We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful exotic cooking”
Review of Key Restaurant Maleny - CLOSED

Key Restaurant Maleny
Price range: $6 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Deliciously different African, Mediterranean and Caribbean traditional family style cooking is served at the Key Restaurant Maleny, a short 20 minute drive from the Sunshine Coast. Some of the most popular dishes on the menu are Mozambique Chicken with Jollof Rice, the melt in your mouth Moroccan Lamb Tagine, the hot and spicy West Indies Goat Curry. All of the dishes are lovingly prepared by Ghanaian Chef and Owner, Simone Butler, with many involving very lengthy traditional preparation and slow cooking to perfection, often over 3 days. In addition to Simone's traditional ethnic dishes, there is also available fantastic 30 mm thick 350 gram plus grass fed, well marbelled steaks or fresh grilled barramundi. Key Restaurant Maleny is fully licensed with a cocktail bar, an interesting wine cellar with lots of variety to match the sometimes spicy and fragrant dishes. Excellent organic coffee, delicious cakes and deserts are a feature. Enjoy dining by the log fire or alfresco dining on the spacious veranda with panoramic views to the Coast, Mount Coolum, the hinterland and the Glasshouse Mountains. For mouth-watering meals, packed full of flavour and exotic spices, visit the Key Restaurant in Maleny. Open Wed – Sunday, lunch and dinner, Special Friday Night Buffet. Garden Weddings, Parties, Special Events and Receptions for up to 100 people are catered for. Check out the menus or book online.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful exotic cooking”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My wife and I had a glorious meal at Key yesterday. The restautant has a lot going for it. Exotic, spicey, african cooking made by an authentic woman from Ghana. her husband runs the operation and is a chatty lovely guy. The wine list is the best on the coast. Great choice of beers. The room is spacious and the service is perfect. They put a lot of effort into this restaurant and it shows. I highly recommend it. Views from the balcony were wonderful.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank knip_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement D, General Manager at Key Restaurant Maleny, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

It was such a pleasure to welcome you last September and to read through your comments on TripAdvisor that you enjoyed your meal with us!

The entire team strives to exceed our guests’ expectations and we're proud to welcome you with such a beautiful menu and a fantastic wine & drink list.

Your feed-back about your visit is very important to us. I will certainly congratulate Paul, Luke & Simone for their great service; this will be a wonderful source of motivation for them.

We hope to be able to welcome you back for a second visit, whenever your time permits.

Yours sincerely,

Clement DEMARAIS
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    57
    5
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Near Gold Coast, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Eclectic and delicious”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

It is rare to find a restaurant with not just different food, but delicious taste treats you may not have tried before. Even more surprising to find it in Maleny! We only wish we didn't have such a big lunch earlier, otherwise we would have tried more from that fascinating menu! The service staff was a mixture of experienced waiters and novices, but everything done with a smile!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement D, General Manager at Key Restaurant Maleny, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Kim,

What a pleasure to read these wonderful comments on Tripadvisor and to hear that you have enjoyed your recent dinning experience with us!

We are looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

Clement DEMARAIS
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Out of Africa”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Pleasantly surprised by the food and the quality of service. A grand buffet was on the night we went there and it was a spicy, delicious meal. Would return every time.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement D, General Manager at Key Restaurant Maleny, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Suzanne,

It was such a pleasure to welcome you last September and to read through your comments on TripAdvisor that you enjoyed dinning with us on our Friday Night "Tastes of Africa" Buffet.

We hope to be able to welcome you back for a second visit, whenever your time permits.

Yours sincerely,

Clement DEMARAIS
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“what a meal”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We were greeted by the owner who spent time telling us about the restaurant, the meals and how they were created and of course the wonderful chef (his wife). You could tell how enthused he was about the place and his wife's cooking, and then our entrees came out. He was correct. The meal was magnificent. The mains were even better. We even had our photo taken and emailed to us by the owner. Thank you for an awesome night. Barry & Michelle Steele

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank bmsteele67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemondemexico, General Manager at Key Restaurant Maleny, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Barry & Michelle,

It was such a pleasure to welcome you last September and to read through your comments on TripAdvisor that you enjoyed dinning with us!

The entire team strives to exceed our guests’ expectations.
Your feed-back about your visit, and especially about our food, is very important to us. I will certainly congratulate our Chef Simone. This will be a wonderful source of motivation for us.

We hope to be able to welcome you back for a second visit, whenever your time permits.

Yours sincerely,

Clement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Key Restaurant is very friendly and a unique experience centered around the owner's passion for food. We went on Friday Night and discovered that a la carte is not available, only buffet. Most of the food is really spicy, and my wife does not handle spicy food well. Somehow the owner found out and quietly offered to make her a special alternative.

The atmosphere is very friendly, and the restaurant was significantly larger than I was expecting, and full when we arrived. Definately worth a visit, if you like spicy food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemondemexico, General Manager at Key Restaurant Maleny, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Michael,

We thank you very much for the encouraging comments you made relative to your recent visit at Key Restaurant Maleny.

I will share this with our employees particularly with Luke and needless to say that he is very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Do not hesitate to contact M. Large, our Maitre D', he will be delighted to welcome you again and may assure you of his best attention and care at all time.

I hope you will continue coming in our restaurant and I look forward to welcoming you for another dinner or any other occasion.

Sincerely yours,

Clement Demarais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Key Restaurant Maleny also viewed

 
Maleny, Sunshine Coast
Maleny, Sunshine Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing