We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, a little bit overpriced” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cherry Blossom Tree

Cherry Blossom Tree
Ranked #83 of 206 Restaurants in Maroochydore
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, a little bit overpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Always love coming here for lunch. The food is always fresh and tasty.
I love the Sushi Train and the atmosphere. Great variety of Sushi. Always busy there.
See you again, you guys do a great Job.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rainbow101136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    25
    15
    16
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maroochydore, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sushi train”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

A great way to spend 2 hours just eating sushi, watch the sushi train and watch a great variety od sushi go by

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Henk V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good and fresh sushi, but very poor service...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We are big fan of fresh sushi and go to Cherry Blossom Tree for average of every week for a quick & fresh sushi during lunch break. We love sushi but the genuine ones and Cherry Blossom offers most of them. But today it was awful, as my friends kept 2 seats for us and waited for over 10 minutes. They were told off in a very rude way, as were also told that the RULES of the restaurant are not to be kept seat free at all... Now I understand that for the sake of business to not keeping free the seats for too long, but there are respectful and kind ways of explaining this to clients I think. One of the waitresses was very rude and there is no excuse to be rude to clients or anyone walking in the restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mbodesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Manager at Cherry Blossom Tree, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We are sorry that you thought we were rude to you, we didn't mean to be on purpose, as you know we were very busy at that time and you knew there already customers waiting at the entrance to get a seat, so the general rule of first come first sit down. Hopefully you can understand our dilemma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“beware”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

The food was varying in quality. The sushi rolls were good, the soup was very good, and the gyozas were just right, but the tempura was oily and the dipping dish was ridiculously small.

Service was ok.

However, my gripe is the prices on their menus are more expensive that their website, and they didn't show us the sushi menu (patrons can take sushi plates off the conveyor belt), just the restaurant menu, which only offers their most expensive plates.

All in all, I wasn't satisfied, and couldn't shake the feeling I had been gypped by some small town hustlers. A tourist trap, methinks?

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank porotodean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Manager at Cherry Blossom Tree, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thankyou for your Review. We are sorry you feel that way, but just a few points to clarify.

At the Sunshine Plaza store, the Sushi menu is in the "Restaurant Menu", there are pictures at the back and prices in the front of the Menu

At the Mooloolaba store, the Sushi menu is a Separate Menu that is either already on the table or is given to the customer.

As for the website, it is in the process of being updated, sorry for the inconvenience.

Regards,
Cherry Blossom Tree Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunschweig, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“for sushi lovers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

we really love sushi and to take it from the train is great! It is freshly made and also the great variety in the menue is good!
you also get free refills of tea if you like
try the cherry blossom tree special roll for around $17, its worth it! it is soooo good! hahaha

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Volker Erika W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Manager at Cherry Blossom Tree, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thanks for the review, we appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cherry Blossom Tree also viewed

 
Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
Mooloolaba, Sunshine Coast
 
Bli Bli, Sunshine Coast
Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Cherry Blossom Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing