We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The owners are the loveliest people, fantastic small hostel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mission Beach Retreat
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The owners are the loveliest people, fantastic small hostel.”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Fantastic little hostel. Rooms are spotless, beds were made and the rooms were a decent size. We were in a 4 bed dorm, which included a double bed-luxury! The common areas are nice and include two t.vs, one with a playstation and games and one with digital television and a range of channels. The owners were absolutely fantastic and went out of their way to make sure everybody was happy. Their dog was lovely too. The hostel is the only one in mission beach town its self so is a one minute walk to the beach and shops. There is also a free shuttle from the bus station to the hostel. I would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone looking for a hostel close to amenities and to anyone that wants a quiet and relaxed stay. The only downside is you have to pay for the wifi-$3 for 1 hour or $5 for 2 hours, which I feel is expensive but everything else is so great, it isn't really an issue.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charhop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    50
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
4
39
57
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Hostel is right in the centre of town and next to beach, hostel is clean and tidy, kitchen is good and living area has lots of DVDs and TV choices if you are staying in. Owners so nice and friendly willing to help with any questions and also about where you are going next!

Room has air con and really comfy beds with two pillows! Kitchen also has oven which you don't find very often at hostels!

Overall very good hostel everything you need!

Room Tip: If you are a couple the 4 bed dorm we stayed in had a double bed on the bottom bunk which was good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Nice small hostel,always clean with a very relaxing atmosphere. You just walk 2min to the beautiful beach -> perfect to see the sunrise :) Very familiar and friendly! The owners are always smiling, friendly and very helpful! You get a free pick-up from and to the bus station, Highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ariane-le
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This hostel is very relaxed and calm. It is located in a small town (with a very nice Sunday-market) directly at the beach. The owners are very friendly, there’s a nice entertainment room with tv and a ps2. The room we stayed in was nice and clean and so was the kitchen. They’ve also got a cute hostel dog :-) I would definitely recommend this place to head away from crowded and busy hostels for a few days. You should do the fruit safari at the visitors centre too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikdos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2013

What can I say great staff and managment. Very clean and comfatble. Friendly guest and great swimming pool. A nice 2 min walk to the beach. Also u can get a great feed at zenbah. I reconme this place to anyone looking for a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sydney2807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford Sound, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed at this hostel for the three days I was in Mission Beach - It was lovely. I wanted a quiet, small hostel as I was in Mission for a Skydive and Extreme Rafting. The couple running the retreat are the most warm, welcoming people Ive encoutered at a hostel in my eight months in Australia. They took my bags into my room and made me feel so at home. The hostel itself is small, quiet, clean - an easy place to just chill. I loved the open concept of the kitchen and the main common room - and the beachy feel of the hostel. I should also mention - the location is great .. two minute walk from the main beach (perfect area for campfires on the beach - which the staff sort out every few days). I'd defintiely recommend this hostel to anyone looking for a relaxing time in Mission Beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenNicole91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013

One of the nicest places I encountered on the East Coast.
The owners and the stuff made me feel at home from the second I arrvied at the Greyhound station. I'd love to stay longer there!
1 Minute walk to the beautiful beach and also close to many great hiking locations.
The open kitchen is a big bonus compared to other hostels, that all smell like onions after one person is cooking (:
Do the rafting there!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mission Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
0.7 mi away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#3 of 23 in Mission Beach
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mission Beach Hideaway Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Scotty's Mission Beach YHA
Scotty's Mission Beach YHA
#11 of 23 in Mission Beach
209 reviews
2.8 mi away
Dunk Island View Caravan Park
Dunk Island View Caravan Park
#1 of 5 in Wongaling Beach
132 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mission Beach Shores
Mission Beach Shores
#2 of 5 in Wongaling Beach
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Beach Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Beach Retreat

Property: Mission Beach Retreat
Address: 49 Porter Prom, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Mission Beach
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mission Beach Retreat YHA, situated in the center of Mission Beach, is unlike any other hostel in the area. We are a family owned boutique backpacker hostel offering dorm share and private accommodation. We have a fully functioning tour desk with access to the best rates for all tours not only in Mission Beach but all along the east coast and across Australia. We have food and drink specials organised for guests at local bars/restaurants and have free activities of our own every day. We offer a relaxed, home-from-home style living with 14 kms of pristine Mission Beach Sand and great views at our back door. Rainforest/nature trails and walks start from our doorstop with amazing native wildlife all around us (such as the endangered cassowary). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing