We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Key Restaurant Maleny - CLOSED

Key Restaurant Maleny
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Deliciously different African, Mediterranean and Caribbean traditional family style cooking is served at the Key Restaurant Maleny, a short 20 minute drive from the Sunshine Coast. Some of the most popular dishes on the menu are Mozambique Chicken with Jollof Rice, the melt in your mouth Moroccan Lamb Tagine, the hot and spicy West Indies Goat Curry. All of the dishes are lovingly prepared by Ghanaian Chef and Owner, Simone Butler, with many involving very lengthy traditional preparation and slow cooking to perfection, often over 3 days. In addition to Simone's traditional ethnic dishes, there is also available fantastic 30 mm thick 350 gram plus grass fed, well marbelled steaks or fresh grilled barramundi. Key Restaurant Maleny is fully licensed with a cocktail bar, an interesting wine cellar with lots of variety to match the sometimes spicy and fragrant dishes. Excellent organic coffee, delicious cakes and deserts are a feature. Enjoy dining by the log fire or alfresco dining on the spacious veranda with panoramic views to the Coast, Mount Coolum, the hinterland and the Glasshouse Mountains. For mouth-watering meals, packed full of flavour and exotic spices, visit the Key Restaurant in Maleny. Open Wed – Sunday, lunch and dinner, Special Friday Night Buffet. Garden Weddings, Parties, Special Events and Receptions for up to 100 people are catered for. Check out the menus or book online.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent value and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

I visited key on a Sunday night with three other ladies. From the minute we walked in the door we received excellent service with both food and drinks. The owner was very good at explaining the meals and suggesting drinks to match. The meals were large portions and extremely tasty. I had the goat curry which was hot, as stated, so I was very happy with that. The chef, Simone, came out to see us at the end of the meal and we all had a lovely chat. She later sent out some berry pannacotta which were to die for. As full as we were we had to finish dessert as well!! Thank-you for a lovely night.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 867Sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lukebutler1954, Owner at Key Restaurant Maleny, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Hi 867Sharon, what an awesome foursome you and your co-workers made. It was a great pleasure to meet you all and to hear you enjoyed your dinner and drinks. I know our Chef Simone really enjoyed talking with the four of you afterwards in our lounge and comparing your teaching experiences in Australia to some of hers in the UK. Simone was very pleased to see your Panna Cotta dessert dishes come back to the kitchen empty and remarked "it is the best compliment". Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    57
    5
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Try the lobster”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Had a great lunch there Sunday.

The service is a standout with attentive staff who clearly explain the menu and level of spice per dish (nothing to worry about).
i thoroughly enjoyed the lobster the charcoal grilled lobster. Simple, rich in flavour and the perfect lunch accompanied with a glass of Chardonnay.

Great spot to pop in and linger for an hour or two.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clubczar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lukebutler1954, Owner at Key Restaurant Maleny, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Hi ClubCzar, glad to hear you liked the African Beach BBQ Rock Lobster washed down with the help of some decent Chardonnay - it's hard to beat. We look forward to your return and lingering for another hour or two whilst we try to tempt you to experiment further. Of course between our ever expanding wine list, some new dishes and the live music each week during our leisurely Sunday lunch, you might have to stay a bit longer next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

we were here for the Friday night African buffet. The quality of the food was consistantly good, although not all dishes were of African origin (a Madras curry, for example). When the chef says a dish is hot, she means HOT!!!! great if you like chilli, otherwise best to avoid (I like it hot, but this was almost too hot).

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lukebutler1954, Owner at Key Restaurant Maleny, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Hi ChrisL, I am glad you found the quality of our food "consistently good" during your experience at our Friday Night "Tastes of Africa" Buffet. You are right that when our Ghanaian Chef Simone says that a dish is "hot" she means it. Fortunately there is always a variety which includes dishes that have no heat and some with mild heat too. You can be assured though that everything she does is first and foremost about presenting you with a range of very flavoursome taste sensations and options - for us it's all about the taste. FYI Mahatma Gandhi spent many years with the big Indian community (1.3M) in South Africa, especially in Durban which is where our Chef Simone tasted and got the recipe for the Curry you tasted. We look forward to treating you with some more exotic tastes whenever you come our way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent African cuisine and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We specifically went to the Key Restaurant for the promise of interesting African cuisine, and we weren't disappointed. There is a wide range of dishes - we had the jerk chicken and the lamb shanks, and both dishes were fantastic and perfect for a cold and rainy evening. The desserts were also exceptional, and the berry panna cotta (made with local Maleny Guernsey milk) was a particular highlight. The staff were warm and friendly, and both owners (including the chef herself) introduced themselves to diners and stopped to chat to many of the people, which is something you don't always see. The atmosphere was a little disappointing, which could have been to do with the furnishings and the bright lighting. But the food certainly made up for it; this restaurant is well worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NtrepidTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lukebutler1954, Owner at Key Restaurant Maleny, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Hi NtrepidTraveller, thanks for your great review. Our Chef Simone and I were pleased to meet you. We are glad you really enjoyed your food and our service - it's really what we are all about. We hope you may come and try some more whenever you feel like having your palate "spoiled" again in Maleny.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A really different taste experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We had a fantastic dinner here at their Friday night buffet. The service was unfaultable (very attentive and it was a buffet!), we were seated near the fireplace which was nice and the food was to die for. The soup was amazing- I like hit things and this was very hot (not just restaurant hot) but tasty and had real depth. My wife doesn't like hot things and is still raving about the vegetable soup. We then got to try six other dishes-- curries and all kinds of things that were just so tasty. And value? We had soup, buffet mains, dessert, coffee and wine for two people and the bill came to under a hundred bucks. How can you fault that?

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SGontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lukebutler1954, Owner at Key Restaurant Maleny, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Hi SGontour, glad to hear you and your wife enjoyed your first experience with our "Tastes of Africa" Friday night buffet and that we were able to get you both seated near the fireplace. Our Chef Simone, who is from Ghana in West Africa, takes great delight in surprising us all with a mixture of new dishes and old favourites each Friday. It's her time to "play" with some new dishes. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Key Restaurant Maleny also viewed

 
Maleny, Sunshine Coast
Maleny, Sunshine Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing