We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glamping in the Australian Outback”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jabiru Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Jabiru Safari Lodge, in a deluxe cabin, for three nights and absolutely loved it. Owners/hosts Greg, Marge and Linda could not have welcomed us more warmly – champagne sunsets at the lodge overlooking the lagoon, fun and informative jeep tours with Greg around the vast property and even to their own home for wildlife spotting. We selected the all-inclusive package, with sumptuous dinners of fish, meats, vegetables, salads and gorgeous desserts all made by Linda (I think!). All the guests tended to dine together (although we were not required to do so), and we met some lovely people along the way. Breakfasts were simple – yoghurt, cereal and toast, and lunch was a variety of salads, wraps and the like.

The safari cabins were extremely comfortable – clean and spacious with adjoining private, open-air en suites with toilet and hot-running water in the sink and shower. The tent was a little hot in the afternoon but beautifully cool in the morning and evening/night. There were lovely walks all throughout the property - the open savannahs and woodland areas were just glorious. We arrived a couple of weeks after a hurricane had blown through, so it was wetter than usual and there was less wildlife than usual, but it was still delightful – the cacophony of birdsong at 5am was spectacular. We’d return to Jabiru in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Faith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 122 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2014

This is one of the best memories I have from our Australian holiday in 2013. This place is the best you can get if you're looking for a real wilderness experience! The lodge is on the bordar of a lake in the middle of nowhere. You can sleep in the lodge or, as we did, just go for a daily tour. You can have a nice tour on the lake with a boat with electric engine, so you can spot all the nautre is on the lake, specially birds. There is also a big group of black swans, which I never saw before. Then you can go for a jeep safari all around the area of this lake. We've seen diferent species of wild kangaroos, which is something different from what you see anywere else. Do not hope to do a proper African safari, because those safaris are only in Africa. But this experience is something very wild and not toristical as most of the attractions in Australia. Don't forget your camera, I'm sure you'll get nice shots!

Room Tip: As we did, is possible to do a daily visit to this place without beeing there overnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FilippoP_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Great hosts, good food, accom was exactly what we hoped for. A beautiful nature reserve with Heaps of wildlife, great bush walks and a super relaxing atmosphere. Highly recommended. The emus are friendly and freely wander around adding to the experience. Kangaroos are everywhere and the bird life is abundant.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank cairnsmountainbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Marg & Greg opened their amazing Jabiru Safari lodge especially for us as they are usually closed for the wet season. How grateful we were & it didn't rain at all during our stay!! The lodge overlooks mountains & the lake & sunset drinks, canapés & evening meal taken on its decking was a very special experience. The de lux cabin had everything we needed - well zipped in to prevent any Ozzie creepy crawlies joining us. The bed was really comfy & shower & bathroom fine. Greg took us on 2 boat trips on the lake & a afternoon & early morning safari ride. Although we were too early in the season for the cranes we saw a vast array of birds & roos & resident emus & chicks. Talking with Greg & Marg was a real pleasure - learning of life in outback Queensland. There is plenty to see in the surrounding area too. (Marg made us a lovely picnic to take with us too) Just - making your base at Jabiru makes it a very special experience. Go try it for yourself !!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CathyWinchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Fabulous location in the 'wetlands', very friendly and helpful staff. We slept in a 'tent' which was a very special experience. Since we are used to camping in France the Jabiru tents are extremely luxurious. Very good beds, good ventilation and even a small fridge :-). We had a visit of a spider (at least 10 cm) which was rather scary. However with the help of our friendly neighbour ("ah you Dutchies....) the spider was chased away and we could go to sleep (a bit anxious of course). We were woken by the sound of an Emu which was walking around our tent.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bas v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

What a lovely authentic experience amongst the beautiful lush wetlands. We found the staff to be very accommodating, nothing was too much trouble. The food was great, and they were so flexible with our vegan requirements. The lodges was simple but suited the environment and the experience perfectly. Can't fault anything really - it was so interesting hearing their stories and learning about the local fauna and flora. Shall definitely be returning!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I stayed at the Jabiru Safari Lodge in early December and it was exactly what I was looking for. I wanted to experience Far North Queensland and the Daintree and also have some quiet time to unwind. The Lodge is very quiet and visitors are able to take self-guided walks around the wetlands, as well as tours. There was lots of beautiful wildlife and there are also lots of interesting sights close by, which I eagerly explored. The staff are wonderful, helpful and very respectful of visitors' wishes, whilst also being very accommodating of their guests' needs. I would not hesitate to recommend this venue to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chantal0082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mareeba
7.3 mi away
Jackaroo Motel
Jackaroo Motel
#1 of 3 in Mareeba
140 reviews
15.3 mi away
Cedar Park Rainforest Resort
24.8 mi away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Barking Owl Retreat
Barking Owl Retreat
#5 of 12 in Atherton
72 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Jabiru Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jabiru Safari Lodge

Address: Pickford Road | PO Box 2446, Mareeba, Queensland 4880, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mareeba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Mareeba
Price Range: $203 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jabiru Safari Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jabiru Safari Lodge is a comfortable nature and Outback experience that has been designed to ensure you can experience the wildlife in a natural bush setting. Your Lodge Host and Reserve Guide will make you welcome and be happy to assist to make your stay memorable and rewarding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jabiru Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing