We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views”
Review of Catalina Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Catalina Resort
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great views”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I recently stayed at Catalina 1 and was very impressed. The reception staff are helpful and professional. With windows the entire length of the apartment the view looking out to sea was spectacular. Even more impressive was the sound of the surf as I drifted off to sleep. Very calming indeed. With the sun rising early in the east I did find the curtains in the bedroom a little on the thin side. The apartment was clean, spacious, and fitted out with everything you could need to enjoy your holiday. Sixth Avenue is a very quiet area to stay and well located to everything.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rubydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    36
    14
    8
    7
See reviews for
58
25
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cairns
2 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My Wife, my two little girls and I had a great stay at Catalina recently in September. Spectacular views of the Beaches from the Balcony, and huge windows facing the Hills inland, just great to sit with a cold beer and enjoy the view. Only a minute or twos walk to the Beach near the Maroochy Surf Club, down a laneway from the Resort, provided safe, patrolled swimming, very reassuring with little kids. We requested if any rooms were available up high, the Staff were only too accomodating, they put us on the top floor! We were impressed from the start. The Apartment was clean, spacious, and had everything we needed. Downstairs, you have the Swimming Pool, Tennis Court, Gym, etc, Catalina had all we needed. Very close to Restaurants and Shops. The 3 nights we stayed there wasn't long enough, so we will be back again.

Room Tip: The higher you are, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We have stayed at Catalina 2 before and love staying here. We (2 adults, 1 eleven year old son) have just returned from nearly a week there and stayed in Unit 90, which was just lovely. The area is great - just a short walk to Cotton Tree where there is a convenience store, coffee shops, newsagent etc and a short drive (only a couple of mins) to the excellent shopping centre, Sizzlers, Zarraffas, KFC, McDonalds, lovely RSL and heaps more. Sixth Avenue is a lovely quiet area to stay but so handy to everything.

Room Tip: There are 2 towers, Catalina 2 is the newer one, the other tower is probably a bit dated. We stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This was the first time we had stayed at Catalina although other members of our family had recommended it. We were in Cat 2 which the apartments are all air conditioned. We had a 3 bedroom which was very spacious and my only complaint would be that the lounge room only had one sofa (which was a bit tired) and two not very comfy tub chairs but for the price it was fine. Complex was very clean and management were very obliging in giving us 2 secure carparks which was great as we walked everywhere. The shops at Cotton Tree are just up the road and if you want a special night out I recommend The Boat Shed for dinner - It was superb.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HillviewCottages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanthorpe, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have stayed at Catalina a few times now and we are never disappointed. It is tucked away in a quiet spot and yet it is close to the beach, eateries and shops. The rooms are well layed out (3 bedroom apartment), clean and comfortable with plenty of room for the kids. The views are great! The pools and spas are warm! All at a great price. What more could you want for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glenalicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2012

we recently stayed at catalina resort tower two with our 2 teenage children and my mother in law.
we stayed in a 3 bedroom ground floor unit and it was brilliant. my mother in law had easy access to the pool and a short walk across to the beach. our 2 boys could come and go as they pleased through the back door which opened onto a small patio area. very clean and comfortable.
we would happily stay again.
jane

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is our tenth visit to the Catalina. What draws us each time are the views, the scenary and the variety of activities within close proximity. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and have every available thing you will need for your stay. It has kitchen facilities however who would want to cook when you can order in or, stroll down to any of the many local cuisines. The hotel is very central to everything. They have beautiful bbq and pool area and the beach is a stones throw away. Awesome place for families or couples alike. We will be back soon so always leave a spot open for us!

Room Tip: The higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maroochydore
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Maroochydore
The Sebel Maroochydore
#1 of 13 in Maroochydore
363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Royale Beach Resort
Chateau Royale Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Maroochydore
112 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rovera Apartments Cotton Tree
Rovera Apartments Cotton Tree
#4 of 43 in Maroochydore
82 reviews
0.3 mi away
Argyle On The Park
Argyle On The Park
#10 of 43 in Maroochydore
101 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Burlington
The Burlington
#30 of 43 in Maroochydore
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Resort

Property: Catalina Resort
Address: Catalina Resort 47 Sixth Ave, Maroochydore, Queensland 4558, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Maroochydore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Maroochydore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalina Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated next to the Maroochydore Beach on the Sunshine Coast, Australia, Catalina Resort holiday apartments offer stylishly appointed and fully self-contained, serviced, one, two and three bed-roomed apartments as well as studio apartments. All apartments except the studios have spa baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Catalina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing