We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good honest food and flawless service”

King Ludwigs German Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #4 of 52 Restaurants in Maleny
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Please note: King Ludwigs Restaurant is closed for renovations and annual holidays until 31.3.17. We will reopen on Saturday 1.4.17 and look forward to serving you again. King Ludwigs Restaurant opened it's doors in Maleny more than 2 decades ago and is run by the Bavarian couple, Barbara & Klaus with the help or their 3 children and professional team. From King Ludwigs you overlook the magnificent Glasshouse Mountains and Moreton Bay. Book your table to enjoy this 180 degree view from the verandahs and authentic German cuisine created by owner/chef Klaus and his sous chefs. Views, alpine feel, chalet dining rooms, wood fires and the authentic Bavarian beer bar stocked with more than 35 imported German brews combined with passionate service and honest food make King Ludwigs a destination in the Sunshine Coast Hinterland. Give us a yodel soon! Your hosts, Barbara & Klaus and Team
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good honest food and flawless service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

The service is fantastic, attractive ladies in traditional German attire adds another dimension to the experience. The recommended bier was perfect, the servings very generous and atmosphere relaxed. The style of food is classy but not pretentious and every ingredient punches above its weight resulting in a beautiful, satisfying meal. Barbara is the warmest, most accommodating hostess we've met. Not really romantic but for parents having a first kid free meal in ages it blew us away.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TrevBlanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    55
    23
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Unfortunately due to the weather the magnificent views over the Glasshouse mountains were completely hidden by the cloud (barring a few brief seconds when they lifted partially)... But that just gives another excuse to go again!
The food was very tasty, with very generous portion sizes. The service was very good and generally attentive, it did take them a while to take our dessert order.
As the designated driver I appreciated that they made a proper Lemon, Lime & Bitters!
I would not hesitate to visit again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ozFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Something different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Cosy Place, I liked that the Staff wore German tradition outfits, nice touch, very professional, & great traditional food.
Shame it was running as we couldn't take advantage of what would be a stunning view across to the many glass house mountains.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Gay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Superb in Every Way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

What a surprise! I expected little more than sausages and sauerkraut, but had a truly superb lunch. The soup was exceptionally good, the fish was perfectly cooked and presented. The German beer was wonderful, the service couldn't have been better, the views across to the Glasshouse Mountains were stunning and the friendliness of the staff ensured that this was one of the best restaurant experiences of the past few years. It is impossible to fault this restaurant and I enthusiastically recommend it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank seasonedtraveller525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan City, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“We could not possibly have chosen better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

As we were celebrating a family 'get together' and King Ludwigs was highly recommended by one of the family members, I have no hesitation in rating this restaurant as one of the best I have ever been to. The food, choice of beers, wine, the excellent service by the lovely staff, all rate as excellent. Barbara.... you will certainly see us again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King Ludwigs German Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Maleny, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to King Ludwigs German Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing