We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Clean. Only hostel on Mission Beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mission Beach Retreat
UK
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Quiet and Clean. Only hostel on Mission Beach!”
Reviewed January 20, 2012

The hostel was very clean, and rooms very spacious. The staff were really friendly and it was great we were the only hostel on mission beach. Which meant we didnt have to wait for buses to the beach.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HimandHer s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    50
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
4
39
57
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mission Beach, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights and enjoyed it very much. The people who work here help you with anything you need, from bookings and taking you to Woolworths for food shopping. We also booked our skydive through here and got one night free accomodation. It is right near the beach, only a few minutes walk. The hostel also have deals with a nice resturant ZenBah which gives you awsome food deals. It was my partners birthday and they gave him a free cocktail and everything. Really friendly. The resort is also very clean and has a small but nice pool to cool down in. If you want a quiet and nice place to stay the I would recommend here.

Room Tip: I do not know if there is air con in the double rooms maybe just a fan, but 4 bedroom doorm that we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katbreivik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

The staff are really friendly, rooms are decent, nice lounge area, which there are two of, and very useful free pick up and daily Woolworths trips! Great value. Backs onto a beautiful beach too.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDM637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Mission Beach, Queensland, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Hi I stayed at the retrat for 4 nights and I enjoyed it ! the room are clean and the staff is really friendly, don't hesitate !

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierrotlefou76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Beach, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 15, 2011

If you want to relax and have a really nice place with a good kitchen, clean rooms and nice staff then this hostel is the right one. It is really good just to hang out with friends, it is not noisy and you have time to enjoy the beautiful beaches! We have a really good time here :)

Room Tip: the 9 bed-room has a own bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maya Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Hi,
i stayed here for 3 nights and I had a really good time.
The rooms get cleaned every day.
Its only 1 minute away from the beach.
The little pool is nice, with a waterfall.
The kitchen is amazing, there is everything you need to cook and eat a good dinner.
The staff is really nice and helpful.
There is a free busshuttle to every place in mission beach.
2 big flatscreen TVs with DVDs and playstation.
The atmosphere is nice, not too crowded and a good place to chill out.

not so good:
You have to pay for internet and wifi.
The beds are a little bit to soft for me.

I think it is one of the best and cheapest hostels in mission beach :)

Kind regards,
Stefan (Germany)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We loved this hostel. It rained the whole time we were here and we couldnt get phone signal but the hotel owner was so friendly and helpful it made our stay.

Everybody here was friendly and hung around watching films together and there was a playstation mainly the guys to play football games and racing games. The pool was clean and dont be put off from going in the sea if the weather is bad because the water is still warm.

Our room was clean, the aircon worked and the hostel was given a proper clean in the mornings. The showers were clean and worked well and there was plenty of space to hang out.

All the other hostels are not in mission beach this one defo has the best location and you get picked up and dropped off for the Grehound.

Room Tip: We had a three bed room which was a double bunk on bottom single on top. There was a double bed in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welltravelled23feme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mission Beach hotels
3.1 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
0.7 mi away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#3 of 23 in Mission Beach
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Jackaroo Treehouse Mission Beach
1.1 mi away
Driftwood Bed & Breakfast
Driftwood Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 11 in Mission Beach
99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Motel
Rainforest Motel
#5 of 23 in Mission Beach
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Beach Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Beach Retreat

Property: Mission Beach Retreat
Address: 49 Porter Prom, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Mission Beach
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mission Beach Retreat YHA, situated in the center of Mission Beach, is unlike any other hostel in the area. We are a family owned boutique backpacker hostel offering dorm share and private accommodation. We have a fully functioning tour desk with access to the best rates for all tours not only in Mission Beach but all along the east coast and across Australia. We have food and drink specials organised for guests at local bars/restaurants and have free activities of our own every day. We offer a relaxed, home-from-home style living with 14 kms of pristine Mission Beach Sand and great views at our back door. Rainforest/nature trails and walks start from our doorstop with amazing native wildlife all around us (such as the endangered cassowary). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Mission Beach Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing