We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“THE Perfect Getaway”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of runaway to maleny

Bar b cue deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bar b cue deck
Polley and Lover
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
80 reviews
Bar b cue deck
Polley and Lover
Bamboo Chapel
Guest Bedroom
Guest Kitchen Table
Guest Kitchenette
Guest lounge and massage chair
Guest showers
Bar b que deck
Flying Fox
Shala
Our Backyard Waterfall
Trampoline Deck
Swimming Hole in the Obi Obi Creek
Guest Bathroom
Angle Wings Lotus
Trampoline
Creek Flat
Main Kitchen
Main Bedroom
Main Bedroom
Main Bathroom
Main Bathroom
Lower Deck
Main Dining
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Maleny, Sunshine Coast, Queensland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 80 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Reggiethu...
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“THE Perfect Getaway”
Reviewed February 12, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Upon first contact with Jen and Ian, it is hard to believe that two people could be so warm, welcoming and kind to people they had never met but once we arrived at Runaway to Maleny, we could see why two people could be so happy. They are the humble owners of a slice of Sunshine Coast Hinterland that could only be described as paradise. Runaway is set on a meandering stone lined creek featuring beautiful swimming holes (including the thrilling initiation rock jump of 10m +), waterfalls, an exhilarating flying fox across the creek and a plethora of native flora and fauna for the whole family to explore and discover. We stayed there with both of our children and our 9 year old daughter had an absolute ball jumping on the trampoline, going on bushwalks along the creek, playing on the flying fox and had more than enough room to run around and be a kid. Warm and inviting the accommodation is a direct reflection of the lovely owners. Squeaky clean, it is beautifully furnished and well equipped with comfortable beds and everything you could need to forget the outside world exists and seek sanctuary for days on end in this amazing, tranquil bushland setting. Even though you wont want to leave Runaway is perfectly positioned being only an 8 minute drive to Maleny or 15 minutes to Montville with both towns having a selection of cafes, restaurants and shops.Wether you're looking for a romantic weekend getaway for 2 or somewhere tranquil to unwind while the kids explore the idyllic landscape Runaway is the place for you. We were made to feel so welcome by Jen and Ian and so will you. We will definitely be going back there to stay next time we are in the area and would have no hesitations in recommending Runaway To Maleny to anyone that is seeking somewhere welcoming, beautiful , and serene to stay and enjoy. A massive thank you to Jen and Ian for sharing their little piece of paradise with the rest of us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful location and genuinely lovely owners.
Liked least: That we had to leave !
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 13, 2016
It was an absolute delight to have Reggie, Kelly, Syaura and Jarrah stay with us. It's just so rewarding to have people so full of love and life and with such a sense of fun to come and relax, play and simply revel in this great place. Come again soon you lovely family - we've got some new chooks to show you!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristinaC...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Happiness is this Hinterland Hideaway!!”
Reviewed February 10, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Expectations were high leading up to our weekend escape to Maleny. We had read fantastic reviews about Runaway to Maleny & I for one am normally skeptical (or a realist) when it comes to a place that only has positive reviews - surely it can't be true! Well - IT IS!!! We fell in love the minute we drove down the driveway. We were warmly welcomed by property owners Ian & Jen, who we already knew would be gorgeous people from their prior communications with us. They made us feel at home and gave us a tour of the property and our abode for the coming days. The serenity of a beautiful countryside can not be conveyed in words, however only felt in the slowing heart beat as your mind and soul begin to unwind and breathe in the fresh air. The pristine creek that runs along the back of the property set the scene for exploring and adventure. The self contained housing reassures you of privacy & comfort (did we mention we fell in love with the massage chair!!!). Ian & Jen made sure we wanted for nothing & were at ease the entirety of our stay. We couldn't finish this review without mentioning our favourite part... Their Labradoodle Hamish - we fell in love!! Our only regret was not getting to spend more time at the property, with Ian & Jen and of course with Hamish. This venue would be ideal for couples, families and a group of friends looking for a special weekend away that they'll forever treasure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The waterfalls, the bamboo, Hamish the dog, Ian & Jen the hosts, the trampoline... EVERYTHING
Liked least: That we only stayed for two nights - wish we stayed longer
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 11, 2016
We could not speak more highly of Vince and Kristina, a fabulous warm, energetic, open hearted, absolutely delightful young couple. We truly loved every moment of their stay .... they were a total joy to host with a brilliant outlook on life and sense of appreciation for all in this environment here ....nothing was a bother to them - what we had to offer them was all just gratefully accepted wiht so much spirit and sense of fun and light heartedness and adventure. They were just beautiful and we cannot wait to welcome them back. These two were so, so special and they totally respected the whole home, grounds and property and treated us like royalty! Come back , lovely folk, you!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim L
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic getaway”
Reviewed January 28, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

After having previously visited on a cold and wet weekend, we decided to visit again in the warmer months to really enjoy the delights of this amazing place. Ian and Jen are the most amazing hosts with nothing too much trouble. We felt like we were staying with family not at a guest house.
This is not simply a place to stay as there is so much to do. The grandkids loved swimming in the creek and rock hopping up to the waterfall where a leisurely sit under the cascading waters gives the most devine massage. For a change of pace there is the excitement of the flying fox through the rainforest trees and as much time as you need on the sunken trampoline. Our grandkids love animals and were not disappointed here. Pasha the cat kept visiting for cuddles and Hamish the dog was forever ready to chase any thrown ball. Where ever you went on the property, one or both of these would normally follow. The highlight for the boys was cuddling the new chickens and checking for the freshly laid eggs each morning.
While there was lots to keep the kids busy, the adults got to do what they were there for also, rest and relaxation. Sitting under the grape vine covered pergola with beverage of choice made it easy to keep an eye on the kids and soak up the beautiful scenery whilst listening to the haunting sounds from the bamboo grove.

We stayed for five totally enjoyable days and will definitely be coming back for another stay. The grandkids are already asking when we will be going back to their favourite holiday destination.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 29, 2016
We could not have been more delighted to host Jim and Ingrid and their 2 gorgeous beautifully raised grandsons, Ky and Hunter.... what a wonderful family dynamic to interconnect with and our joy!..... the most lovely warm hearted respectful thoughtful folk. We are truly the blessed ones and were really sad when it came time for them to leave. No host could ever ask for more from any group. We so eagerly await their return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliegwen
Caloundra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, peaceful”
Reviewed November 23, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

In a beautiful rainforest setting with a nearby creek, the perfect place for a relaxing getaway. Jen and Ian are incredibly special welcoming hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bronteii
1 review
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed November 7, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The hosts Jen and Ian were so welcoming. Their property is stunning! We loved the pod-style living, while part of their home it still provided the privacy we wanted. Our children entertained themselves in the beautiful spacious backyard on the trampoline and with Hamish, while we sipped wine alfresco. Not to mention our 4-legged friend whom we had to unexpectedly bring along (thank you Jen and Ian for being so sympathetic) who loved every minute of the stay! It was a lovely weekend away. Runaway is highly recommended especially for families with young children.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2015
This was an absolutely fantastic family to host ... each of our contacts with these clean living respectful open delightful people was a joy. We sincerely thank them would welcome them back whole heartedly at any time
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey F
Blackwater, Australia
1 review
“Absolutely Amazing”
Reviewed October 13, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We rented out the house, while in Maleny, for our wedding and it was so special being able to share the days before and the day of, with our family in this beautiful house. From the beginning of our correspondence to the very end, Jen and Ian have been wonderful and so accommodating. The views are second to none and allowed us to get so many gorgeous photo's that we will treasure forever. We never felt intruded upon and just enjoyed every minute of being there. I highly recommend Runaway to Maleny, to anyone who is planning a wedding in the Maleny/Montville area and is needing somewhere to stay.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 14, 2015
It was such a treat to have Kelsey, Andrew and all the bridal party and her family stay at Runaway and to be a small part of all the exciting build-up to their wedding. They were absolutely immaculate in their dealings with us and in the way they cared for our home and property. Fantastic open communications all the way along. So grateful for the contact with these wonderful open respectful folk.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen B
Sunshine Coast, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a View”
Reviewed September 29, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just a quick note to say thankyou Ian and Jen for an enjoyable stay. Your welcome on arrival was amazing, we never felt intruded upon during our stay, and the views and tranquillity of your property were second to none. We will definitely keep you in mind for another stay.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing