We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best restaurant experiences I've ever had!”
Review of Key Restaurant Maleny - CLOSED

Key Restaurant Maleny
Price range: $6 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Deliciously different African, Mediterranean and Caribbean traditional family style cooking is served at the Key Restaurant Maleny, a short 20 minute drive from the Sunshine Coast. Some of the most popular dishes on the menu are Mozambique Chicken with Jollof Rice, the melt in your mouth Moroccan Lamb Tagine, the hot and spicy West Indies Goat Curry. All of the dishes are lovingly prepared by Ghanaian Chef and Owner, Simone Butler, with many involving very lengthy traditional preparation and slow cooking to perfection, often over 3 days. In addition to Simone's traditional ethnic dishes, there is also available fantastic 30 mm thick 350 gram plus grass fed, well marbelled steaks or fresh grilled barramundi. Key Restaurant Maleny is fully licensed with a cocktail bar, an interesting wine cellar with lots of variety to match the sometimes spicy and fragrant dishes. Excellent organic coffee, delicious cakes and deserts are a feature. Enjoy dining by the log fire or alfresco dining on the spacious veranda with panoramic views to the Coast, Mount Coolum, the hinterland and the Glasshouse Mountains. For mouth-watering meals, packed full of flavour and exotic spices, visit the Key Restaurant in Maleny. Open Wed – Sunday, lunch and dinner, Special Friday Night Buffet. Garden Weddings, Parties, Special Events and Receptions for up to 100 people are catered for. Check out the menus or book online.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
1 review
“One of the best restaurant experiences I've ever had!”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Unique, very interesting menu with exquisitely prepared food. Flavour overload for those who like spicy food, and more subtle but still interesting flavours for those who don't. AND the service more than matched the food. The menu was explained to us in great depth during which the proprietor's genuine hospitality and passion for their food was clearly apparent. We were celebrating our 10th anniversary and thanks to their warmth and generosity we felt more like guests than customers. Thank you! (Tip - you've got to try the Panna Cotta - with a glass of bubbly).

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kendall C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemondemexico, General Manager at Key Restaurant Maleny, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thank you for your comment and your feedback.
We are glad to see you enjoyed your experience at our Restaurant.
Thank you for choosing us for your 10th Anniversary.

Best regards and see you probably for your next Anniversary.

Team at Key Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    57
    5
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Unwind for the weekend an hour out of busy Brisbane”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Very professional service which I would expect of a fine dining restaurant like this. Beautiful food with great flavours and a nice amount of spice. Beautiful atmosphere especially sitting next to the fireplace with a great live guitarist playing close-by. We felt even more special when the chef came out and introduced herself and checked that everyone was happy with their meals. It is rare that you get this but it is a nice touch.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemondemexico, General Manager at Key Restaurant Maleny, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Thank you for your comment and your feedback.
We are glad to see you enjoyed your experience at our Restaurant.
We hope your Mum did enjoy the experience as well.
Once again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect evening out”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

From the warm wlecome with a roaring fire on a cold evening, to the friendly talk through the menu and personal, attentive service throughout, everyone we encountered made our meal out a wonderful experience. The passion for their food was clear and entirely justified.

We tried Ghanaian Light Soup, West African Kebabs to start, followed by West Indian Goat Curry and Mozambique Chicken for mains with a delicious apple cake to share for dessert. Each course was a delight and so full of flavour. We wish we had room to have tried more!

We cannot recommend this place highly enough and we will most definitely be back!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Morag I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemondemexico, General Manager at Key Restaurant Maleny, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
What else can we say except thank you.
Thank you for visiting us and thank you for your detail review.

We wished you had more space to try everything or more time to spend with us up here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thanks for making our anniversary special”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Fantastic food and excellent service. A beautiful place to celebrate our anniversary and appreciated the glass of bubbly given to us to toast our marriage. We will defiently be returning.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemondemexico, General Manager at Key Restaurant Maleny, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Thank you for choosing us to celebrate your anniversary.
We are always happy to make your special event memorable.
Hope to see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Awesome restaurant!”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Great food and excellent service! Also a very good place to bring kids. Very nice view and good value for $
Will deffinately come back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fjordholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemondemexico, General Manager at Key Restaurant Maleny, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Thank you for your grateful comment.

We really appreciate you spending the time to write a review on our Restaurant.

We are more than happy to welcome you next time.

Best regards,

Team at Key Restaurant Maleny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Key Restaurant Maleny also viewed

 
Maleny, Sunshine Coast
Maleny, Sunshine Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing