We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suzan S "Super View & fantastic Location"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Waves Maroochy River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We had a 10 day stay at Waves Maroochydore recently, what can I say but excellent!. the management could not do enough for us and were super friendly. the accommodation is by far the best we have stayed in with everything you could possibly need and the views are to die for. The location was very good, walking distance to shops, restaurants & beaches also just a short drive to many attractions in and around the area. We highly reccomend Waves and will be back in the future.

Room Tip: All rooms reccomended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Suzan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 163 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2014

We as a family of three stayed six nights at the Waves in July and were extremely impressed not only with a fantastic view but also the quality of the accommodation. We were in a 2 bedroom two bathroom unit on the seven floor and could not ask for a better self contained area everything we needed was there and very clean and very tidy. A Woolworths supermarket was just across the road and the Sunshine Plaza Shopping centre was only a few minutes further walk, also plenty of good restaurants within easy walking distance. A lot has already been written about the view and all I can say is they are all true - absolutely fantastic and ever changing with the tides.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Everyone pays extra for an ocean view. But this is better, across river, sandbars, trees, boats etc. Much more interesting and ever changing. Large, quality apartment. Fantastic location, walk to shops, restaraunts, beach. Loved it. Did not want to leave.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon4655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

We keep coming back to waves after staying in many different hotels around maroochydore/ mooloolahba and never having a comparable view (constantly changing with the tides and multitude of activities that occur along the inlet and beach) and proximity to shops/ beach/ restaurants. The bedrooms and bathrooms are well proportioned and laid out although it is a struggle to fit the extra bed comfortably if you have more people than unit set out (mostly due to light from glass walls). We have had issues with air conditioning a few times (in the context of many stays) but staff have always been more than happy to sort it out asap. Every unit has different decor but always neat and attractive. Every floor offers different charm as a different perspective of the view but all are well designed to make the most of the very beautiful location.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greethmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed 4 nights at Waves on the 8th level. The apartment was great, it had everything we needed, the views gorgeous and we loved the private jetty as it meant we didn't have to drive anywhere to go fishing. The only major issue we had was the bed, it was quite small - I think a double - and very uncomfortable, both my husband (who very rarely gets back pain) and I went home with very sore backs, which was quite upsetting since I spent $120 on a massage during my holiday! For the price of the apartment ($230/night), I would expect at least a queen size bed and a comfortable one at that. If the beds were improved we would definitely come back, and would most likely stay there every time we came to the coast.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Lovely spacious apartment with a spectacular view. Clean, quiet, well equipped self contained apartment. Complex has a nice pool and barbeque area and a gym. Gorgeous view over the river estuary. Near to shops and restaurants, walks and kayaking and beach. Only negative is that the bed was hard.

Room Tip: all the rooms have the same lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrisday_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The Waves did not disappoint as the intention was have a relaxing one week break. A two bedroom apartment on a higher level was requested, which allowed some extra space. As previous reviewers indicated, the view over the Maroochy River is spectacular but at the same time very restful too.
The apartment has a spacious living area with large TV, including pay channels. WiFi access is a bit expensive at $A35 per week. If you just want to check your emails I suggest going to Mikkis café next door for the free WiFi, as well as enjoying the nice food. The main bedroom also has a view over the river. At the back of this bedroom is an ensuite bathroom and walk in wardrobe. The wardrobe could have had more clothes hangers, and the bed linen used for the first few nights was a bit thin, however there was apartment service mid-week and this linen was replaced with better quality sheets. At the rear of the apartment is a laundry, another bedroom and an additional shower and toilet. The kitchen is well equipped for self-catering with complementary tea and coffee provided.
A car park is available for each unit and access is via the basement. On the ground floor there is a swimming pool which is ideal in the summer weather as well as a gym equipped with a treadmill, bike and rowing machine as well as a bench press/weights centre. Books and DVDs are available to borrow from the main office.
Waves is located close to many good restaurants including the Boat Shed at Cotton Tree. In addition there is a Woolworths supermarket, newsagent and the Sunshine Plaza shopping centre is just a short walk away.

Room Tip: Request a higher level room, for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irishkiwi_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maroochydore
0.9 mi away
The Sebel Maroochydore
The Sebel Maroochydore
#1 of 12 in Maroochydore
393 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
M1 Resort
M1 Resort
#5 of 12 in Maroochydore
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Chateau Royale Beach Resort
Chateau Royale Beach Resort
#2 of 12 in Maroochydore
117 reviews
1.1 mi away
Oaks Seaforth Resort
Oaks Seaforth Resort
#1 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
619 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Duporth Riverside Apartments
The Duporth Riverside Apartments
#15 of 44 in Maroochydore
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waves Maroochy River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves Maroochy River

Address: Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast, Queensland 36-38 Duporth Ave, Maroochydore, Queensland 4558, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Maroochydore
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Maroochydore
Price Range: $234 - $703 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waves Maroochy River 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waves Maroochy River is located right on the river mouth opposite the Ocean Street dining precinct. As Waves Maroochy River is one of the closest resorts to Sunshine Plaza and with the Big Top Market Fresh directly across the road, you really will be spoilt for options when it comes to shopping or dining out. Access to the river is via our own private jetty or if the beach is more your thing, a short stroll along the river through Cotton Tree Park will find you at our very own Maroochydore Beach. Our complex of 1,2 or 3 bedroom fully self-contained self-catered apartments is complete with a resort style heated pool, spa and separate kids wading pool. Selected ground floor and penthouse apartments also offer their own private Jacuzzi and outdoor kitchen complete with gas bbq. An onsite gymnasium is also available to all our guests. Parking is provided in our secure underground basement with security controlled lift access to each level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waves Maroochy River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing