We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“King of kings”

King Ludwigs German Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #4 of 52 Restaurants in Maleny
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Please note: King Ludwigs Restaurant is closed for renovations and annual holidays until 31.3.17. We will reopen on Saturday 1.4.17 and look forward to serving you again. King Ludwigs Restaurant opened it's doors in Maleny more than 2 decades ago and is run by the Bavarian couple, Barbara & Klaus with the help or their 3 children and professional team. From King Ludwigs you overlook the magnificent Glasshouse Mountains and Moreton Bay. Book your table to enjoy this 180 degree view from the verandahs and authentic German cuisine created by owner/chef Klaus and his sous chefs. Views, alpine feel, chalet dining rooms, wood fires and the authentic Bavarian beer bar stocked with more than 35 imported German brews combined with passionate service and honest food make King Ludwigs a destination in the Sunshine Coast Hinterland. Give us a yodel soon! Your hosts, Barbara & Klaus and Team
Brisbane
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“King of kings”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We have been to King Ludwigs several times over the years and my review is well overdue. I guess the fact that we keep returning speaks for itself, however, the reasons for our patronage are worth pointing out. Few other places offer the unique combination of breathtaking views, heartwarming ambiance, wholesome food, great selection of beers and the friendly, efficient service only a family owned restaurant can offer. Barbara, Klaus and the team do a wonderful job of ensuring that each visit becomes a memorable experience that stays with you for life. I believe that King Ludwigs is Maleny's biggest draw card and an experience not to be missed. Very highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank puncsfagyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    56
    23
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maroochydore, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My partner and I turned up on a busy Sunday without a reservation and were quickly found a table. Barbara is by far the best customer service representative I've ever had the pleasure of dealing with. All staff were incredibly helpful, friendly and polite and totally efficient at their job. Food was delicious and the beer was cold. Could not recommend this restaurant more highly.
Will be back and will be telling anyone who will listen how wonderful it is!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Brette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Over priced food”
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend chose a special but was not told the price before he ordered. A bad surprise when you find out the unexpected over price for the food. Thought the offer of the bread was free. Excellent and fast service though. Nice views.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dorean24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We were very disappointed with our lunch after having this restaurant recommended by family. The Signature Potato soup had barely any sausage in it, and the Lamb Pie had not a cube of lamb in sight. Also, we were quite cold inside despite the sunny weather. Top marks though for the ambience, music and authentic costumes.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best German food I have ever tasted!!”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Although a bit skeptical, they were soon dashed as we turned up. It was such a beautiful (and German) night. Firstly as soon as we turned up, we were met by a gorgeous German Shepherd who was keen to make our acquaintance. Once in, we were immediately shown to our table and saw the challenge ahead of us, deciding on which beer to have. We met Barbara who is one of the owners, who was fantastic and the waitress was making sure we weren't forgotten about. We were given help choosing a beer depending on what we ordered. The food was fantastic, once we ordered it seemed to take no time to arrive and was to die for. The meat was tender, the vegetables were perfect. The food was that good that my wife actually ate sausages (which she detests). After dinner we had a good chat to Barbara who was more than welcome to have our company and had a very great evening. We will definitely go back. One of the best restaurants we have ever been to. Will definitely be going back and taking the rest of the family.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King Ludwigs German Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Maleny, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to King Ludwigs German Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing