We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DON'T BYPASS THIS VAN PARK, LOTS OF HISTORY HERE.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Possum Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Miles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Possum Park
Certificate of Excellence
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“DON'T BYPASS THIS VAN PARK, LOTS OF HISTORY HERE.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We booked a site for 2 nights, It was 20 klm out of town, the managers where polite and very helpful, This is a must Caravan park to book into it also has drive through sites, Please if your traveling Australia and you go to Miles travel that 20 klms to a relaxing stay.you will not be disappointed. Miles two caravan parks in town has closed there doors to Caravaners and have built cabins. Don't bypass Possum Park.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mauzie427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    30
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
18
38
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aussies in th Uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed overnight in one of the converted railway carriages. Nothing flash but very comfortable and enjoyable night with everything provided which made for a perfect stopover to break the trip from Brisbane to Emerald. Would like to try one of the bunkers next time just for the experience. If you are camping or in a van however could be very hot in summer as there is not much shade and the sites a quite close together. Owners and staff very friendly and accommodating. Very interesting place to stay with lots of Aust Army and WWII history. The stories around the campfire were an added bonus. If you are after some real qld bush hospitality then you'll enjoy Possum Park. If you are not travelling on the Leichhardt Highway then it is well worth making the 20km detour out of Miles to investigate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Adele Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed overnight in one of the bunkers. It was cosy, well appointed and private. Thoroughly recommended for couples or familys with everything including a fully appointed kitchen, car port and barbeque at very reasonable tariffs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Denis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winmalee NSW
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

very friendly (important!) : happy hour was good and surroundings a bit out the ordinary (hooray!). the powered sites were a bit close together and needed some grass between the gravel or just a little strewn around anywhere would have been nice. good to have drive through sites bit we felt a little temporary somehow. not enough water pressure. but overall a worthwhile experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crochetkerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherokee, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

I spent several days here in one of the converted bunkers. It was lovely. Peace and quiet was just what I needed. There was a parking spot for my vehicle and a barby for cooking some steaks.

Not the Four Seasons or the Burj Dubai but it had a sense of being home. Like I was staying at a friend's place while they were away for a few days. Just bring your own food and drink.

I would have stayed much longer but I wanted to see more of the Outback.

While there a Roo hopped right past me. A strange thumping noise and then he/she hopped on by. You won't see that in town.

Went fishing and managed to finally catch a yabby (crawfish). The calls of the parrots and other birds were amazing.

For the history student there is even a museum on the grounds. The history of the bunkers is quite a tale and the details of how they refurbish the bunkers is an education too.

Not for everybody but it was one of the highlights of my trip. A diamond in the rough.

Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank Allen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

Although it is about 20 km from Miles, it is worth the drive. Out in the bush setting are a range of accommodations - self contained train carriages, old WWII ammunition bunkers refurbished as self contained apartments, a large bunker for larger groups and a tidy camping and caravan area. A campfire is lit each afternoon for guests to sit around and share stories and have a coffee or other drinks.
The staff were most helpful and polite and gave us good information on eating places in Miles. We ate both nights at the Queensland Hotel where the food was good. There were some cheaper, "special" meals and full priced pub food. The Angus rumps were great and the chips and salad plentiful and hot.

Room Tip: So much to choose from. Choose your own style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ferrri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miles hotels
11.9 mi away
Quality Inn Swagsman Miles
11.9 mi away
Miles Outback Motel
Miles Outback Motel
#3 of 7 in Miles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
12.2 mi away
Starline Motor Inn
Starline Motor Inn
#2 of 7 in Miles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Western Downs Motor Inn
12.1 mi away
Miles Windsor Hotel Motel
12.1 mi away
Golden West Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Possum Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Possum Park

Property: Possum Park
Address: 36865 Leichhardt Highway, Miles, Queensland 4415, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Miles
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Miles
Number of rooms: 39

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing