We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be back!”

King Ludwigs German Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #2 of 53 Restaurants in Maleny
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Please note: King Ludwigs Restaurant is closed for renovations and annual holidays until 31.3.17. We will reopen on Saturday 1.4.17 and look forward to serving you again. King Ludwigs Restaurant opened it's doors in Maleny more than 2 decades ago and is run by the Bavarian couple, Barbara & Klaus with the help or their 3 children and professional team. From King Ludwigs you overlook the magnificent Glasshouse Mountains and Moreton Bay. Book your table to enjoy this 180 degree view from the verandahs and authentic German cuisine created by owner/chef Klaus and his sous chefs. Views, alpine feel, chalet dining rooms, wood fires and the authentic Bavarian beer bar stocked with more than 35 imported German brews combined with passionate service and honest food make King Ludwigs a destination in the Sunshine Coast Hinterland. Give us a yodel soon! Your hosts, Barbara & Klaus and Team
Reviewed January 31, 2014

What a lovely place!! The views are stunning, the beers you find here are tasty (yes, they are a bit pricey, but consider that they are imported and not your average VB quality but much much better. You pay top price for a boutique Aussie beer too and that's not usually 1/2 litre!) We didn't eat, just had some Pretzels and they were yum. Barbara and her son were very friendly and the service was great. Will definitely be back and try some food next time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
2  Thank JaninaSpeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (477)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

347 - 351 of 477 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014

A day trip to the Sunshine Coast Hinterland seems incomplete without a visit to King Ludwig's German Restaurant. After taking in a morning walk in nearby Kondalilla National Park, our party of three arrived on time at the restaurant for lunch. We were warmly greeted and shown to our table. Our drinks order was taken just a few minutes later, leaving us to ponder the lunch menu and soak in the spectacular views of the Glass House Mountains in the distance. Having built up a sizeable thirst from the morning's walk, those cold German beers were a sight to behold and even better to taste! One of the attractions for me in visiting King Ludwig's is the selection of German beers on offer and the opportunity to try beers that I can't find in any of my local bottleshops.

We were seated at one end of the outdoor dining area and a glance towards the other end confirmed the popularity of the restaurant with all tables occupied. But I've no doubt the staff and kitchen are well accustomed to serving a full house. My wife and I would have dined at the restaurant maybe 8 times or more over the years enjoying both lunches and dinners. Owners Klaus and Barbara run their restaurant with passion, energy and a commitment to service. And it truly is a family-run business with their teenage children providing professional, waiting services. There is a solid work ethic on display here and previous chats with Barbara at the bar have confirmed her intent in this regard.

Our food is brought to our table and meets our high expectations. No surprises there. It's not what I regard as "fine dining", but nor does it have any pretensions about being so. "Hearty", "substantial" and "nourishing" are all apt descriptions. And I'll add "honest" to the list too which is to imply that Klaus' dishes are as described on the menu and are not presented as something they're not. They are without a doubt, the perfect complement to the beer! When the wait staff returned to our table to clear our dishes and check if we wanted any dessert, we were already quite full, but I truly have a great fondness for this restaurant's Apfelstrudel and couldn't think of leaving the table without ordering a serve. No problem - we simply asked the staff to return to our table some 15-20 minutes later to take our dessert order, which they did.

After our meal, we made our way to the bar to finish off with a schnapps. The lunch service was just about over and the restaurant was nearly empty. It was an opportunity to catch up with Barbara and catch up. We figured it must have been some 2 years since our previous visit. Quite a few changes had occurred during that time in our respective lives, but one constant was King Ludwig's Restaurant. It successfully and consistently blends a satisfying cultural and dining experience for us, and together with the genuine hospitality of its hosts, ensures our return visits.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank domeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We (my wife and I) have made occasional visits to King Ludwig's over the past 10 years or so and we cannot fault the quality of the cooking. Our most recent visit on January 18th 2014 was no exception. The food, service, and atmosphere were wonderful. I had the eye fillet medallions on mustard and tarragon sauce - simply superb, whilst my wife enjoyed the free range chicken breast on a sweet curry sauce with pumpkin risotto - absolutely delicious. Shared a divine Strudel to finish. Very confident you will not be disappointed. Bravo Klaus, Barbara and your staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Ianedwin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

If you are looking for a hearty german meal with casual elegance but yet sophisticated cuisine look no further. We had an outdoor table with breath taking views of the glass house mountains. Barbaras genuine warmth and german charm will make you feel right at home especially if you are lucky enough to enjoy a shnapps with her! The food was outstanding and the service was efficient and friendly. We cannot wait to go back again!. Thanks Barbara love Sue & Paul and Sam & Rachel

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Pikaletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We had never been to King Ludwigs before and we were welcomed as though we had arrived back in Bavaria! We have travelled through Europe and often miss the European humour and hospitality in Australia. We found it again at King Ludwigs! Barbara is made for hospitality, she was organised, to the point and got a real thrill out of her guests having a great time. She even invited us into the bar for schnaps after our meal. We had spent Christmas in "Hastings Street Noosa" which is meant to be the top end of hospitality... Truly I would pick a night at King Ludwigs anyday now over Noosa. Maleny is the place to visit on the Sunshine Coast, people are personal and genuinely love their town. Must visit for everyone!! Special thanks again to Barbara and her children we will be back!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King Ludwigs German Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Maleny, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to King Ludwigs German Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing