We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Cairns, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Feeling Disappointed”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We won a voucher valued at $650 for the Eco Lodge. The lodge received payment of the full $650 from an independent company. Booked two rooms, one deluxe spa for one night and another room for two nights which had a kitchenette, queen bed and single bed. Upon arrival appearance of lodge is lovely, grounds are well maintained and looked very clean. Went to reception and spoke to manager behind desk. The moment we walked through the door the smell of alcohol was very strong and it was quite obvious that the manager had been drinking, this was at approximately 3pm on a Sunday afternoon. Greeting was ok but not overly friendly or helpful. Our room was clean and spacious. The beds were particularly comfortable and so was the bedding. The kitchenette was very limited - small microwave, mini bar fridge, toaster setting for approx 3 people. Luckily we took our own esky to keep our snacks and drinks cold. We made reservations for dinner at 7pm. Decided to have a dip in the lovely looking pool. It was like taking a hot bath. Unfortunately for us it had been extremely hot over the past few days and the sun had turned the pool into a sauna. Perhaps a larger shade sail or place the existing one up at the other end of the pool. Other guests arrived at the pool and sadly shared our not so refreshing experience. It was too hot for a walk along the beach so we decided to go to dinner at 6.30pm. Upon arrival we were told by the manager that the staff had not shown up for work. Unfortunately the manager still smelt strongly of alcohol. We could see that all the other families that were staying in the resort were probably in the restaurant as well, many with small children, overall probably no more that 40pax We were seated by a female who was the "waitress" but our experience made us think she was just a friend helping out. The waitress was friendly but clearly not a professional, we had to request a table setting for a person sitting at our table, we were offered cold water and drinks when we first sat down. Not long after our food order was taken. Once this had occurred the manager and waitress left the restaurant. We could clearly see the chef working by himself, working very hard to get the meals out to customers. We witnessed him ringing the waiters bell for service but no one came to help him for quite some time. We waited nearly 2 hours for our main meals one being spaghetti and then we were told by the waitress who had returned buy this time, along with the manager, that the they had to take the meal back as it wasn't meant for our table. Luckily we were able to keep it in the long run however it was not very nice. During our time waiting for our meals we witnessed many other guests complaining and getting very upset about not receiving their meals and looking to get more drinks. Many families had small children who were getting irritated and tired of waiting, some even left and went back to their bungalow. In the morning we decided to check out a day early, the manager was at reception but looked terrible, blood shot eyes, reeking of alcohol and so hung over he could not even tell us how much we had outstanding on our bill, he could not get out of his chair, he was slumped over the desk. Just a note we did witness him drink 3 beers. Overall I would say the food was well below average, I would not recommend this establishment with the current manager in charge. Such a shame that one person can ruin it for so many others. Manager appeared to be his own personal holiday. Endnote: we live in North Queensland, try Port Douglas or even Palm Cove for this type of stay.

Room Tip: try another establishment
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ge0travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    78
    18
    9
    4
See reviews for
77
134
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and had a wonderful time. We found the place to be nicely hidden away in a tropical surrounding. Clean and decent size family bungalows. Immaculate gardens. Enjoyable walk to the beach. Restaurant and pool. Friendly and family owned and operated.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We stayed in Mission Beach at Eco Village for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed it! We stayed in unit 10 and were very satisfied with the amenities which were modern and fit our cooking needs. The setting of Eco Village was superb with the beach just a few steps away! The best was sitting out on the porch with fresh coffee and listening to the waves crash on the beach, the frogs chirp and the birds call. We felt like we were right in the thick of the rainforest - it was lovely! The pool was great - cool, shaded in spots, and very clean. Service was top notch. Two thumbs up for Eco Village! Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLTRTW1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed 3 nights on our journey south from Cairns to Brisbane. The resort is beautifully planned and laid out around a tastefully landscaped pool.
We stayed in a regular chalet which felt secluded and had all the amenities you might need.
Mission Beach is small and real only has 3 eating options although all 3 are good. The village is a 10 minute walk.
There is a good sandy beach although at this time of year swimming in the sea is not possible due to the jelly-fish.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrevorHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australai
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Eco-village was divine. Obviously created by someone (Uncle Jack, I learned) with a great vision, and a feel for architecture, gardens and atmosphere. This is a very special place. The bungalows are totally private, screened by palms. Mine was spacious, comfortable and cool. The grounds were lovely, the manager Daniel was warm and interesting.
I adored my little verandah with table, internet and bubbling pond. I wanted to stay much longer, but had to fly back to Sydney. You could write your first novel here, it is so peaceful, but close to the sea, rainforest and village. I'm coming back for a week next time.

Room Tip: They are all separate bungalows, I think all are wonderful. I was in # 13.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madzufi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We have just returned from staying at this beautiful resort for three wonderful nights. We booked a deluxe king spa room, which was huge with a spa bath in the corner and an amazing pateo with a plunge pool in front of the table and chairs, hidden behind lush greenery giving each villa a really private feel. In the evening the water ran through the pool giving the relaxing sound of running water while sitting there relaxing. The staff we really friendly and welcoming and very approachable. The private beach and the swimming pool areas are just beautiful and so relaxing. A short footpath from the resort takes you straight to the long beach which stretches for miles, and it is about 15 minutes walk to several cafes and good takeaways. This place seemed like paradise to us, but if you are scared of spiders then it may not suit everyone as there are some pretty large ones around the resort and in the trees and bushes around the whole area! There was just one (small) complaint which was that there was no information about the resort available in the room, and we spent our first night with no air conditioning due to the fact that we didn't know how to start it - easy once you knew how! However, we were told that this was in the process of being prepared, and I am sure it will be available very soon.

Room Tip: Choose a Deluxe King Spa - worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BluejaySussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 days early Nov. First stop on E Coast road trip after hustle and bustle of Melbourne and Sydney. Perfect place to chill out -- you get your own chalet with kitchenette and private patio. Ours was looking out into surrounding rainforest - interesting wildlife, most seemingly harmless. Resort is right on a big,wild beach. Stinger season has just started, so not able to swim in sea, though there is a net at other end of beach. Pool is excellent. Mission Beach town is short drive or 10 min walk away. Really laid back place with a few good, relaxed bars and restaurants. Liked Sand Bar.
Free bananas outside reception are sweet and tasty. Dan the Boss is helpful and easy going.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lozweir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mission Beach hotels
2.7 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
154 reviews
1.0 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
3.0 mi away
Mission Beach Resort
Mission Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Mission Beach
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sealords
Sealords
#5 of 11 in Mission Beach
82 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mission Reef Resort
Mission Reef Resort
#3 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
113 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mission Beach Shores
Mission Beach Shores
#2 of 5 in Wongaling Beach
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eco Village Resort Mission Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco Village Resort Mission Beach

Property: Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Address: Clump Point Road, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Mission Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eco Village Resort Mission Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinct, relaxed and set in tropical paradise surrounds, ecovillage mission beach offers a unique holiday in the beautiful Far North. Set in unspoiled rainforest and only metres to Mission Beach’s iconic golden stretch of coastline, the resort is exclusively located where World Heritage rainforest fronts the Great Barrier Reef. The unique Clump Point coastal basalt formations, rock pools and their ecosystems are unique to the Wet Tropics and are significant to the Djiru Traditional Owners. Relaxing is easy in this tropical paradise resort, offering guest accommodation bungalows or stylish spa suites, all with private balconies. Grab a sun lounge and watch the kids have fun in the lagoon pool, or enjoy a drink at the Longhouse Restaurant and watch the breathtaking sunset sweep over Dunk Island. When you’re ready to discover more, the local shops and cafes are only a short walk away and the resort is also close to many of the activities and tours on offer in the area. So whether you are looking for adventure or to simply unwind, you will never forget this unique little piece of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eco Village Resort Mission Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing