We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable, enjoyable and friendly.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Maroochy River Resort & Bungalows
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We were here with 3 children for a 40th birthday weekend. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. The rooms were basic but were clean and suited young children. The sporting equipment was very cheap to hire. The only negative was that the communal iron was terrible!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curryn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim M, Owner at Maroochy River Resort & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Curryn01,

Thank you for taking the time to post an honest review of our little hideaway. Our aim is to be the friendliest 3 star holiday resort on the Sunshine Coast and your comments suggest we are on the right track. The team will be very pleased to hear that you found them friendly and helpful.

The single kayaks are $5 per half hour and offer loads of fun for the children and tire them out and help them sleep well. Good old fashioned fun for the family.

Thank you so much for telling us about the iron. We are pleased to let you know that it has since been replaced so others do not have such an experience. For future, there is a second laundry onsite also with communal iron and board.

As you were there as part of a group it is possible that you didnt know much about the accommodation before you came. The 1 bedroom bungalows are the most basic, but they are the best for family groups wanting to be close together around a central bbq area. The other end of the spectrum are our 2 bedroom superior duplex villas. They have been more recently renovated and much more modern and stylish. In between are several other options which you can see on our website should you wish to return.

If you wish to return in the near future we are currently offering a 10% discount off our standard rates to returning guests who book direct with the girls in the office. Be sure to tell the girls when you last stayed and they will be sure to get you the best deal possible.

We look forward to seeing you here on the Sunshine Coast again sometime very soon.

Kind regards,
Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 76 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013

we stayed in a waterfront cottage with two teenagers for three nights. Cottages were very old and basic, but clean. The position on the creek was lovely. We could see the traffic across the water but it didn't bother us. The staff at the reception/shop were wonderful and very helpful and friendly, giving us good information about what to do and where to go in the area. I could see it would be a good place for families in the school holidays when the weather is a bit warmer as the water is calm and perfect for boating, fishing etc, joining up to larger rivers. It is also centrally located between Noosa and Brisbane, with easy access to the mountains and all it's lovely villages and scenery.

Room Tip: pick a waterfront cabin for the outlook and closeness to water activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mumofsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim M, Owner at Maroochy River Resort & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Mumofsix,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. It is very much appreciated.

We offer 2 types of waterfront units... these being the very basic 1 bedroom bungalows, and the larger 2 bedroom cabins. Both will accommodate up to 2 adults & 3 children. All of them are offer affordable holiday or relocation options. Our best units are the 2 bedroom superior units which are more recently renovated and hence more modern and stylish. We hope you were able to see the differences based on our website descriptions and chose the room type that suited your budget accordingly.

We are delighted to hear your wonderful comments about the reception/shop staff. They will be very pleased to hear your comments. We aim to be the friendliest 3 star holiday resort.on the Sunshine Coast. Your comments show that we are on the right track.

Thanks again for your time and effort in ensuring people get what they expect to get. We are not glam, and do not pretend to be, but that doesnt mean you cant have a great time. We offer friendly tranditional holidays like they used to be. Simple, friendly and you get to go home relaxed. We hope to see you here again sometime soon.

And.... dont forget we are currently offering 10% off our standard rates for returning guests who book direct with the girls in the office. So, be sure to mention when you stayed last time. Enjoy planning your next trip.

Kind regards,
Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed for the weekend and although the accommodation is quite basic the price is good and the grounds are very well maintained. The complex has a vegetable and herb garden that you can help yourself to which is quite unique and lovely. The complex has wifi bit it is very unreliable and drops out frequently. The staff are very friendly and helpful with all requests. The place is ideal for couples or families with boats as you can anchor the boat right at the front of the waterfront units and there are other water actives for kids. The feel of the place is more like a caravan park cabin village. Overall a lovely relaxing yet basic type of accommodation at reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Avoid the Pub that is about 300 meters up the road. Food and service are very average.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nessie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim M, Owner at Maroochy River Resort & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Nessie007,

Thank you for taking the time to post your honest review. We offer several different room types, with teh 1 bedroom tropical bungalows being the most basic and most affordable in the complex. The most modern and stylish are the 2 bedroom superior duplex villas, and there are several other room types in between. We are very pleased that they offered you value for money for the room type you selected.

Our team were awarded a position of Finalist in teh Sunshine Coast Glossie awards for their edible gardens. The team are very proud to be able to produce and share an array of vegetables, herbs and sometimes fruits, with guests and their visitors. Your feedback will be well received.

Unfortunately the wifi is not the best with all operating systems despite what feels like numerous attempts at trying to make it fit all. We are now trialling a new system where you can hire a wifi dongle. What do you think? Would that be a good solution?

We aim to be the friendliest 3 star holiday resort on the Sunshine Coast so we very much appreciate your kind words about the staff being friendly and helpful with all requests. They will be very pleased with that feedback.

You are absolutely correct that people with boats definitely love the complex and come back time and again. Fishing clubs and (responsible) jetski clubs are also fans of the resort.

What we offer is really like a glimpse back in time, to holidays as they used to be. Simple wholesome activities for the whole family in a relaxing non stress environment. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

And...... Don't forget to mention that you have stayed before when making your next booking direct with the girls at the office. We are currently offering 10% to guests on a return visit to the resort.

Warm regards,
Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was a neat little bungalow, real close to the river ( bout 20 feet). Very dated decor and basic but then thats what we paid for really. So this is not a complaint. Just highlighting that if you want posh expect to pay alot more for your accommodation. The staff were lovely and very helpful. Surroundings were beautiful, and they have edible gardens for you to help your self to!!!
would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim M, Owner at Maroochy River Resort & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Julie W,

It was a pleasure to read your post and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Yes, the 1 bedroom bungalows are not "modern" and are dated in terms of furniture and bathrooms. We do take every effort however to ensure that they are well maintained and clean. Other room types (ie the Superior duplex villas) are the largest and most modern and stylish. Prices vary accordingly as we hope you would have seen on our website.

We are of course delighted that you found the staff to be lovely and very helpful as aim to be the friendliest 3 star holiday resort on the Sunshine Coast.

Thank you for taking the time to post your hones review and I hope that we will have the pooportunity to welcome you and your family back to the Sunshine Coast for another memorable and affordable holiday.

Warm regards,
Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We came for a weekend getaway as two couples and found this to be the perfect spot. Close to maroochydore in the car and great value. We were in a cabin away from the water where cabins are quite crowded in but this did not have a negative impact on our stay.
The cabin was clean with plenty of room for 2 couples to relax and cooking facilities better than expected with full stand alone oven, microwave and fridge.
The recreation facilities and hire equipment were great value for money with the only disappointment being that you must stay within view of the bungalows in the inlet area which was fine for me but my adventurous husband felt a little restricted. We had hoped to hire a couple of paddle boats between us but there is only one available and only one stand up paddle board. This did not ruin our fun and we just worked around it. It may be a bit of an issue if there is a big group wanting equipment at the same time.
Staff were very friendly and accommodating, making us all feel very welcome.
Only small issue was that we were only allowed one key for the cabin which meant that we had to come and go at the same time. Again not a big problem and easily managed between us.
We all left feeling happy and relaxed after a fun weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for a riverfront bungalow if you want to be on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katiejacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim M, Owner at Maroochy River Resort & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Katiejacks,

We are very pleased that you had a wonderful time on the Sunshine Coast and that we were able to assist in helping you and your friends to relax and unwind. The fact that the cabin exceeded your expectations regarding cooking facilities is wonderful to hear.

Our watercraft are only $5 per 30 minutes (single) and we do keep this low to be affordable for everyone. It is unfortunate that the use of craft is restricted to the bay area however we see this as far safer for the children and far more relaxing for the parents when they know that out of the bay is out of bounds. As we dont want children unthinkingly following others, we make the rule apply to everyone at this stage. We would be interested to know how this could be safely managed in a different way if the interest was there.

Thank you for the kind words about the friendliness and helpfullness of the staff. The team make every effort to be helpful whereever possible and your feedback will be ver rewarding to them. A second key is usually available on request so I am surprised that it was not possible for you. Of course, things do happen and keys break, and therefore occasionally there are a few days where this is not always possible.

Thank you for taking the time to post your honest review and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Sunshine Coast for another refreshing break.

Do remember that we are currently offering a 10% discount off our standard rates to repeat guests when booking direct with the girls in the office. Please be sure to say youhave been here before when you call to enquire. The girls will do everything possible to give you the best deal.

Warm regards,
Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

After a very long year, we looked so forward to our week holiday and I have to say Maroochy River Resort and Bungalows did not dissapoint. Children had a blast, two bedroom accommodation was great (especially with the aircon ;). The kids could not get enough of the different activities available and looked forward to everything that was on offer from the kayaks, paddle boats and kids club that included the funballz which was awesome.

Thanks for a wonderful time!
Adri van Rensburg

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdrivanR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim M, Owner at Maroochy River Resort & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Adri,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our little hideaway on the Sunshine Coast. We are very glad that you and your family enjoyed the simple wholesome, family activity lifestyle that we try so hard to offer.

Please remember that we are currently offering a 10% discount to visitors who come back to stay with us, so please make sure you say you have stayed before when making your next booking direct with the girls at the office. They will be very happy to ensure you get the best deal possible.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warm regards,
Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Great accommodation,friendly staff great fun activities for both adults and the kids.Great location.For those looking to take it slow and easy or the more adventitious there is something for everyone.Was a spur of the moment booking and wow what a great weekend we had.To all the staff a big thank you and see you real soon.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peachy1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim M, Owner at Maroochy River Resort & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Peachy 1975,
Thank you for your review. Its lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay so much and I'm glad to see you managed to take advantage of some of our Kid's Holiday Program activities.
We hope to see you again soon!
Kind regards
Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maroochydore
3.4 mi away
The Sebel Maroochydore
The Sebel Maroochydore
#1 of 12 in Maroochydore
393 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gateway Lifestyle Maroochy
Gateway Lifestyle Maroochy
#25 of 44 in Maroochydore
102 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pacific Paradise Motel
Pacific Paradise Motel
#1 of 1 in Pacific Paradise
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Maroochydore Beach Motel
Maroochydore Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Maroochydore
165 reviews
3.3 mi away
Catalina Resort
Catalina Resort
#18 of 44 in Maroochydore
115 reviews
2.4 mi away
Top Spot Motel
Top Spot Motel
#8 of 12 in Maroochydore
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maroochy River Resort & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maroochy River Resort & Bungalows

Address: 38 - 46 David Low Way, Maroochydore, Queensland 4558, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Maroochydore
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Maroochydore
Price Range: $100 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maroochy River Resort & Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the edge of Eudlo Creek just off the Maroochy River, Maroochy River Resort & Bungalows offers comfortable 3 star self-catering accommodation suitable for singles, couples and families. Close to all attractions and with hire services available for an abundance of water activities, this tropical setting is the perfect base to experience Maroochydore from. You’re guaranteed the perfect retreat within the heart of the beautiful Sunshine Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maroochy River Resort & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing