We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“take-away section”

The Boat Shed Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 212 Restaurants in Maroochydore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“take-away section”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

great, quick and friendly service. food was good quality and yummy. Would go back again. great location in walking distance from where we were staying. nice walk along river front

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    384
    271
    93
    43
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service with great water views”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed at Maroochydore for a week, and one day while out for a walk came across this restaurant overlooking the water at Cotton Tree. It used to be on old boat shed and has been very carefully converted to a very relaxing venue with a casual feeling overlooking the Maroochy River.
My wife and I regard the meal here as our highlight of the week. We could not fault anything about this restaurant.
We had some questions about the menu and the waitress was just so friendly and informative we were made to feel like we were their best customers. A great start.
Too many great choices on the menu, so we had 2 entrees each, and then shared a desert.
Wow! Food quality was exceptional. And the serving sizes were quite generous.
We took a bottle of wine and the waitress apologised that they had to charge a corkage fee of $6.00; very fair and reasonable.
We only wish this restaurant was near our home.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank weiry51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great location”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We took a family friend here for a belated birthday lunch. The location is wonderful, looking out over the South Maroochy River, shaded by lovely old cotton trees.
Atmosphere and service are very good. The food is excellent with a good menu and generous servings (I can recommend the chowder!).
Value is good, you pay a little more than other places, but you will not be disappointed.
Book ahead, as it is popular. Outdoor seating may be a little cool if it's breezy.
We would certainly go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheehy_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buderim
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A great sunday lunch”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

First visit to the Boatshed for some time. Decided to have a sunday lunch. Booked early and got a table out the front with a magnificent view over the water. Given menu and wine list within a few
minutes. Drink order taken at same time. Asked for dining times. e.g.how long would you like
between entrée and main.Nice touch. Decided to select wine by the glass. The bottle of said wine was poured at the table. Better touch. Could not fault the food or service over a period of
two hours. The site is fantastic with couples having tapas under the huge tree near the restaurant.
This establishment is not cheap. However if you want great food and service I can highly recommend this establishment.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank philipc263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkeys Knob, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Tasty food, Great staff”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

My girlfriend booked this for a 40th birthday dinner and it was wonderful. We had cocktails to start and they were very refreshing. The quail starter was divine, as was the lamb and beetroot salad. The barramundi was rated by my friend as the best fish she has ever had. Unfortunately the stuffed zucchini flowers seemed to have missed being placed on the plate - this was the only disappointing meal we received. Our wait staff were very attentive and recommended great wine to accompany our meal. I would definitely advise booking in advance as the restaurant was full and the guests I was with said it is usually like this.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boat Shed Restaurant also viewed

Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
 
Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
Mooloolaba, Sunshine Coast
 
Alexandra Headland, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to The Boat Shed Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing