We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotless but no service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mission Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 11 Mission Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2012

From the moment you arrive the glum faces make you relise Mission Beach has not recovered from the ravages of Cyclone Yasi. Grumpy un friendly locals seemingly wishing you would go away.
The romms at the resort were spacious and spotless and this did make up for the attitude of the staff. The breakfast welcome was surly and food only half cooked.
Lunch the taste of the buger I had was wonderful but on further investigation was half cooked.
My advice DONT DO IT

Room Tip: Ask for the family room special
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jusslmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

I am pleased to hear that our new renovated rooms were to your liking, I am however very concerned about our lack of customer service experienced by you, in light of this, all staff will undergo extensive re training in customer service to ensure no one has to endure as you did. Thank you again, it is only through valuable feedback and comments such as yours that we will finally be able to have the ‘guest experience’ that matches our well appointed rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
There are newer reviews for Mission Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 295 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2012

My family and I stayed at Mission Beach resort 2 years ago. We have recently come back for another family holiday and the renovations/customer service was sensational!

Room Tip: We spoke to the Resort Manager who was more than helpful
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Micthell N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission B, Front Office Manager at Mission Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Thank you for your valued feedback. We are very pleased with the final outcome of our new rooms, and we are glad to hear that you like them! We look forward to welcoming you back to our Resort in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

I stayed recently for a conference and had a renovated room, I think they will all be finished soon. The room was spacious, with a king size bed, a sofa, a table and chairs and also table and chairs on the patio looking out to the pool and little waterfall. All the furnishings were new and the room was freshly painted. It's a quiet spot as long as you are away from the Public Bar.
The food was good, a buffet with a wide choice. There is also quite a good wine list. Those who had the cooked breakfast were very complimentary, I was happy with the continental, but there could be a wider range of tea. Coffee is from a machine (there's a good coffee shop in the little shopping village next door.
The staff are very pleasant and helpful. It's a pity about Dunk Island being closed, but the whitewater rafting on the Tully River is a great experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colombo4850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Stayed at the Resort last night in one of the many new renovated rooms. They are a huge improvement and prices have not been raised. We compared these rooms to some city 4.5 star Hotels and they are usually at least double the price so very cheap for what you get. OMG the beds are better than mine at home, I couldn't have had a better sleep. The buffet has new chef, and is about $22 for dinner and is one of the best in NQ we have been to.

Well done Mission Beach Resort, you are doing an amazing job in leading the way for quality accomodation in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BNE101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission B, Front Office Manager at Mission Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Thank you very much for your valued kind comments! We are pleased to hear that your stay was enjoyable. We are very satisfied with the final outcome of our renovations and we are glad you like our new rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Resort in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Band new room, however has little fixtures - a chair used as bedside table with an alarm clock on it with the cord still wound around the clock. Tv is on the only table in the room. Room phone is on a chair no wardrobe or hanging space. No luggage stand of any description. Parking some distance from the room - even the carpark was difficult to get to due to construction. Fairly disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whoopta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission B, Front Office Manager at Mission Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Thank you for your valuable feedback and patience during our time of renovations. We do apologize that your experience was not as you expected. We had a delay in furniture being delivered. We are currently holding room rates and we welcome our valued customers to come and experience our fully renovated rooms. Please see our Trip Advisor page for photos of the freshly renovated and fully furnished rooms, which we believe are well above average standard. Thank you again for your valued feedback and we hope to welcome you back to our Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed here for one night. The room was clean but outdated. It could do with a bit of a paint and freshen up. We stayed in a family room as this was what was available, it had a double and two single beds (which we did not need) but the room would be spacious if you had others/children with you. We had a TV and a small fridge which was handy. We did have an issue with a fair few ants though and we couldn't really do anything about it as there was no spray or anything to deter them. We didn't hear any noise from our room though and we had a parking space for the car outside. We also had breakfast included in the price which was good. There was also a field nearby with wallabies in were fun to watch if your not local to Oz. It wasn't the best hotel we have stayed in, but was a fairly good location and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Mission Beach Resort is set back about a kilometre from the beach. Close by and within easy walking distance is Woolworths, bottles shop, newsagent, surf shop, chemist. As part of the resort, there is a bistro which has smorgasbord meals and breakfast and sports bar and a pub.
The resort has four groups of rooms, all set around their own central pool. Our room was very large with a king bed, good sized flat screen TV, two good sized cane chairs and coffee table, small fridge, tea and coffee making. Ensuite was ample in size and all linen was of good quality. Our room opened through large glass sliding doors onto a small covered area with outdoor setting that looked over the fenced pool. At one end near the pool was a BBQ. There was also a spa at the end of the main pool. Reception was friendly and helpful. It was really convenient to have the shops nearby. We loved this place because it was excellent value for money compared to the little motel rooms that over charge their poor guests. We paid $110/ night for two adults. Well done Mission Beach Resort for not ripping off your customers.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wishlist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mission Beach hotels
4.3 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
157 reviews
2.0 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
0.7 mi away
Mission Reef Resort
Mission Reef Resort
#3 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#2 of 23 in Mission Beach
265 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dunk Island View Caravan Park
Dunk Island View Caravan Park
#1 of 5 in Wongaling Beach
139 reviews
2.7 mi away
Beachcomber Coconut Holiday Park
Beachcomber Coconut Holiday Park
#3 of 23 in Mission Beach
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Beach Resort

Address: Lot 4 Wongaling Rd, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mission Beach
Price Range: $72 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mission Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mission Beach Resort is centrally located at Wongaling Beach, within 5 minutes walking distance you will discover 14km of world class beaches that meet the magnificent rain forest, creating the perfect setting for your relaxation. The resort has all the facilities and services to make your stay a relaxed and memorable one. Why not kick back in one of our 4 swimming pools or spa? Dine in our fully licensed restaurant or, relax in our Sports Bar or Gaming Room. With convention and function facilities, we are available to cater for special occasions and the various needs of your group. Our friendly and knowledgeable staff offer an extensive information and tour booking service for all local tours and attractions. What more could you ask for? Stay at Mission Beach Resort for a truly relaxing holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mission Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing