We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A family surprise!”
Review of Mulu Char Steakhouse - CLOSED

Mulu Char Steakhouse
Price range: $14 - $59
Cuisines: African, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Sunshine Coast's waterfront steakhouse. Maroochydore CBD, superior venue, views of the river & live entertainment. Mulu Char brings together influences of Africa with the freshest & finest ingredients using local produce. The grill, centerpiece of the menu with superior prime cuts of meat, we cater for all tastes with a selection of seafood, chicken, vegetarian, gluten-free & African specialties. Feel immersed in the spirit of Africa surrounded by artwork, original artifacts & African music.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A family surprise!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

With a party of 8 we couldn't get in to our restaurant of choice so we ventured to Mulu Char. A bit of a risk with 4 (near)vegetarians. Food was very good and plentiful. my son had the steak and ribs that would have fed an entire Village! Veggie meals were great. Highlight was the soft shell crab. We sat outside near the river which was really lovely.

Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    19
    14
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“All-round excellent restaurant”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I went here with my partner for my birthday dinner. We didn't have a booking, but did not have a problem getting a table. I had a delicious peach margherita and the bread to begin with. The bread was to die for, very fresh and tasty. For mains, I had the pork and chicken combo which was huge and tasty, but the pork was a bit chewy. My partner had the eye fillet which he enjoyed. Unfortunately, we could not fit in dessert. The restaurant has a great look about it and is very well presented and clean. The service was excellent as well. Although a bit pricey, I would recommend this restaurant for special occasions and would definitely go back. Had a great night!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oscar2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent romantic dining experience”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We chose Mulu Char for our Valentines Day dinner. The restaurant, atmosphere and location were all very intimate, classy and romantic. The service and presentation of meals was excellent. We had the Cape Malay Lamb Curry - the presentation was lovely and interesting mix of ingredients made it a distinctly different, but very tasty meal. We also had the steak - the green bean salad and chips were delicious, the steak was very tender but cooled quite quickly so unfortunately ate cold and it was chewy. Highly recommend this beautifully presented restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mac255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Valentines Day Disappointment”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Cocktail list great, though my Pina Colada was very watery and tall (only included one shot) so not much taste.
Entree was tiny for almost $20, Pork Belly wasn't melt in mouth it was more like chewy crackling with limited sauce (which was the best part)
Mains were okay, chose Medium because of their recommendations and it was well done, nice chips and mushroom sauce. I picked the beetroot salad and was very disappointed when I got baby beets from a TIN! $40 a meal, you should not receive anything from a tin.
Would have liked another drink/dessert but had already spent over $100 and didn't want to waste anymore money on okay food.
Wouldn't return. The best part about this place is the staff, really nice girl who served us. Though not much ambiance especially on a romantic night out they could put a little more effort in.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Madison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Walked past the pub looking for restaurant open on a Sunday and this was what we found.
We had the 300 gr rump, we asked for medium rare, per their description, and it came out well cooked. 2 out of 3 were very sinewy. The garlic and Parmesan mash tasted like it was chilli mash.
The salmon was nice.
The service was very slow, we gave up on ordering desert or coffees.
They didn't have the beers or wine we tried to order from the wine list.
Definitely wont be back and wouldn't recommend it, go the pub instead!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank makena35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mulu Char Steakhouse also viewed

Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
 
Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
 
Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing