehouse and the vibe is relaxed and chilled out, there is no television but that wasn't a priority for me.
The hostel was clean and I spent many a happy hour reading in one of the hammocks or lazing by the pool. There are bugs, I saw a Hercules moth whilst I was there which is the largest in the world!! There are mosquitos and marsh flies too so bring some repellent but that is a small inconvenience for such a unique place, the best hostel so far....

Management and staff were friendly as was the resident cat and dog.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trip_so_far
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mission Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jackaroo Treehouse Mission Beach
4.9 mi away
Boutique Bungalows
Boutique Bungalows
#1 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
3.1 mi away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#3 of 23 in Mission Beach
259 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mission Beach Hideaway Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treehouse Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treehouse Hostel

Property: Treehouse Hostel
Address: Frizelle Road, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Mission Beach
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing