We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food, lovely people”

Cala Luna Italian Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 207 Restaurants in Maroochydore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $29
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: 1st floor -Beachfront Towers Osvaldo and Rita welcome you to Cala Luna meaning Moon Bay. We want to share with you our joint families' regional cooking. Osvaldo from the Island of Sardegna and Rita's family from Veneto and Friuli. We look forward to making your evening with us an enjoyable one. Grazie e Buon Appetito
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely food, lovely people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

I chose this restaurant based on other TripAdvisor reviews, and was glad I did! The service we received was fantastic, especially towards our 2 year old who doesn't display much patience when out to dinner.

Provided with colouring in pencils and a special kids menu, this bought us an hour of peace to enjoy this surprising light yet tasty Italian fare. Perfect carbo loading food before the Sunshine Coast half marathon!

Make sure you book though - it was fully booked when we rang (we ate nice and early so snagged a table that way)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    51
    13
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Cala Luna was recommended by friends who live in Buderim. We were in QLD on holiday. Luckily we made a booking as it was very busy. There were three large groups so it was a bit noisy however the food we had was amazing. This was possibly some of the best Italian food I have had in a long time. The ingredients were super fresh and this was reflected in the flavour. The staff were very friendly and we had a lovely evening. We would recommend Cala Luna to friends.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tanya_liddell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Could have been better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We used the takeaway facility at Cala Luna and were looking forward to an interesting Italian meal. My wife had the seafood marina which was quite good but my duck cannelloni was an unmitigated disappointment. The meal was stodgy, the duck minced and unrecognizable by taste or texturein the sauce in which the food was drenched. It would be better if the duck was sliced. Perhaps the chefs could revisit this dish and reconsider.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellingWilburies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Definitely a hidden gem of the Sunshine Coast. I have driven past 100s of times and didn't know it existed. It is a family run restaurant, and the staff are great. Food was amazing with lots of different meals from ordinary Italian recipes.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jjeennzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Lovely food with great serving sizes. Very friendly staff. Decor is dated but other positives make up for this. Recommend the lamb racks!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank mummybrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cala Luna Italian Restaurant also viewed

Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
 
Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Cala Luna Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing