We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Catalina Resort
Nearby Hotels
Top Spot Motel(Maroochydore)(Great Value!)
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Rivershore Resort(Maroochydore)
$260
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunshine Towers(Maroochydore)(Great Value!)
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maroochydore Beach Motel(Maroochydore)(Great Value!)
$91
$85
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wunpalm Motel & Holiday Cabins(Maroochydore)(Great Value!)
$85
$82
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camargue Beachfront Apartments(Maroochydore)(Great Value!)
$169
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Aqua Vista Resort(Maroochydore)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Argyle On The Park(Maroochydore)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveler rating
49
37
16
9
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
37
16
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshort walksurf clubair conbedroom apartmentcotton treeteenage childrensixth avethe kitchenconstruction sitelounge roomwear and tearreception staff arevisitor parkingmain bedrooma great family holidaymaroochydore beachgood size
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 119 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2018

We are locals and decided to take our teenage children away for the weekend for a bit of a surprise. We stayed on the 12th floor. View at the front straight onto the ocean and from the back, magical views of Cotton Tree and the river.
The weather was average (can't be controlled) but the resort was fabulous. Newly renovated pool area, including brand new sauna, BBQ area with seating for groups, under cover (we had a great pool side BBQ) there is ping pong, tennis court and pool table. You are directly opposite Maroochydore beach and a 2 minute stroll to Maroochydore Surf Club, who do a great bistro feed. On the Saturday night we left the kids at the resort and headed to the Boat Shed. We did the markets on Sunday morning and our eldest son was loving the close proximity to Ocean Street (Bar/night club area.) We'll be back again. Reasonably priced for a 3 bedroom apartment, with spa in en suite. Very impressed!

Room Tip: Catalina One is the newly renovated tower, although Catalina Two looked good also. They are inter connected.
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank davbro95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaManagers, Front Office Manager at Catalina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Hello davbro95,

Thank so much for the time you have taken to review not only Catalina Resort but our beautiful Cotton Tree/Maroochydore area, we couldn't agree with you more - what stunning views, we are so luck to have them.

The body corporate and owners have gone to great length to with the property renovation and so pleased to hear everyone is enjoying the wonderful grounds and refreshed pool and BBQ areas.

We loved having you stay and hope to see you in the near future, again thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2018

Good location, back from the beach but just a short walk. We were on the 11th Floor of Catalina II so magic views to the estuary and the beach. It was a well appointed 3 bedroom unit with air con which it turned out we didn't need with a cooler change. Very clean. Furniture comfortable. TV. Not sure if internet was available as we didn't need it for our 2 night stay cos we were out most of the time. Our unit had a very difficult carpark to get in and out of but that's my only criticism. Staff at check in were very friendly and helpful. There is a lift and visitor parking area. Only a short walk to the shopping precinct. I will definitely stay here again. If you are staying for a long stay I would suggest bringing some kitchen knives etc.

Room Tip: North corner units have best views
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bronniemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaManagers, Front Office Manager at Catalina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2018

Hello Bronniemac,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback, it was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to having you stay again. I will have our Housekeeping team look into the quantity and sharpness of the knives for future guests.
Thank you for the feedback regarding the staff, I will be sure to pass this on to the front off team.
Please be sure to contact the reception staff when making your next booking, we proudly offer the best available rates.

Regards
Team Catalina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2018 via mobile

This resort is not the place if you want to relax. Noise is an issue -both from guests drinking on balconies til the early hours and then the fitness group at dawn.
We were staying for a relaxing long weekend only to have some selfish fitness group yelling and exercising loudly at 6am on the public holiday. Where is the manager? Who condones this behaviour? There is a gym - close the doors and exercise inside or if you want outside - go to the beach! 7am is early enough but 6 is plain rude.

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
Thank MEC001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaManagers, Front Office Manager at Catalina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2018

Hello MEC001,

Thank you for advising us of the neighboring business noise levels. The business owners and partners were approached and have sincerely apologised for the inconvenience, this was a one off type class run on that day unfortunately. I am assured this will not happen again and trust our strong working relationship around shared grounds remain harmonious moving forward.

Reagards
Team Catalina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2017 via mobile

We stayed two nights in Tower 1 in a room without AirConditioning. We knew this when we booked, however we didn’t realise the room would be of an average standard.

The resort has been revitalised and the common areas are very well presented but our overall impression lessened when we stepped into the room. The room is an older style and not worth the rate charged.

We did enjoy the pools and spas. Check in and out was courteous and friendly.

None the less, we enjoyed our stay and let me emphasise the ocean and beach view was just fabulous.

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank surfoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaManagers, Front Office Manager at Catalina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2018

Hello Surfoz,

Thank you for the time to review your recent stay at Catalina Resort. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the recent renovations that took place in Catalina I and the renewed facilities. As you mentioned we do advertise Catalina I as a non air conditioned building along with the older decor as the units are individually owned they can vary as to the amount of internal upgrades undertaken. I will be pleased to pass on your kind word regarding our friendly and helpful reception staff.

Regards
Team Catalina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2017

Spent 7 nights in a 2 bedroom/bathroom unit on level 9 of Catalina Tower 2. The view from the balcony north and south was just a delight to see each morning. Location is very good, short walk to the beach and surf club. Within the block was a coffee shop, Japanese,Thai and fish and chips. The unit was clean and tidy , showers were hot, air con in main bedroom and lounge room.

Room Tip: Higher level, we were on level 9 to get the full ocean views and sea breezes
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaManagers, Front Office Manager at Catalina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2018

Hello Christine,

Great to hear your Christmas Holidays with us at Catalina Resort met your expectations.
How are those views..nothing short of delightful.
We certainly appreciate our fantastic location with a wonderful selection of locally owned shops, cafes and restaurants to choose from along with such close proximity to the beach and Maroochydore Surf Club.
Please be sure to give us a call when you next plan to visit we would like nothing more than to help with your booking and needs.

Regards
Team Catalina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews