We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst night in Australia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mission Beach Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Seixal, Portugal
2 reviews
“Worst night in Australia”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

What can I say: (i) Celing fan full of dust, (ii) Dust behind the doors, (iii) Dirty Pillows (iv) Cockroaches, (v) Fire alarm triggered three or four nights during the night. It was so horrible, we were in such a hurry to leave that we left before the reception was open and lef my ID behind. Had to drive back 80 kms, almost ruined my vacations. STAY AWAY.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djnapalm666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    51
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
4
39
58
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed at Mission Beach Retreat for two nights at the end of May 2013.

From the moment we got picked up efficiently at the Greyhound Terminal to when we got dropped back there, our stay was brilliant.

We arrived later than planned due to the Greyhound been delayed. Check-in was smooth and we felt very happy with the service from Richard and Anthea.

The main reason we stayed in Mission was because of the skydive we did, so we didn't see much of the town, but on the whole the hostel is in a great location near many bars and restaurants and a great fish and chips place 30 seconds next to the hostel. I'd also recommend Zenbah.

The hostel was clean, probably the cleanest I've stayed at in Australia. The kitchen was pristine, with everyone adhering to the rules, which makes it a better place for everyone.

This is not a party hostel, but instead, smooth and relaxing music is played throughout the day which adds to the whole vibe of the place. We never heard any noise at night, and the room was comfy, clean and cool.

Overall this hostel is brilliant. It is about 4kms from Woolworths, but the hostel runs various shuttle runs throughout the day to coincide with the Greyhound service. And it is situated just a two minute walk to the glorious beach.

If I ever come back to Mission, I'd stay here.

Thanks Richard, Anthea & the team there for a pleasurable stay.

Tom & Natalie.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCarter12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is a YHA hostel close to the rainforest and along the beach of Mission Beach. The owners are friendly. They take the time to explain you things so you can get the most out of your stay here. The hostel has only 30 rooms and that gives the hostel a nice atmosphere. This is a quoto from someone else, but it descripes exactly my feeling with this hostel, so i have to see this : This hostel is a home far away from home.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ilsevr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Clean and nice hostel and the friendliest staff ever, they are always ready to help, make a small talk or tell you about what is going on.
There is a bar close by and it's a quiet but friendly town.
The rooms are clean and so are the bathrooms, I had a great stay there and would love to go back someday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renske91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Mission Beach is a fabulous backpacker lodge. The owners are wonderful people who run a tight ship with their staff, and the place is spotless. They are also very kind and helpful. We turned up in out camper van with no site, and they offered us use of the facilities and a parking space for a reduced rate (as we weren't taking up beds) and welcomed us with open arms, helpful information and great attitude. The kitchen was the cleanest we came across whilst backpacking!
It's in a beautiful location and they gave us token for a cheap pizza deal at a bar thirty seconds walk away which was excellent. There's a lovely small pool and the walk to the beach takes 30 seconds.
Anthea helped us plan our next stops on the trip, booking our last minute trip on a boat around the Whitsundays for us which was a lifesaver - she rang round numerous companies to get us the best prices, and having been on the trips herself was able to tailor the trip to our likes / dislikes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becbec789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Nice clean hostel. Big TV, clean kitchen, friendly staff but the only people staying there were mainly staff and there is nothing to do bar the skydive. Its nice if you want to relax for a night we were in a nine bedroom dorm and there were only three other people so your paying for the cheapest and getting like a four bedroom for it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Violet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escanaba, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have had the opportunity to stay in several places as I traveled through Queensland. Some have been good, some mediocre, and some terrible. Mission Beach Retreat is definitely one of the nice ones!
The owners are very friendly, knowledgeable, and always willing to help, whether it is with questions about the hostel, things to do in the area, or just provide friendly chat.
The commons area is very spacious, and boasts a large open air kitchen with all pots, pans, dishes and utensils. There are coolers to keep your food in, and labels to mark what is yours.
The beds are comfortable, the bathrooms are clean and adequate. I was in a 9-person dorm that shared a bathroom, but it was no problem.
The owners and staff are always cleaning, so I had no concerns at all there! Incidentally, this is the only place I have stayed at where they use a steam cleaner in the bathroom daily! I was quite impressed.
I will certainly keep Mission Beach Retreat in the upper list of places to return to!

Room Tip: Internet stations are provided, for an hourly fee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mission Beach hotels
3.1 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
0.7 mi away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#2 of 23 in Mission Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Motel
Rainforest Motel
#5 of 23 in Mission Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mission Beach Hideaway Holiday Village
Mission Beach Hideaway Holiday V...
#15 of 23 in Mission Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sejala on Mission Beach
Sejala on Mission Beach
#9 of 23 in Mission Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Beach Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Beach Retreat

Property: Mission Beach Retreat
Address: 49 Porter Prom, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Mission Beach
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mission Beach Retreat YHA, situated in the center of Mission Beach, is unlike any other hostel in the area. We are a family owned boutique backpacker hostel offering dorm share and private accommodation. We have a fully functioning tour desk with access to the best rates for all tours not only in Mission Beach but all along the east coast and across Australia. We have food and drink specials organised for guests at local bars/restaurants and have free activities of our own every day. We offer a relaxed, home-from-home style living with 14 kms of pristine Mission Beach Sand and great views at our back door. Rainforest/nature trails and walks start from our doorstop with amazing native wildlife all around us (such as the endangered cassowary). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Mission Beach Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing