We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mission Beach Retreat
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed at this hostel for the three days I was in Mission Beach - It was lovely. I wanted a quiet, small hostel as I was in Mission for a Skydive and Extreme Rafting. The couple running the retreat are the most warm, welcoming people Ive encoutered at a hostel in my eight months in Australia. They took my bags into my room and made me feel so at home. The hostel itself is small, quiet, clean - an easy place to just chill. I loved the open concept of the kitchen and the main common room - and the beachy feel of the hostel. I should also mention - the location is great .. two minute walk from the main beach (perfect area for campfires on the beach - which the staff sort out every few days). I'd defintiely recommend this hostel to anyone looking for a relaxing time in Mission Beach.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurenNicole91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
There are newer reviews for Mission Beach Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 177 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

One of the nicest places I encountered on the East Coast.
The owners and the stuff made me feel at home from the second I arrvied at the Greyhound station. I'd love to stay longer there!
1 Minute walk to the beautiful beach and also close to many great hiking locations.
The open kitchen is a big bonus compared to other hostels, that all smell like onions after one person is cooking (:
Do the rafting there!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We have just spent 3 nights at Mission Beach and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It's situated right on the beach and close to walking tracks. The owners and staff were all really friendly and more than willing to help with information on the area and tours to do. We did the White Water Rafting and had so much fun! The double room proved good value and there's plenty of DVD's and games to choose from if you want to chill. The bus shuttle to and from the Greyhound/shops was also really useful.
Best wishes for the future guys!
Gareth & Amanda

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlackwellGareth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I lived at this hostel for a while when I first arrived in Australia and have spent the last couple of years revisiting. Every time I return it feels like I've come back home, and I'm not the only one to experience that wonderful Mission Beach magic! Small but perfectly formed everyone in the hostel is made to feel included and night time beach fires often have marshmallows provided by the wonderful owners Richard and Anthea. Warning: once you've visited once, you won't be able to resist coming back again and again...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneBarratt88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location right next to the beach and friendly staff, but rooms and kitchen and bathrooms were on the grimy side. Dorms are all close to lounge space, so don't expect a lot of sleep if you were hoping for an early night at any stage. On one of the nights I stayed I was woken at 12.30 by lots of screaming - I think (hope!?) it was a recording of someone's skydive.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elspeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

My wife Megan and I stayed here during a 6 day holiday in Northern Queensland to get some some sun during the cold Melbourne winter. Richard and Anthea, the owners, are the most deliciously outgoing, gracious, comfortable people ever. We were a 30 second walk from the beautiful 14 kilometre long golden sandy beach and warm tropical salt waters of the Coral Sea. The backpackers on staff at Mission Beach retreat while we were there, Adam, Ruth, and Kim were the most fun loving, awesome-to-hang-out-with people ever. We played board games, went for long walks on the beach, did a little geocaching, went for walks in the rainforest, saw a Cassowary, and went sailing out to the great barrier reef one day to snorkel. The giant clams out there are AMAZING.

I've stayed in a number of hostels in various places around the world, and this place had the most delicious, comfortable, vibrant, friendly atmosphere of any hostel I've ever been to. I couldn't recommend it more.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenjaminAdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Amazing family run hostel, friendly staff, just recently been updated and one of the cleanest and best places to stay. Staff gave me all the information i needed about the area and had great local knowledge. They also helped me out with booking future accommodation and tours. Would highly recommend this to anyone

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strattong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mission Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
0.7 mi away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#2 of 23 in Mission Beach
265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Motel
Rainforest Motel
#6 of 23 in Mission Beach
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mission Beach Hideaway Holiday Village
0.5 mi away
Sejala on Mission Beach
Sejala on Mission Beach
#9 of 23 in Mission Beach
45 reviews
2.8 mi away
Dunk Island View Caravan Park
Dunk Island View Caravan Park
#1 of 5 in Wongaling Beach
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Beach Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Beach Retreat

Address: 49 Porter Prom, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Mission Beach
Price Range: $17 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mission Beach Retreat YHA, situated in the center of Mission Beach, is unlike any other hostel in the area. We are a family owned boutique backpacker hostel offering dorm share and private accommodation. We have a fully functioning tour desk with access to the best rates for all tours not only in Mission Beach but all along the east coast and across Australia. We have food and drink specials organised for guests at local bars/restaurants and have free activities of our own every day. We offer a relaxed, home-from-home style living with 14 kms of pristine Mission Beach Sand and great views at our back door. Rainforest/nature trails and walks start from our doorstop with amazing native wildlife all around us (such as the endangered cassowary). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mission Beach Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing