We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food and great hospitality”
Review of Key Restaurant Maleny - CLOSED

Key Restaurant Maleny
Price range: $6 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Deliciously different African, Mediterranean and Caribbean traditional family style cooking is served at the Key Restaurant Maleny, a short 20 minute drive from the Sunshine Coast. Some of the most popular dishes on the menu are Mozambique Chicken with Jollof Rice, the melt in your mouth Moroccan Lamb Tagine, the hot and spicy West Indies Goat Curry. All of the dishes are lovingly prepared by Ghanaian Chef and Owner, Simone Butler, with many involving very lengthy traditional preparation and slow cooking to perfection, often over 3 days. In addition to Simone's traditional ethnic dishes, there is also available fantastic 30 mm thick 350 gram plus grass fed, well marbelled steaks or fresh grilled barramundi. Key Restaurant Maleny is fully licensed with a cocktail bar, an interesting wine cellar with lots of variety to match the sometimes spicy and fragrant dishes. Excellent organic coffee, delicious cakes and deserts are a feature. Enjoy dining by the log fire or alfresco dining on the spacious veranda with panoramic views to the Coast, Mount Coolum, the hinterland and the Glasshouse Mountains. For mouth-watering meals, packed full of flavour and exotic spices, visit the Key Restaurant in Maleny. Open Wed – Sunday, lunch and dinner, Special Friday Night Buffet. Garden Weddings, Parties, Special Events and Receptions for up to 100 people are catered for. Check out the menus or book online.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My wife and I decided to have dinner at Key whilst on a short stopover in Maleny and it was the best decision of our visit.

The food is fantastic, our taste buds are still in shock, we started with the kebabs chicken and the beef which were succulent and spicy.

The main courses Mozambique Chicken and Goat Curry were magic, very special flavours we had never experienced before and similar to the entrees huge servings and beautifully presented, all complimented with a very crisp Sav Blanc from the Hunter Valley.

I am not a dessert fan but was convinced to share the Creme Brulee and very glad I did, again the taste buds exploded with mixture of flavours, hints of lemon grass and coconut blended perfectly through the silky smooth texture.

The hospitality shown from Luke,Simone and Clem made the night even more special so if you are looking to experience the true tastes of Africa definitely do not miss Key.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank McRobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement D, General Manager at Key Restaurant Maleny, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear McRobbo,

Thank you for choosing to have dinner with us and for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.

It is wonderful to see you enjoyed your visit and our team was able to look after you.

Kind regards,

Clem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 148 of 291 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

A lovely setting, we sat out on the verandah with a fabulous view accross to the the coast. The service was exceptional although it was a quiet day. The waiter was very knowledgeable and helpful, without being overbearing or in our faces. We chose the Lamb Shanks and Mozambique Chicken for mains and both meals were superbly cooked, with fabulous flavour. The chicken was deliciously succulent and juicy, the Lamb was melt-in-your-mouth tender. A matching wine was suggested for the lamb and worked perfectly. All in all a great dining experience that contributed to a wonderful day out on the motorbike.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank THBrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement D, General Manager at Key Restaurant Maleny, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear THBrissy,

It was such a pleasure to serve you last August, to see you enjoyed your visit and to read through your comments on TripAdvisor!

I will certainly congratulate Simone our Chef for the food as this will be a wonderful source of motivation for her.

It is wonderful to see you enjoyed your visit and I was able to look after you.

We hope to be able to welcome you back for a second visit, whenever your time permits.

Yours sincerely,

Clement DEMARAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

fantastic service,great food,wonderful view --spontaneous decision rewareded exponentially.
will be back at the earliest available opportunity,probably this Sunday!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ANDYMMaleny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement D, General Manager at Key Restaurant Maleny, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear ANDYMMaleny,

What a pleasure to read these wonderful comments on Tripadvisor and to hear that you have enjoyed your recent dinning experience with us!

Thank you very much for your comments in regards of our Tastes of Africa – Sunday Lunch.

We are looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit! Maybe next Sunday?

Yours sincerely,

Clement D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Sensational food, exceptional service and perfect ambience! The flavours infused in the dishes we chose were unique and sensational. Topped of the meal with the most perfect Creme Brûlée infused with Lemon Grass and a sublime Piccolo Latte. Yes!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Redhilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement D, General Manager at Key Restaurant Maleny, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Redhilda,

It was such a pleasure to welcome you last August and to read through your comments on TripAdvisor that you enjoyed dinning with us!

Your feed-back about your visit, and especially about our food & coffee, is very important to us. I will certainly congratulate Simone our Chef for the food.
This will be a wonderful source of motivation!
We hope to be able to welcome you back for a second visit, whenever your time permits.
Yours sincerely,

Clement D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The food was truly delicious. Highly recommend the lamb tagine and the beef palaver - complex flavours, good ingredients, subtle spicing, and food obviously cooked by someone who loves what they do.
We look forward to coming back to enjoy Sunday afternoon music session - the venue suits live music - airy, spacious and welcoming.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Incolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement D, General Manager at Key Restaurant Maleny, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Incolm,

Thank you for choosing to have dinner with us and for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.
It is wonderful to see you enjoyed your visit and our team was able to look after you.

Kind regards,

Clement D.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Key Restaurant Maleny also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing