We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hostel.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mission Beach Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mission Beach Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Clare
Level Contributor
358 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Nice hostel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

Postivies: Free pick up and drop off to the bus station. Very close to the beach. Nice common area. Ensuite rooms. Friendly staff. Drawbacks: Kitchen very small, no windows so always a lot of ants crawling over everything. We paid for a female dorm but late at night male staff members came into the room to sleep and left again in the morning without changing sheets. Only 1 plug socket in a room for 10 people.

Room Tip: Rooms are very basic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Voilareally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    51
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
4
39
58
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

This hostel is right in the heart of the "real" mission beach, only a few minutes walk from the beach, and a few minutes drive from some great forest walks. The new managers are friendly and personable and extremely helpful, with plenty of ideas if you need some inspiration. I stayed in a double room which was reasonably priced and a nice change from the dorms. Loved the open air kitchen, which was well equipped and clean. The environment is still recovering from Cyclone Yasi, but that's no reason not to visit - the beach is still beautiful, the forest is coming back, and the lack of crowds on the beach was refreshing. I found the whole area a refreshing change from the artificiality of Pt Douglas. Hope I can stay a lot longer next time!

Room Tip: The double and single rooms are excellent value if you want a break from a dorm
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ristari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Had an awesome time in Mission Beach, especially at the Retreat. Glad we stayed, the only hostel in the village, others are at another beach. Very Clean, Great facilities, Awesome Staff, everything really.Only small you meet everyone in 1 night.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julesevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulden, Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2011

I booked in here for 3 nights and ended up staying 7 mainly because Mission Beach is so relaxing you never want to leave. This is also the only hostel truly on Mission Beach the others are on the other end of town. The hostel has a great location literally takes you 3 minutes to walk onto the beach. Has a great fresh water pool for cooling off in and is right near small food store and eating out places. If you don't have a car you will be reliant on the hostel bus to get you to the big supermarket or marina for trips to Dunk but they are really helpful. Just tell them what you have planned and when and they will run you in. I couldn't get to Dunk as all ferries were booked so the hostel owner arranged for me and another person to be driven to nearby rainforest so we could go for a walk. Hostel owner is really friendly and more then happy to help out with anything if you ask. Accommodation looks a bit basic when you first arrive but it grows on you. Like a student flatshare right by beach. It is very, very laid back and communal areas are all open plan, nice tv area and big kitchen. I stayed in a 4 bed dorm right near the ensuite bathroom was even wardrobe in room. Air conditioning is bit primitive big unit in middle of room but you get used to it. Only gripe was needed more fridges and they could have done with good sort out only thing that didn't seem to be cleaned regularly. All in all if you want to feel completely relaxed and chill out with no airs and graces and get to see real Mission beach this is definitely the place to stay

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bettong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2010

Got put into a private room as the lady had made a mistake with the booking, which was tiny but a nice change from dorms! Bit of a bug problem, I found a spider in my bed one night and couldn't sleep after that. Bugs also in the kitchen which, being an open to air kitchen, is pretty inevitable. Overall the atmosphere was quite nice and friendly with it being such a small place. The location was really good- right next to the beach and in the middle of "town", if you could call it that. First hostel that I stayed at that recycles!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeccaH283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2010

I have mixed feeling about this place. On the one hand, it was very central (compared to the only other 2 hostels in Mission Beach), had a lovely communal area and a well equipped, clean kitchen. However, we were told that we'd be picked up from where our bus dropped us and we weren't; when we did get there we didn't have the room we'd booked, our room wasn't very nice compared to others we've stayed in and there was a very old, unsafe looking aircon unit. Also, the owner lady told us she often shuts the recption which is annoying if you want advice about trips or an internet card etc At times it was also like living wth your parents and there was only one bathroom which was often occupied. If you want something really quiet then go for this, otherwise I'd stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferAnneLockyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mission Beach hotels
3.1 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
0.7 mi away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#2 of 25 in Mission Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Motel
Rainforest Motel
#5 of 25 in Mission Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mission Beach Hideaway Holiday Village
Mission Beach Hideaway Holiday V...
#14 of 25 in Mission Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sejala on Mission Beach
Sejala on Mission Beach
#10 of 25 in Mission Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Beach Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Beach Retreat

Property: Mission Beach Retreat
Address: 49 Porter Prom, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Mission Beach
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mission Beach Retreat YHA, situated in the center of Mission Beach, is unlike any other hostel in the area. We are a family owned boutique backpacker hostel offering dorm share and private accommodation. We have a fully functioning tour desk with access to the best rates for all tours not only in Mission Beach but all along the east coast and across Australia. We have food and drink specials organised for guests at local bars/restaurants and have free activities of our own every day. We offer a relaxed, home-from-home style living with 14 kms of pristine Mission Beach Sand and great views at our back door. Rainforest/nature trails and walks start from our doorstop with amazing native wildlife all around us (such as the endangered cassowary). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Mission Beach Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing