We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay and great Breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sealords

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sealords
Ranked #4 of 11 Mission Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kuranda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay and great Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

I had a perfect 2 night with very lovely hosts, wonderful breakfast and a fantastic sunrise every morning.
The room was spacious and confutable.
Just minutes from Mission Beach village a perfect place to be.
Thanks again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cedar_Park_Resort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
65
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

Had a child free night and a co-worker suggested Mission Beach as a quick overnight getaway. Looked online and found Sea Lords, had a look at their website and was hoping to book the Admiral Room but when I called to book I was told it was booked but the Lady Codrington Room was available, I booked it.

Arrived and we were greeted by Phil who showed us to our room. I was impressed. Lady Codrington is a large room (compared to another B&B we've stayed in)...had a queen size 4 poster bed, TV, ceiling fan, air conditioning, large ensuite with large double shower and heated towel rack. But what I think I liked most, was that the room had a door that lead out onto the front verandah which through the trees you can see the beach/ocean. The Admiral Room looked out to the back patio and pool area. Also out the back near the pool was a family room which is detached from the main house. Phil also showed us the section of the fridge that we could use.

While I was a little disappointed at the time of booking that I couldn't get the Admiral Room like I had wanted, I was NOT disappointed with the Lady Codrington Room!

We spent the afternoon relaxing at the table out front, where it was nice and quiet, except for the odd car that drove past, we listened to the waves. Unfortunately the weather wasn't that great so we missed out on having a swim.

Late afternoon Sharon had offered her homemade muffins, which were yummy! We had a good chat as we discovered we are both from the same city in Canada...I never would have thought that I would meet a fellow Canuck in Mission Beach!

We had a comfortable nights sleep and woke to find the front verandah was set up for breakfast...so was the back patio area. You could choose where you wanted to sit. We were the only ones that sat out front. Breakfast consisted of fresh fruit, orange juice, tea, coffee, cereal and Phil's delicious banana pancakes!

We were also not rushed out, we were told that we could leave our belongings while we went to the Sunday markets. They also knew that throughout the night my husband became ill, we were told that because the room wasn't booked out for that night, we didn't need to rush, we could take our time leaving.

Mission Beach is a pretty quiet little place and Sea Lords is a short 5 minute (or less) drive to the main area. The area is great for relaxing.

I've already told my husband that next year when our daughter goes on her annual 2 night camp, we WILL be going back to Sea Lords and I WILL book the Lady Codrington Room. I'm looking forward to returning and I would definitely recommend staying here.

We paid $120 for the night.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wifeofanaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairns, australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2010

My partner and I stayed for one night to have a romantic weekend getaway from nearby Cairns. If you are staying in Cairns, forget the tourist crammed Port Doulas or Palm Cove for side trips- head south to lovely Mission Beach! Arrived at Sealords after the drive and were offered a lemon-lime-and-bitters to cool down, we then jumped straight into the wonderful salt water pool for a dip. We chose the Admiral Room, with king bed and spa - the ensuite feels larger than some hotels rooms do and is very clean and modern, candles/ bath salts were a nice touch. The other room in the man house also looked of equal 5* quality, with 4 poster bed but smaller ensuite and no spa- same price too I think.
They also have a 'cabin' seperate from the main house that caters for a family group, but not too sure on bed configuration.
We had booked in for a jet ski day trip on nearby Dunk Island (also highly recommended if you like a bit of a thrill) and the location of Sealords couldn't have been better for our meeting point at Clump Point Jetty. The beach is literally across the road from sealords, with clear water, golden sand and fringing tropical rainforest- no cassowary sighting for us, but that wasn't our main focus.
Breakfast was great and we were even offered to leave our things in the room and come back to shower and change after our full day trip to Dunk Island, since no-one had booked our room for the following night. It's this kind of extra service you wouldn't ever get at a big hotel, unless you pay a hefty late checkout fee.
The best thing about Sealords was the value for money, it really is a bargain for the type of luxury room you get and the friendly homely service from Sharon and Phil, without being overbearing and intrusive on our privacy.
Will recommend this to all our friends and family, and will probably be back again ourselves it was that good.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Otanerau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

This is definitely one of the nicest B&B's we stayed in. The house is beautiful and our room was great. A comfortable four-poster bed and a beautiful double shower. Sharon makes great breakfasts and ask for Phils famous banana pancakes. David gave good advice on where to see the Cassowary, our main reason for visiting Mission Beach and it was amazing to stand within five feet of this magnificent bird. (We were lucky)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Atze D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloverdale BC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2010

When you arrive Sharon and Phil welcome you with tea and scones and it just gets better. Our room had a double shower, king bed and your own entrance to the deck. Sharon, Phil and their son David made us feel like family, we were even invited to a family dinner. The B&B was a 5 star plus!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank macdCloverdaleBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, England
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2010

What a lovely place to stay. Sharon, Phil and their son David make you most welcome and the ambience of the b&b is terrific - it's just like being at home. Mission Beach is a well kept secret - the beach is truly fabulous. Stay there.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amethyst31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2009

Fantastic B&B with 3 rooms, very close to the Beach. We stayed in the room with spa and doble shower. Absolutely georgeous bathroom and great room in general!

The hosts Sharon and Phillip are very friendly and personal, without interfering too much into our privacy. Fresh scones on arrival and breakfasts were wonderfull. Unfortunately we didn't spot a Cassowary, but the abundance of Geckos, Frogs and Mrs Orb definately made up for that!

Would definately recomment this place to anyone visiting Mission Beach, which is also a great base for diving/snorkelling on the Great Barrier Reef (Calypso).

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rava29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mission Beach hotels
1.6 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
1.8 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
1.2 mi away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#2 of 25 in Mission Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Mission Beach Resort
Mission Beach Resort
#6 of 11 in Mission Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
3.3 mi away
Boutique Bungalows
Boutique Bungalows
#1 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
3.1 mi away
Licuala Lodge
Licuala Lodge
#3 of 11 in Mission Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sealords? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sealords

Property: Sealords
Address: 4 James Rd | Narragon Beach, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mission Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sealords 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Sealords reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing