We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mission Beach Retreat
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Clean and nice hostel and the friendliest staff ever, they are always ready to help, make a small talk or tell you about what is going on.
There is a bar close by and it's a quiet but friendly town.
The rooms are clean and so are the bathrooms, I had a great stay there and would love to go back someday.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renske91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 179 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

Mission Beach is a fabulous backpacker lodge. The owners are wonderful people who run a tight ship with their staff, and the place is spotless. They are also very kind and helpful. We turned up in out camper van with no site, and they offered us use of the facilities and a parking space for a reduced rate (as we weren't taking up beds) and welcomed us with open arms, helpful information and great attitude. The kitchen was the cleanest we came across whilst backpacking!
It's in a beautiful location and they gave us token for a cheap pizza deal at a bar thirty seconds walk away which was excellent. There's a lovely small pool and the walk to the beach takes 30 seconds.
Anthea helped us plan our next stops on the trip, booking our last minute trip on a boat around the Whitsundays for us which was a lifesaver - she rang round numerous companies to get us the best prices, and having been on the trips herself was able to tailor the trip to our likes / dislikes.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank becbec789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Nice clean hostel. Big TV, clean kitchen, friendly staff but the only people staying there were mainly staff and there is nothing to do bar the skydive. Its nice if you want to relax for a night we were in a nine bedroom dorm and there were only three other people so your paying for the cheapest and getting like a four bedroom for it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Violet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have had the opportunity to stay in several places as I traveled through Queensland. Some have been good, some mediocre, and some terrible. Mission Beach Retreat is definitely one of the nice ones!
The owners are very friendly, knowledgeable, and always willing to help, whether it is with questions about the hostel, things to do in the area, or just provide friendly chat.
The commons area is very spacious, and boasts a large open air kitchen with all pots, pans, dishes and utensils. There are coolers to keep your food in, and labels to mark what is yours.
The beds are comfortable, the bathrooms are clean and adequate. I was in a 9-person dorm that shared a bathroom, but it was no problem.
The owners and staff are always cleaning, so I had no concerns at all there! Incidentally, this is the only place I have stayed at where they use a steam cleaner in the bathroom daily! I was quite impressed.
I will certainly keep Mission Beach Retreat in the upper list of places to return to!

Room Tip: Internet stations are provided, for an hourly fee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

This is such a nice hotel with a very chilled out vibe. It's clean and comfortable and the staff were just lovely which is really important. Don't be put off by the fact that its 4km to the shop as they give free lifts several times a day and it means you are literally right by the beach, although you won't want to leave the pool as its really nice!! If I had one suggestion for them it'd be to watch who they employ as one or two of the guys that worked for free accommodation were not very friendly and as soon as the lovely main staff finished for the day they tended to walk around as though they owned the place which could make it a bit awkward...as for the hostel though I really can't fault it, it was lovely!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank izzygray6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Loved it here, bedrooms clean and with air con, bathrooms clean (although only had 1 to share between 9 people) and kitchen and communal areas more than adequate. Located in actual mission beach village but have to drive to get to woolworths and the bottle shop, but the hostel provides several trips a day to do this! Staff so friendly and helpful, would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petal89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This would have to be one of the best experiences that I have had while travelling. Unbelievably clean, very welcoming staff and all around a wonderful experience.Mission Beach Retreat is so laid back, but not over the top. Beautiful pool, and every facility that you could want, but definitely not a glitzy sort of place.

Room Tip: make sure that you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mission Beach hotels
2.9 mi away
Scotty's Mission Beach YHA
Scotty's Mission Beach YHA
#14 of 22 in Mission Beach
216 reviews
3.5 mi away
Jackaroo Treehouse Mission Beach
2.8 mi away
Dunk Island View Caravan Park
Dunk Island View Caravan Park
#1 of 5 in Wongaling Beach
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Mission Beach Resort
Mission Beach Resort
#3 of 11 in Mission Beach
403 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
2.3 mi away
Absolute Backpackers Mission Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Beach Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Beach Retreat

Address: 49 Porter Promenade, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Mission Beach
Price Range: $21 - $39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hostel located directly in the centre of Mission Beach village. 50 Metres to all amenities... Supermarket, Bars, Restaurants, skydive centre, post office and 14 km's of the beautiful Mission Beach itself. We are a designated pick-up location for raging thunder rafting. Our well established tour desk operates from our reception desk and we can help with your travel plans. Come and stay in our little home-from-home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mission Beach Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing