We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“perfect hideaway, devine surroundings”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of runaway to maleny

Bar b cue deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bar b cue deck
Polley and Lover
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
83 reviews
Bar b cue deck
Polley and Lover
Bamboo Chapel
Guest Bedroom
Guest Kitchen Table
Guest Kitchenette
Guest lounge and massage chair
Guest showers
Bar b que deck
Flying Fox
Shala
Our Backyard Waterfall
Trampoline Deck
Swimming Hole in the Obi Obi Creek
Guest Bathroom
Angle Wings Lotus
Trampoline
Creek Flat
Main Kitchen
Main Bedroom
Main Bedroom
Main Bathroom
Main Bathroom
Lower Deck
Main Dining
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Maleny, Sunshine Coast, Queensland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 83 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
HarvestNe...
2 reviews
“perfect hideaway, devine surroundings”
Reviewed December 5, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Ian & Jen ( pasha the cat and Hamish the dog) were great hosts. A group of us stayed for a wedding and it was the perfect location for us! hidden away but still 10 minutes from town by car - the beautiful creek, swimming holes and Gardens as well as all of the outdoor entertaining one can dream of made it an ideal venue for us. The accommodation was lovely, the buildings are all modern and clean and feel very eco and 'in touch' with your surroundings...we had everything we needed. We will definitely be back and highly recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 6, 2016
It was wonderful having Brooke, Jay, Vince and Kristina stay with us at Runaway. Just lovely, easy going, friendly and joyful folk who made the most of everything. Good for you Jay for doing the jump!! Can't wait to have you all back for more fun.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fmcnaught...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A place of peace and beauty!”
Reviewed November 16, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Tired and stressed? There is no better place for you than “Run away to Maleny”. This beautiful spot, a 5-pod family homestead is hidden in the heart of the Sunshine Coast Hinterland of Queensland, approximately 100 kilometres north of Brisbane. There, you will enjoy a complete rest in the middle of the most beautiful landscape.
This is what we did a couple of weeks ago. Waking up in a separate wing of the estate, we witnessed the huge migration of "Caper White” butterflies, passing our large window with the sound of bell birds in the background. It was magical.
Next to the guests’ quarters, there is a magnificent yoga room where you can relax or meditate to your heart’s content. Then you can walk along the creek in the magnificent and well-kept estate before breakfast in one of the town’s many cafés. A fabulous couple of days amongst nature at its best!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Liked best: everything
Liked least: the odd mosquitoes
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 17, 2016
It was an absolute pleasure to host these two wonderful appreciative guests and we would most certainly welcome them back any time at all with great joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtranston
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful piece of paradise”
Reviewed October 22, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Despite only seeing Jen and Ian on the first day, they were the most hospitable hosts. They went above and beyond in making us feel welcome in their beautiful home. Runaway to Maleny is in the most perfect spot and the entire place is simply gorgeous. Pasha and Hamish (the cat and dog) are the best companions and made us feel right at home. Cannot recommend this place enough and will definitely be staying there again in the future. All in all it was the most relaxing holiday my partner and I have been on in a long time.

Have to also recommend booking a massage with Jane in the shala.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 23, 2016
It was so great to have Ethan and Michaela come to Runaway. An absolutely delightful couple who were so excited to be having time together and appreciative of the property. Can't wait to meet you properly next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madeline...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for a break”
Reviewed October 5, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Had a lovely two nights at Run Away. A beautiful property, great service,
could not recommend this enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 6, 2016
We really enjoyed having Madeline and Jeffrey stay. Absolutely delightful couple and we'd love to have them back
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann D
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exactly what I needed to relax and rejuvenate”
Reviewed September 26, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

For anyone that needs a place to retreat and rejuvenate - this is the place. It was only a short visit, but the peaceful surrounds, well thought out spaces, amenities and beautifully designed accommodation made the day to day stresses melt away from the moment my daughter and i entered the property.

Thank you to Jen and Ian for making us feel so welcome and to Shadow for showing us around.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Space and the peacefulness
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2016
It was so lovely to have Ann and Hannah come to stay at Runaway and it's also really great to know that they felt relaxed rejuvenated. They just respected the home so fully as though it was their own. We're so looking forward to their next visit with the full family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyW176...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect getaway!”
Reviewed July 20, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I had to go to a wedding in Maleny so we booked Runaway to Maleny for the night. Although Jen and Ian were away whilst we stayed there they were so incredibly helpful via email and even phone calls. Such beautiful people! The property is just perfect - quiet and full of nature but also very close to everything you could need. We loved the yoga shala and falling asleep to the noises of the creek - and being woken by the rooster was a different experience! Will definitely be coming back - thanks Jen and Ian!! :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 21, 2016
It was so great to have Sally and Zodie stay at Runaway. Such lovely fun loving folk who just make the very most of everything.
We love you guys - come back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alana_Rea...
Boonah, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Struggling to find the words...”
Reviewed July 17, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Jen and Ian are an absolute delight. Prior to staying at Runaway to Maleny I had called in for coffee with them and left feeling energised. They truly have such a wonderful approach to life and people- it rubs off and you leave feeling refreshed and happy! Jen and Ian are extremely welcoming and thoughtful. They provide everything you could ever need and MORE.

As for their property- I have travelled quite a bit and it is such a magnificent part of Australia- I have highly recommended to all my family and friends after our stay there. It has its thrills (flying fox and an initiation rock- if you're game) but for those seeking a relaxing get away, a BBQ and wine in the shared outdoor area is divine, or read a book by the waterfall.

I could honestly go on, but it is really something you must see for yourself :) One last recommendation would be the AMAZING masseuse (Jed & Ian will happily pass on her number). I've never had a better massage.

An 11/10 for Jen & Ian and Runaway to Maleny :) I'll definitely be back there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2016
Well you can see from this review what a wonderful open and enthusiastic woman Alana is! She and her delightful friends were an absolute pleasure to host and we really can't wait to have them back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing