We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mareeba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mareeba Lodge Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mareeba
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Stayed one night and for us this was enough. Way over priced for what you get. Cold polished concrete floors. (Very cold this time of year) No heater. no electric blanket. Froze all night. No bench tops. No wardrobe. Small table only. Tea /coffee/sugar only enough for one cup each. Went to reception to request more ..No..reception locked at 4pm but sign stated opening hours 830 to 730. Pillows flat and uncomfortable with no spares. No complimentary shampoos etc . Not that you have to provide these items but at the price we were charged we expected a bit more. We do not recommend this motel.
B2@TB

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Val R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn S, Owner at Mareeba Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

We should always be open to constructive criticism and be proactive in seeking it out to improve our performance, so thank you for your thoughts.
"Your life is a canvas... make sure you paint yourself a whole lot of colourful days"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 42 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2014

A welcome surprise. a clean and neat modest little motel. clearly well run and newly painted; refurbished with a woman's touch. importantly mattress was comfortable, bathroom spacious and clean. Undercover parking.
is on main road into town so road noise is a minor issue

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn S, Owner at Mareeba Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Thank you so much for your positive feedback, do hope to see you again soon.

Carolyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

This is another one of my work trips and this time FNQ. I booked over the phone for this stay and the owner Carolyn was friendly and helpful and after arriving late in the day I was met with a smile which is getting rare these days especially when you head out back or remote.
The room was clean and neat with comfortable bed and adequate furnishings.
An added bonus is the offer of a light breakfast comprising of toast, butter and jams! just enough to get you on the road. The Motel is located only a few minutes walk from town so well located for the traveller. If you are looking for a clean and friendly place to stay on the way up the cape! look this place up you wont be disappointed!

Room Tip: All rooms are well positioned so no real tips to add here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeK157166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn S, Owner at Mareeba Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Thank you for your lovely compliment and hope to see you again.

Carolyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed 2nights to visit family. I'm not sure if the rooms are still partway through being refurbished but if we saw the finished product then I was shocked at the sparseness of the room. The floors are entirely polished concrete which was very cold underfoot. The only storage areas were the top of the fridge where the kettle and cups sat, and a small chest of drawers that only fit one suitcase on top. There was a tiny round table about as big as a pizza. My partner likes to spread his newspaper out on the desk or bench to read but was I possible on this tiny table. The TV was high on the wall which is fine except it was turned off at the power point, resulting in having to stand on a chair with a coat hanger to reach the switch. The shower is I the middle of the toilet and basin with 2 shower curtains around it in a semi circle making - the whole bathroom floor got drenched when you have a shower, desperately need a mop in there. There was also some kind of machine running at the back of the motel that kept cutting in and out, was very loud and went 24/7. We had to turn our air conditioner on to mask the noise to get some sleep. Staff were lovely and helpful but rooms need more storage. Not even a wardrobe or a spare pillow or blanket in the room just a hanging rack like you use for your ironing! Hopefully it was a work in progress and yet to be finished!

Room Tip: One on the side as the back ones have the noisy machine behind them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 709TAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn S, Owner at Mareeba Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

We are sorry for your unhappiness and welcome your feedback and honesty. It is unfortunate that we did not speak in relation to this matter while you were staying as our guest.

We love talking to and helping our guests, with management and staff on site, we pride ourselves on keeping guests happy & we go out of our way to provide any extra bits and pieces you require.

Mareeba Lodge is always evolving – we believe in creating a new way of presenting rooms that are minimalistic for ease of cleaning so there is no corner cutting in housekeeping.

Motel rooms are shared by the public, therefore room cleanliness is of utmost importance to us. Polished concrete floors are fantastic for this very reason, no hidden nasties. Our bedroom and bathrooms are also wheelchair friendly – ease of manoeuvrability for wheelchairs.

Our aim is to get all the basics right. It is clean, renovated, great value, convenient location, all brought together with friendly service.

We have many happy satisfied guests that stay at Mareeba Lodge on a regular basis which is such a blessing and music to our ears.

A few tips and hints to help guests choose the right Motel room for their needs and expectations:
1. Choose your lodgings well – if cleanliness is very important, choose your motel wisely.
2. Give the room a good inspection – if it does not meet your expectation – don’t stay.
3. Speak up – if you feel the room is not up to par, say so while you are there at the Motel.

As Winston Churchill said - often knowledge and acceptance of our failures and imperfections is what creates a stronger foundation for growth and success, so thank you for your review.

Carolyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

My wife and I were on holiday with our three young children and we needed a room in a hurry, as the place we were staying at on the coast was threatened by cyclone Ita. We picked the town of Mareeba at random, and the Mareeba Lodge Motel was the first thing that came up on Google. We were lucky, because it was fantastic. Good value, big rooms, very clean, and with an excellent outdoor communal kitchen / dining area that we hung out in as a family & enjoyed very much. Carolyn, the manager, was very kind and friendly and she helped us find great things to do in the local area, which we were delighted to discover was a fun place to spend a few days. In summary, this place was good value, very well managed, and it hugely exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suburbanist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn S, Owner at Mareeba Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Wow, what an excellent review. I am humbled by your response. Our guests are the ones that keep us going, and we are in the industry of Hospitality, Service and Tourism. Without our guests we would not have a business so we care for our guests in a way that they will return and also advertise our business by word of mouth, and that is the best advertising any business can get.
So a very big thank you for choosing Mareeba Lodge and so glad you enjoyed your stay. Please tell your friends and colleagues to come and visit as Mareeba has so much to offer as a tourist destination.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Motel was booked on the run and sight unseen. I wondered what I was in for when I saw the colour scheme. Office staff were very pleasant and helpful. The room was much more than I had expected. Very clean, spacious and comfortable. I will be staying here again. The complimentary breakfast (toast & jam) was great for the early start. I figure the colour scheme is used as a marketing tool.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn S, Owner at Mareeba Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you Scott for your kind words about Mareeba Lodge.
Yes the outside colour scheme is certainly a marketing tool and has worked very well. Almost all the rooms have now been renovated. Our aim is for simplicity and comfort for our guests and for ease of cleaning which is a high priority.Thank you for your review and hope to see you again soon. Also please tell 5 of your friends to come and stay with us.

Carolyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Do not know the price as it was paid for me . Did not use pool or fitness center. Not keen on bathroom and I always require breakfast & had to go elsewhere, otherwise I had no problems or reason to complain.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn S, Owner at Mareeba Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you for your review. We strive to make your stay as pleasant as possible. I am sorry we do not have a pool or fitness centre at Mareeba Lodge so maybe you stayed at another motel in Mareeba.
All our rooms have been renovated and the bathrooms are very modern. However we would be happy to encourage you to visit us at Mareeba Lodge for am enjoyable and comfortable stay next time.
Carolyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mareeba
21.4 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
0.6 mi away
Jackaroo Motel
Jackaroo Motel
#1 of 3 in Mareeba
150 reviews
18.4 mi away
The Atherton Motel
The Atherton Motel
#1 of 4 in Atherton
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Kookaburra Lodge Motel
Kookaburra Lodge Motel
#1 of 5 in Yungaburra
162 reviews
13.3 mi away
Cedar Park Rainforest Resort
6.7 mi away
Jabiru Safari Lodge
Jabiru Safari Lodge
#1 of 3 in Mareeba
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mareeba Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mareeba Lodge Motel

Address: 261 Byrnes St, Mareeba, Queensland 4880, Australia (Formerly Golden Leaf Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mareeba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mareeba
Price Range: $72 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vibrant, homely, excellent value with terrific service. Don't let the colour fool you, excellent value - best motel accommodation prices in Mareeba. Renovated rooms, complimentary light breakfast. Family rooms and undercover parking. Communal kitchen and BBQ area. Tea/coffee, toaster, small refrigerator, air con, digital TV and DVD player in each room. Convenient central location to stay whilst exploring the Tablelands. A short walk to supermarkets and hotels. Meals available to be delivered to your room. Push bike and motor bike friendly. Vibrant, homely, excellent value with terrific service. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing