We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of runaway to maleny

Bar b cue deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bar b cue deck
Polley and Lover
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
80 reviews
Bar b cue deck
Polley and Lover
Bamboo Chapel
Guest Bedroom
Guest Kitchen Table
Guest Kitchenette
Guest lounge and massage chair
Guest showers
Bar b que deck
Flying Fox
Shala
Our Backyard Waterfall
Trampoline Deck
Swimming Hole in the Obi Obi Creek
Guest Bathroom
Angle Wings Lotus
Trampoline
Creek Flat
Main Kitchen
Main Bedroom
Main Bedroom
Main Bathroom
Main Bathroom
Lower Deck
Main Dining
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Maleny, Sunshine Coast, Queensland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 80 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
EmmaF2607
1 review
“Fabulous”
Reviewed August 31, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This property is absolutely stunning !! We had an amazing time, it is so nice to just relax and view the beautiful scenery !! Well worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2017
It was just great having Emma and Lee there at Runaway. Great communicators and obviously livers of life. Thanks guys - come back soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaskan_l...
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“We left feeling relaxed and energised”
Reviewed July 16, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

My sister and I 'ran away to Maleny' to escape for five nights and found this little piece of paradise! We knew from our first contact with Jen and Ian that this was going to be a special and magical experience. Jen and Ian went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and at home, they are the most beautiful hosts and we can not thank them enough for the positive energy they have created and the warmth they radiate.
This rainforest retreat was our base to explore the Glasshouse Mountains but we could have easily spent all of our days at the property. Refreshing icy creek swimming, soaking up the Queensland sun and lazing on the trampoline, reading under the bamboo canopy, sipping home grown lemon myrtle tea and cuddling up with Pasha (the friendliest cat in the world) were all non negotiable in our days!
We left feeling relaxed and energised.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2017
How fabulous to have Louise and Melinda stay at Runaway. Beautiful, warm, friendly sisters who just went for it!! I think they're the first to have a waterfall massage in winter - very brave and pretty chilly!!!
We'd just love to have your strong positive energy back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janicebks
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little slice of paradise”
Reviewed July 11, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Just the weekend break hubby and I needed. Highlights include the hammock within the bamboo, the crystal clear creek, the trampoline (!), fresh eggs from the chooks and of course, the massage chair. Jen and Ian were away during our stay, but Shadow and Pasha the cat made us quite at home. Definitely recommend this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 12, 2017
It's so great that Janice and Caleb made the most of Runaway - Shadow said they were just fabulous guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica K
Noosa, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Magical!”
Reviewed July 8, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We stayed at Runaway to Maleny for our daughters 19th birthday! As there were 10 of us, the home accommodated us perfectly! The property consists of a master pavilion, Shala (yoga pavilion), main living area pavilion, bathroom pavilion as well as a 2 bedroom/rumpas room (pool room) pavilion with its own kitchenette facilities.

Everything was perfect! We were greeted by the lovely caretaker (Shadow), who guided us around the property which included a tour along the Obi Obi creek that runs alongside the property. After our tour we were presented with home made cookies and fruit cake! Also the lovely Jen left a parcel for our daughter (a lovely gift for her birthday - thank you so much Jen (very thoughtful).

Our only complaint about our stay was that we wished we had stayed longer!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 9, 2017
These guys were just fabulous and absolutely made the most of their stay.
Beautiful, warm, friendly folk and they were so generous and inclusive. Thank you and come back!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sisterwri...
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Serenity”
Reviewed July 7, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a family of 10 stay here for weekend & booked the whole property. It was perfect. The caretaker was very welcoming & helpful. The property location was great although you don't really want to leave, it's very special.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 8, 2017
It was wonderful having Monica and her family at Runaway to celebrate Eliza's 19th birthday. They had a wonderful time and we just want them all to come back. They were so warm and giving - what a delightful family they are.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the5coope...
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Paradise found”
Reviewed June 27, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We are a family of 5: 2 adults, 2 teenagers & a toddler. We needed a break... And we came to the right place!

Lots to keep the teenagers happy, between the creek, the rock jumps, the flying fox, puzzles, creek walks (just to name a few) - and they didn't even whinge about no phones!

The adults were spoilt for choice also, with lots of spaces to sit, relax and enjoy the peace, or Jen patiently lead a non-yoga girl through some very satisfying stretches, and Shadow provided me with a reading which was very enlightening.

As for the toddler, he loved running around on the huge, private grounds, jumping on the trampoline, harassing the chooks or cat, and generally causing havoc, as is his daily routine.

Waking up to the sound of the creek, in such a tranquil place is truly a blessing, but perhaps the most impressive thing about this place is the hosts. Ian, Jen & Shadow truly make it their mission to ensure that their guests feel comfortable, happy and loved. It was a pleasure. We only stayed 2 nights, but left feeling like we were leaving family.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 29, 2017
Thanks so much for your lovely review. It was just great to have Craig, Shelly, Mia, Lilly and Cruz here just going for it! Wonderful to be in the company of such joyful appreciative folk - we just loved having you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sf1334
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Absolutely perfect!”
Reviewed June 17, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

One of the most beautiful places i have stayed! Stunning location and amazing house. Wonderful hosts, so lovely and accommodating.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 18, 2017
We so loved having Sarah, Arnulf and their dear friends staying with us at Runaway. Wonderful, open and friendly people who really know how to relax and enjoy themselves.
Can't wait to have them all back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing